Zum Inhalt springen

Timeo Toscana IGT 2020

from 12x only 28,51  per piece.
Timeo Toscana IGT 2020

30,01 

30,01 

Incl. VAT.
(40,01  / 1000 ml)
SKU: 9911091802 Categories: , , Weingut:
Tasting note from from 01.06.2022, Copyright Christoph Raffelt

Wine information

The Timeo is a wine made from 100 % Canaiolo. The harvest was done by hand at the end of September. Destemming was followed by fermentation with autochthonous yeasts, then maceration between 35 and 40 days on the skins in 5-hl steel tanks without temperature control, without the use of sulphur and without pumping over during the fermentation period. The Timeo was aged for one year in steel tanks. The grapes come from Barberino Val D'Elsa from a vineyard planted in 1961, with soils of sand and clay at 320 metres above sea level.

Canaiolo Nero is an ancient Tuscan grape variety, mentioned as early as 1303. It played a much more important role than Sangiovese before the Chianti concept designed by Ricasoli in the 19th century. Today, Canaiolo is found almost exclusively as a blending partner.

Color

Light transparent ruby red with garnet reflections 

Nose

The single-varietal Canaiolo smells charmingly of ripe black cherries, plums and blackberries with notes of undergrowth, warm forest floor and vineyard soil. There are also some black olives, crushed cherry pits and a sweet yeasty note which, together with the ripe fruit, is the real charm.

Palate

On the palate the Timeo Ripe and red-fruited. The difference to the Sangiovese of the house quickly becomes clear. The Canaiolo is much silkier, its acidity riper, the fruit somewhat sweeter. At the same time, however, it is extremely structured, the acidity is lively and the wine is wonderfully juicy. You can't help but wonder why you don't get pure Canaiolo in your glass more often.

Food recommendations by Christoph Raffelt

  • Focaccia with rosemary and prosciutto
  • Tagliatelle with wild boar ragù
  • Pasta Primavera with spring vegetables and pecorino cheese

close

Wine letter

Good wine stories.

Backgrounds, offers, inspirations and tasting notes from vineyard and cellar. All in our wine letter.

Now with welcome voucher.

No spam, just good wine!
Read here the Data protection information.

Allergens

Contains sulfur

Type

Vintage

Variety

Content

Alcohol content

Residual sweetness

■□□□□

Drinking temperature

17°

Manufacturer

Le Masse Società Agricola s.s., Loc. Le Masse 5, 50023 Barberino-Tavarnelle, Italy. Organic certificate: IT-BIO-006

Zum Inhalt springen

Timeo Toscana IGT 2020

ab 12x nur 28,51  pro Stück.
Timeo Toscana IGT 2020

30,01 

30,01 

Inkl. MwSt.
(40,01  / 1000 ml)
zzgl. Versand
Artikelnummer: 9911091802 Kategorien: , , Weingut:
Verkostungsnotiz von vom 01.06.2022, Copyright Christoph Raffelt

Informationen zum Wein

Der Timeo ist ein Wein aus 100 % Canaiolo. Die Lese erfolgte per Hand Ende September. Nach dem Entrappten folgte die Gärung mit autochthonen Hefen, dann die Mazeration zwischen 35 und 40 Tagen auf den Schalen im 5-hl-Stahltank ohne Temperaturkontrolle, ohne die Verwendung von Schwefel und ohne ein Umpumpen während der Gärzeit. Der Timeo wurde für ein Jahr im Stahltank ausgebaut. Die Trauben stammen aus Barberino Val D’Elsa von einem 1961 gepflanzten Weinberg, der mit Böden aus Sand und Lehm auf 320 Metern Seehöhe liegt.

Der Canaiolo Nero ist uralte toskanische Rebsorte, die schon 1303 erwähnt wird. Sie spielte vor dem Chianti-Konzept, das Ricasoli im 19. Jahrhundert entwarf, eine viel bedeutendere Rolle als der Sangiovese. Heute findet man den Canaiolo fast ausschließlich als Verschnittpartner.

Farbe

leicht transparentes Rubinrot mit granatroten Reflexen 

Nase

Der reinsortige Canaiolo duftet charmant nach reifen schwarzen Kirschen, Pflaumen und Brombeeren mit Noten von Unterholz, warmem Waldboden und Weinbergsboden. Dazu kommen einige schwarze Oliven, zerstoßene Kirschkerne und eine süße Hefenote, die zusammen mit der reifen Frucht den eigentlichen Charme ausmacht.

Gaumen

Am Gaumen wirkt der Timeo reif und rotfruchtig. Der Unterschied zum Sangiovese des Hauses wird schnell deutlich. Der Canaiolo ist viel seidiger, seine Säure reifer, die Frucht etwas süßer. Gleichzeitig aber zeigt er sich ausgesprochen strukturiert, die Säure ist lebendig und der Wein herrlich saftig. Man fragt sich unwillkürlich, warum man nicht häufiger reinsortigen Canaiolo ins Glas bekommt.

Speiseempfehlungen von Christoph Raffelt

  • Focaccia mit Rosmarin und Prosciutto
  • Tagliatelle mit Ragù vom Wildschwein
  • Pasta Primavera mit Frühlingsgemüse und Pecorino

close

Weinbrief

Gute Weingeschichten.

Hintergründe, Angebote, Inspirationen und Verkostungsnotizen aus Weinberg und Keller. Alles in unserem Weinbrief.

Jetzt mit Willkommens-Gutschein.

Kein Spam, nur guter Wein!
Lesen Sie hier die Datenschutzhinweise.

Allergene

enthält Schwefel

Typ

Jahrgang

Sorte

Inhalt

Alkoholgehalt

Restsüße

■□□□□

Trinktemperatur

17°

Hersteller

Le Masse Società Agricola s.s., Loc. Le Masse 5, 50023 Barberino-Tavarnelle, Italy. Bio-Zertifikat: IT-BIO-006