Showing the single result

Filter»

Georges Laval

The Georges Laval champagne winery is without a doubt one of the pioneers of organic viticulture in the Champagne region. As early as in the 1970ies, the course for sustainability was set here. For the Laval family, the vineyards have always been more important than the technology in the cellar.

Today, Champagne is on the move and many small, young producers are shifting their focus back to vineyards and vines.

Cumières is located near Epernay in the Vallée de la Marne. Originally a village built by the Pinot Meunier part of the Champagne region. Vincent Laval runs the domaine today and produces great Meuniers. His Garennes Extra Brut is a fantastic introduction to the grippy flavors of this under-appreciated grape variety.

The single layer Les Hautes Chèvres has very old vines and is only gently farmed with horses. This bone-dry sparkling wine is the pure expression of its origins and can hardly be Purism and minerality be surpassed. But Vincent also proves that he knows how to produce a Chardonnay of format in Cumières. Les Chênes is the epitome of austere sparseness and elegance.

georges laval logo

Georges Laval logo

Pioneering spirit at Geroges Laval

With his Geroges Laval winery, Vincent Laval is one of the most sought-after treasures of this heterogeneous region. As a pioneer, he serves as a role model for many of the young generation today. His small production of only about 10.000 bottles per vintage is in demand and quickly out of stock. All base wines are vinified in wooden barrels and only after just under ten months gently moved for the second fermentation in the bottle. Almost exclusively, he fills dry wines with zero grams of residual sugar.

The grapes are harvested ripe and initially treated as still wine. The gentle aging in used oak barrels contributes vinosity and richness of facets. The wines live from a puristic and spicy component. The goal is the expression of their origin, crystal clear minerality and an unadorned natural product.

Written by Marian Henß, Copyright Living Wines

Zeigt alle 2 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Georges Laval

Das Champagner-Weingut Georges Laval gehört zweifelsfrei zu den Pionieren des ökologischen Weinbaus in der Champagne. Bereits in den 1970er-Jahren wurden hier die Weichen auf Nachhaltigkeit gestellt. Die Weinberge waren für Familie Laval immer wichtiger als die Technik im Keller.

Heute ist die Champagne im Aufbruch und viele kleine, junge Erzeuger rücken ihren Fokus wieder vermehrt auf Weinberge und Reben.

Cumières liegt in der Nähe von Epernay im Vallée de la Marne. Ursprünglich ein vom Pinot Meunier geprägter Teil der Champagne. Vincent Laval führt die Domaine heute und produziert großartige Meuniers. Sein Garennes Extra Brut ist ein fantastischer Einstieg in die griffige Geschmackswelt dieser verkannten Rebsorte.

Die Einzellage Les Hautes Chèvres verfügt über sehr alte Reben und wird nur schonend mit Pferden bewirtschaftet. Dieser knochentrockene Schaumwein ist der reine Ausdruck seiner Herkunft und kann kaum an Purismus und Mineralität übertroffen werden. Aber Vincent beweist auch, dass er es bestens versteht in Cumières einen Chardonnay von Format herzustellen. Les Chênes ist der Inbegriff von strenger Kargheit und Eleganz.

georges laval logo

Logo von Georges Laval

Pioniergeist bei Geroges Laval

Vincent Laval gehört mit seinem Weingut Geroges Laval zu den gefragtesten Schätzen dieser heterogenen Region. Als Wegbereiter dient er heute vielen der jungen Generation als Vorbild. Seine geringe Produktion von nur ca. 10.000 Flaschen pro Jahrgang ist gefragt und schnell vergriffen. Alle Grundweine werden in Holzfässern ausgebaut und erst nach knapp zehn Monaten schonend für die zweite Gärung in der Flasche umgezogen. Fast ausschließlich füllt er trockene Weine mit null Gramm Restzucker.

Die Trauben werden reif geerntet und zunächst wie Stillwein behandelt. Der schonende Ausbau in gebrauchten Eichenfässern steuert Weinigkeit und Facettenreichtum bei. Die Weine leben von einer puristischen und würzigen Komponente. Ziel ist der Ausdruck ihrer Herkunft, glasklare Mineralität und ein ungeschminktes Naturprodukt.

Geschrieben von Marian Henß, Copyright Lebendige Weine