Showing all 17 results

Filter»

Thomas Morey

thomas morey in the cellar

thomas morey in the cellar

Domaine Thomas Morey is located in the heart of the commune of Chassagne-Montrachet. Thomas comes from a family that has been cultivating vines on the Côte de Beaune for ten generations. Since 2007, he has been working independently together with his wife Sylvie and cultivates about 13 hectares, which have also been officially certified organic since 2017.

Thomas Morey's white wines come from Saint-Aubin, Beaune, Bâtard-Montrachet, Chassagne-Montrachet and Puligny-Montrachet. Bâtard-Montrachet is the Grand Cru of the house with vines around 70 years old. The Pinot Noir is located in Beaune, Chassagne-Montrachet, Maranges and Santenay. With the wines of Thomas Morey, the quality level model and the price structure can be seen very well. The completely undisguised, very pure wines show crystal clear the terroir in which they were created.


More about Thomas Morey

The name Morey is not exactly rare on the Côte de Beaune. On Thomas Morey's street alone, you'll find two other domaines with the same surname. Thomas Morey has gained an excellent reputation since his start in 2007. The winemaker comes from a family whose tradition in Chassagne goes back to the 17th century. Claude Morey, a native of Paris-l'Hôpital, a small commune in the Saône-et-Loire department, which is about ten kilometers away from Chassagne-Montrachet, arrived in the village in 1643. He and his numerous descendants worked in the vineyards or as coopers and gradually acquired vineyards and plots of land. It was not until the end of the 19th century that viticulture became the main activity. After working with his father Bernard and brother Vincent for a few years, Thomas and his wife Sylvie decided to start their own domaine in 2006, which produced its first vintage in 2007. Thomas was able to take over many plots from his family, which had been planted in the 1950s and 1960s.

Little by little, he also received offers from neighbors to take over one or the other parcel or to lease it on a long-term basis. And so his portfolio of vineyards grew to about 13 hectares. The vines are up to 70 years old. In the past decades, new plantings have always been created from sélections massales of old vines, as it was the case with his father. Working like the grandparents

For Thomas and Sylvie it was clear that they wanted to work in their domaine the way their grandparents had done it. That meant completely avoiding herbicides, pesticides and artificial fertilizers. That was in 2011. In 2014, they officially started to do this and received the certification in 2017. If you talk to Thomas Morey, he always looks back to the time with his grandparents, who had never even touched a chemical sprayer and had always produced good wines. With the "old-school approach", as he calls it, he himself wanted to continue - particularly since he had never felt comfortable with the sprays used at home. In the cellar, Thomas Morey works exclusively with spontaneous fermentation and has never used sulfur during fermentation. He always adds sulfur to the barrels first - and this only very minimally and over several additions - so that he reaches a maximum of 35 mg/l during the last half year of barrel storage. The white wines mature on their lees, there is no bâtonnage, and the new wood content is a moderate 20 %. The wines are lightly filtered before bottling. The Pinot is largely destemmed and restrained in wood. The wines remain only about nine months in the barrel and are then bottled. Best sites at the Côte de Beaune

Thomas Morey's white wines come from Saint-Aubin, Beaune, Bâtard-Montrachet, Chassagne-Montrachet and Puligny-Montrachet. Bâtard-Montrachet is the Grand Cru of the house with vines around 70 years old. The Pinot Noir is located in Beaune, Chassagne-Montrachet, Maranges and Santenay. With the wines of Thomas Morey, the quality level model and the price structure can be seen very well. The completely undisguised, very pure wines show crystal clear the terroir in which they were created.

Text and wine expertise: Christoph Raffelt

Zeigt alle 19 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Thomas Morey

thomas morey in the cellar

thomas morey in the cellar

Die Domaine Thomas Morey liegt mitten in der Gemeinde Chassagne-Montrachet. Thomas stammt aus einer Familie, die seit zehn Generationen Weinbau an der Côte de Beaune betreibt. Seit 2007 arbeitet er selbstständig zusammen mit seiner Frau Sylvie und bewirtschaftet rund 13 Hektar, die seit 2017 auch offiziell biologisch zertifiziert sind.

