Grolleau IGP 2018

32,51 

Incl. VAT.
(43,35  / 1000 ml)

The fruit combines wild strawberries and raspberries with plums and a few cherries, the wine seems lively and fresh, and at the same time the still firm tannin is powerful. The variety was hardly ever vinified as a pure variety before Claude and Nelly, the founders of Domaine Clau de Nell, did so and showed that it can produce a wine of great character that is as pristine as it is elegant and worthy of ageing.

Grolleau IGP 2018

32,51 

SKU: 9950408010 Kategorien: , Weingut:
Tasting note from from 07.12.2020, Copyright Christoph Raffelt

Wine information

Grolleau is an autochthonous Loire grape variety that is mostly used in residually sweet Rosé d'Anjou. The variety was hardly ever vinified as a pure variety before Claude and Nelly, the founders of Domaine Clau de Nell, did so and showed that it can produce a wine of great character that is as pristine as it is elegant and worthy of ageing. The vines of this Grolleau are around 55 years old, but more have been planted in recent years. They stand in loamy silty soil on sandstone as well as in red flint on tuffeau.

The yield is just 25 hl/ha. The grapes were harvested by hand in 12-kilo crates. They were destemmed and fermented over 30 days with only infrequent pumping over. Aging then took place for 30 % of the wine over twelve months on the fine lees in Burgundian Pièces from five to seven years, for another 70 % in large barrels. The cuvée then matured again for half a year in stainless steel.

Color

intense garnet red with purple reflections

Nose

The 2018s Grolleau From Clau de Nell is a dark fruity wine with a fantastic spiciness, which the wine, however, only really reveals when you decant it. Then you'll find notes of rich ripe cherries and plums, wild strawberries and raspberries combined with herbs, pepper and damp warm forest floor. Overall, this comes across as both grounded and elegant.

Palate

On the palate the 2018s Grolleau once again as a completely independent Loire wine somewhere between Cabernet and Pinot, somewhere between noblesse and country life. The fruit combines wild strawberries and raspberries with plums and a few cherries, the wine seems lively and fresh, at the same time the still firm tannin grabs powerfully. At the same time the Grolleau Always precise and structured, long and complex with a slight peppery finish. The wine has an ageing potential of 15+ years. Grolleau, along with Pineau d'Aunis, is one of the finest discoveries to be made in the Loire Valley.

Food recommendations by Christoph Raffelt

  • Baked goat cheese, beetroot, honey and cinnamon
  • Lamb kofte with cherries and tahini
  • Fried black pudding, fried onions and apple puree

Allergens

Contains sulfur

winery
Type

Vintage

Variety

Content

Alcohol content

12% Vol.

Residual sweetness

■□□□□

Acid

4,4 g/l

Drinking temperature

16°

Manufacturer

Clau De Nell, Rue de Noyers, 49700 Ambillou-Château / France, Organic certificate: FR-BIO-01

Weingut

Grolleau IGP 2018 – Clau de Nell

32,99 

Enthält 19% MwSt.
zzgl. Versand
Lieferzeit: ca. 3-4 Werktage
Grolleau IGP 2018 – Clau de Nell

32,99 

Artikelnummer: 9950408010 Regionen: , Weingut:

Update 11.05.2021

Verkostungsnotiz von vom 07.12.2020, Copyright Christoph Raffelt

Information zum Wein

Grolleau ist eine autochthone Loire-Rebsorte, die meist in restsüßem Rosé d’Anjou Verwendung findet. Reinsortig wurde die Sorte so gut wie nie ausgebaut, bevor Claude und Nelly, die Gründer der Domaine Clau de Nell, das machten und zeigten, dass daraus ein so urwüchsiger wie eleganter und alterungswürdiger Wein von großem Charakter entstehen kann. Die Rebstöcke dieses Grolleau sind rund 55 Jahre alt, es wurden aber in den letzten Jahren noch weitere gepflanzt. Sie stehen in lehmig schluffigem Boden auf Sandstein sowie in rotem Feuerstein auf Tuffeau (Kalkstein).
Der Ertrag liegt bei gerade einmal 25 hl/ha. Die Trauben wurden von Hand in 12-Kilo-Kisten gelesen. Sie wurden entrappt und über 30 Tage hinweg mit nur seltenem Umpumpen vergoren. Der Ausbau erfolgte dann für 30 % des Weines über zwölf Monate auf der Feinhefe in burgundischen Pièces von fünf bis sieben Jahren, für weitere 70 % in großen Fudern. Die Cuvée reifte dann noch einmal für ein halbes Jahr im Edelstahl.

Farbe

intensives Granatrot mit purpurfarbenen Reflexen

Nase

Der 2018er Grolleau von Clau de Nell ist ein dunkelfruchtiger Wein mit einer fantastischen Würze, die der Wein allerdings erst dann wirklich preisgibt, wenn man ihn dekantiert. Dann finden sich Noten von satt reifen Kirschen und Pflaumen, Walderdbeeren und Himbeeren in Verbindung mit Kräutern, Pfeffer und feucht warmem Waldboden. Das wirkt insgesamt sowohl geerdet wie elegant.

Gaumen

Am Gaumen zeigt sich der 2018er Grolleau mal wieder als völlig eigenständiger Loire-Wein irgendwo zwischen Cabernet und Pinot, irgendwo zwischen Noblesse und Landleben. Die Frucht verbindet Walderdbeeren und Himbeeren mit Pflaumen und ein paar Kirschen, der Wein wirkt lebendig und frisch, gleichzeitig packt das noch feste Tannin kraftvoll zu. Dabei zeigt sich der Grolleau immer präzise und strukturiert, lang und komplex mit leichter Pfeffrigkeit im Finale. Der Wein verfügt über ein Alterungspotential von 15+ Jahren. Grolleau ist neben Pineau d’Aunis eine der schönsten Entdeckungen, die man im Loiretal machen kann.

Speiseempfehlungen von Christoph Raffelt

  • Gebackener Ziegenkäse, Rote Bete, Honig und Zimt
    (Käse)
  • Lamm-Köfte mit Kirschen und Tahin
    (Fleisch)
  • Gebratene Blutwurst, Röstzwiebeln und Apfelpüree
    (Fleisch)

Allergene

enthält Schwefel

weingut
Typ

Jahrgang

Sorte

Inhalt

Alkoholgehalt

12% Vol.

Restsüße

■□□□□

Säure

4,4 g/l

Trinktemperatur

16°

Hersteller

Clau De Nell, Rue de Noyers, 49700 Ambillou-Château / France, Bio-Zertifikat: FR-BIO-01

Bewertungen

Es gibt noch keine Bewertungen.

Schreibe die erste Bewertung für „Grolleau IGP 2018 – Clau de Nell“