Showing 1–24 of 36 results

Filter"

Terroir al Limit

Dominik Huber is a true phenomenon. Born in Munich, he made it as a lateral entrant with his winery Terroir al Limit to the top of one of the most sought-after wine regions in the world. After internships in Priorat and Roussillon, he entered into a collaboration with cult South African winemaker Eben Sadie and founded a small winery in the depths of Priorat, in Torroja.

terroir al limit dominik huber torroja priorat tatjana peceric terroir sense fronteres

Head and heart of Terroir al Limit: Dominik Huber and Tatjana Peceric

With many well-considered steps, the best parcels come into his hands. Huber's wines hit the nerve of the time: elegant terroir wines full of finesse and drinking flow. The assortment is based on the Burgundian quality pyramid by Villages, Premier Cru and Grand Cru built up.


More about Terroir al Limit

With the Terra de Cuques Blanc and Negre he offers two very good wines that represent the character of Torroja and the local grape varieties in the style of a local wine. The white is made from Muscat and Pedro Ximénez and is full of freshness, minerality and Mediterranean aromas. For the red, Cariñena and Garnacha are the dream pairing for a darkly spicy Mediterranean wine. Two very good single-vineyard wines based on spicy Cariñena follow in the next stage. Dits del Terra lives from a cool, dark elegance with silky minerality . The counterpart Arbossar is more powerful and intense. Its two Grand Cru sites Les Tosses and Les Manyes have been causing a sensation for some years now. Year after year, journalists litter these wines with superlatives and top ratings. Les Tosses from old Cariñena vines is filigree, reveals pure slate minerality and is simply a poem of a wine. Les Manyes is Huber's only single vineyard wine made from Garnacha from a stunning vineyard high in the Montsant Mountains. Deeply dark, full of power and at the same time tight as silk. A true monument.

Then and now

Dominik is also a phenomenon because he can adapt wonderfully to the circumstances. His style has evolved over time. He counteracts the hot summer days and the high ripeness associated with them by biodynamic measures in the vineyard and a very early harvest. There is hardly anyone in the region who harvests as gently as he does. In the beginning, the winery worked with a lot of new wooden barrels and bottled wines with a high concentration. Today, the wines are clearly leaner and more filigree. Wood is only used cautiously in the form of used barrels. The switch from Bordeaux to Burgundy bottles is a clear symbol of this change in direction. With Terroir al Limit, Huber absolutely belongs to the first guard of the Priorat. After the great pioneers of this region started in the 1980ies, Huber is, besides Sara Perez, Ester Nin, and René Barbier Jr. the squad of the present.

His new project in neighbouring Montsant is also exciting. Under the name Terroir Sense Fronteres Dominik and his experienced partner Tatjana Peceric follow a similar concept, but they do not use wooden barrels in the cellar. In Montsant, the wines show a clear fruit profile, accessible and open-hearted. The wines in Priorat seem to be much more serious and sublime.

Written by Marian Henß
© LivingWines.com

Ergebnisse 1 – 24 von 37 werden angezeigt

Filter»

Terroir al Limit

Dominik Huber ist ein wahres Phänomen. Der gebürtige Münchner schaffte es als Quereinsteiger mit seinem Weingut Terroir al Limit an die Spitze einer der gefragtesten Weinregionen der Welt. Nach Praktika im Priorat und im Roussillon ging er eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem südafrikanischen Kultwinzer Eben Sadie ein und gründete in den Tiefen des Priorats, in Torroja, ein kleines Weingut.

terroir al limit dominik huber torroja priorat tatjana peceric terroir sense fronteres

Kopf und Herz von Terroir al Limit: Dominik Huber und Tatjana Peceric

Mit vielen gut überlegten Schritten gelangen beste Parzellen in seine Hände. Hubers Weine treffen den Nerv der Zeit: Elegante Terroirweine voller Finesse und Trinkfluss. Das Sortiment ist in Anlehnung an die burgundische Qualitätspyramide nach Villages, Premier Cru und Grand Cru aufgebaut.


Mehr über Terroir al Limit

Mit dem Terra de Cuques Blanc und Negre bietet er zwei sehr gute Weine an, die im Stile eines Ortsweines den Charakter von Torroja und den heimischen Rebsorten darstellen. Bei dem Weißen ist er aus Muscat und Pedro Ximénez gemacht und blüht vor Frische, Mineralität und mediterranen Aromen. Bei dem Roten sind Cariñena und Garnacha das Traumpaar für einen dunkelwürzigen Mittelmeerwein. In der nächsten Stufe folgen zwei sehr gute Einzellagenweine auf Basis würzigen Cariñena. Dits del Terra lebt von einer kühlen, dunkeln Eleganz mit seidiger Mineralität . Das Pendant Arbossar zeigt sich kraftvoller und intensiver. Seine beiden Grand Cru Lagen Les Tosses und Les Manyes sorgen seit einigen Jahren für Furore. Jahr für Jahr übersäen Journalisten diese Weine mit Superlativen und Höchstbewertungen. Les Tosses von alten Cariñena-Reben ist filigran, offenbart pure Schiefermineralität und ist schlicht weg ein Gedicht von Wein. Les Manyes ist Hubers einziger Lagenwein aus Garnacha von einem atemberaubenden Weinberg hoch im Montsant-Gebirge. Tiefdunkel, voller Kraft und gleichzeitig straff wie Seide. Ein wahres Monument.

Damals und heute

Dominik ist auch ein Phänomen, weil er sich den Gegebenheiten wunderbar anpassen kann. Sein Stil hat sich mit der Zeit weiterentwickelt. Den heißen Sommertagen und der damit verbundenen hohen Reife wirkt er durch biodynamische Maßnahmen im Weinberg und einer sehr frühen Ernte entgegen. Kaum einer baut in der Region so schonend aus wie er. Anfangs arbeitete das Weingut mit viel neuen Holzfässern und füllte konzentriert-intensive Weine ab. Heute sind die Weine deutlich schlanker und filigraner. Holz tritt nur verhalten in Form von gebrauchten Fudern auf. Die Umstellung von der Bordeaux- auf die Burgunderflasche ist ein klares Symbol dieses Richtungswandels. Huber zählt mit Terroir al Limit absolut zur ersten Garde des Priorats. Nachdem die großen Pioniere dieser Region in den 1980er Jahren den Anfang machten, ist Huber neben Sara Perez, Ester Nin, und René Barbier jr. die Riege der Gegenwart.

Spannend ist auch sein neues Projekt im benachbarten Montsant. Unter dem Namen Terroir Sense Fronteres verfolgt Dominik mit seiner versierten Partnerin Tatjana Peceric ein ähnliches Konzept, verzichtet jedoch auf Holzfässer im Keller. Im Montsant zeigen sich die Weine mit einem klaren Fruchtprofil, zugänglich und offenherzig. Die Weine im Priorat wirken deutlich seriöser und erhabener.

Geschrieben von Marian Henß
© LebendigeWeine.de