Thomas Moreys Weißweine stammen aus Saint-Aubin, Beaune, Bâtard-Montrachet, Chassagne-Montrachet und Puligny-Montrachet. Bâtard-Montrachet ist der Grand Cru des Hauses mit rund 70 Jahre alten Reben. Der Pinot Noir steht in Beaune, Chassagne-Montrachet, Maranges und Santenay. Bei den Weinen von Thomas Morey lassen sich das Qualitätsstufen-Modell und das Preisgefüge sehr gut erkennen. Die völlig unverstellten, sehr puren Weine zeigen glasklar das Terroir, in dem sie entstanden sind.


Mehr über Thomas Morey

Der Name Morey ist an der Côte de Beaune nicht gerade selten. Allein in Thomas Moreys Straße findet man zwei weitere Domaines mit gleichen Nachnamen. Thomas Morey hat sich seit seinem Start im Jahre 2007 einen exzellenten Ruf erworben. Der Winzer stammt aus einer Familie, deren Tradition in Chassagne bis ins 17. Jahrhundert zurückreicht. Claude Morey, gebürtig in Paris-l’Hôpital, einer kleinen Gemeinde im Département Saône-et-Loire, die etwa zehn Kilometer von Chassagne-Montrachet entfernt liegt, kam 1643 in den Ort. Er und seine zahlreichen Nachkommen arbeiteten in den Weinbergen oder als Böttcher und erwarben nach und nach Weinberge und Parzellen. Erst gegen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts wurde der Weinbau zur Haupttätigkeit. Nachdem Thomas einige Jahre mit seinem Vater Bernard und dem Bruder Vincent zusammengearbeitet hatte, entschloss er sich mit seiner Frau Sylvie im Jahr 2006, eine eigene Domaine zu gründen, in der 2007 dann auch der erste Jahrgang entstand. Thomas konnte viele Parzellen von seiner Familie übernehmen, die in den 1950ern und 1960ern bepflanzt worden waren.

Nach und nach bekam er auch von Nachbarn Angebote, die eine oder andere Parzelle zu übernehmen oder langfristig zu pachten. Und so wuchs sein Portfolio an Lagen auf rund 13 Hektar an. Die Reben sind bis zu 70 Jahre alt. Neue Pflanzungen sind in den letzten Jahrzehnten schon bei seinem Vater immer aus Sélections massales alter Reben entstanden. Arbeiten wie die Großeltern

Für Thomas und Sylvie war klar, dass sie in ihrer Domaine so arbeiten wollten, wie es die Großeltern getan hatten. Das hieß, auf Herbizide, Pestizide und Kunstdünger komplett zu verzichten. Das war 2011. 2014 sind sie dies dann auch offiziell angegangen und haben die Zertifizierung 2017 erhalten. Spricht man mit Thomas Morey, dann blickt er immer auf die Zeit mit seinen Großeltern zurück, die nie auch nur eine Chemie-Spritze angefasst und immer gute Weine erzeugt hatten. Mit dem „Old-School-Ansatz“, wie er es nennt, wollte er selber auch weitermachen – zumal er sich mit den Spritzmitteln, die zu Hause genutzt wurden, nie wohlgefühlt hatte. Im Keller arbeitet Thomas Morey ausschließlich mit Spontanvergärung und hat noch nie Schwefel während der Gärung eingesetzt. Er gibt den Schwefel immer erst in die Fässer – und das auch nur ganz minimal und über mehrere Gaben hinweg –, sodass er über das letzte halbe Jahr der Fasslagerung auf höchstens 35 mg/l kommt. Die Weißweine reifen auf der Hefe, es gibt keine Bâtonnage, und der Neuholzanteil liegt bei moderaten 20 %. Die Weine werden leicht gefiltert, bevor sie gefüllt werden. Der Pinot wird weitgehend entrappt und zurückhaltend im Holz ausgebaut. Die Weine bleiben jeweils nur rund neun Monate im Fass und werden dann gefüllt. Beste Lagen an der Côte de Beaune

Thomas Moreys Weißweine stammen aus Saint-Aubin, Beaune, Bâtard-Montrachet, Chassagne-Montrachet und Puligny-Montrachet. Bâtard-Montrachet ist der Grand Cru des Hauses mit rund 70 Jahre alten Reben. Der Pinot Noir steht in Beaune, Chassagne-Montrachet, Maranges und Santenay. Bei den Weinen von Thomas Morey lassen sich das Qualitätsstufen-Modell und das Preisgefüge sehr gut erkennen. Die völlig unverstellten, sehr puren Weine zeigen glasklar das Terroir, in dem sie entstanden sind.

Text und Weinexpertisen: Christoph Raffelt