Showing all 11 results

Filter»

Château de Pibarnon

The appellation in which the Château de Pibarnon is called Bandol, and it is especially known for a grape variety that winemakers say likes to have its feet in the water, its face in the sun and its hair in the wind. All this finds the Mourvèdre in Bandol, and accordingly, the vineyards belong to those corners of the world where top wines capable of aging are produced from Mourvèdre. This is especially true when these conditions are met at the organic or even biodynamic viticulture and to winemakers as precise and capable as Eric de Saint Victor and his assistant Marie Laroze. This is how the vineyard and cellars of Château de Pibarnon produce some of the top wines of this incredibly beautifully located appellation.


More about Château de Pibarnon

The château, which Comte Henri de Saint Victor acquired in 1977, is perched on the highest and northernmost part of the appellation. From there, one not only overlooks the amphitheatre of vines, but also looks as far as the coastline of the Mediterranean Sea.

The soil of Château de Pibarnon is unique and different from that of its neighbours further down the slope. Due to a geological peculiarity, the soils of Pibarnon contain large amounts of blue marl and limestone, reminiscent of Jurassic soils. In addition, there is much older fossil material.
The terraces are dominated by Mourvèdre, which is used for the red wines as well as for the rosés. Bandol was one of the first appellations in France where rosé was vin de garde, i.e. a wine that should mature in the cellar on an equal footing with red wine.

Text and wine expertise: Christoph Raffelt

Zeigt alle 16 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Château de Pibarnon

Die Appellation, in der das Château de Pibarnon liegt, heißt Bandol, und sie ist vor allem für eine Rebsorte bekannt, von der die Winzer sagen, dass sie die Füße gerne im Wasser hat, das Gesicht in der Sonne und das Haar im Wind. All das findet die Mourvèdre in Bandol vor, und entsprechend gehören die Weinberge zu jenen Ecken dieser Welt, wo aus Mourvèdre alterungsfähige Spitzenweine entstehen. Das gilt vor allem dann, wenn diese Voraussetzungen auf biologischen oder sogar biodynamischen Weinbau treffen und auf derart präzise arbeitende und fähige Winzer wie Eric de Saint Victor und seine Assistentin Marie Laroze. So entstehen im Weinberg und in den Kellern des Château de Pibarnon einige der Spitzenweine dieser unglaublich schön gelegenen Appellation.


Mehr über Château de Pibarnon

Das Château, das Comte Henri de Saint Victor im Jahr 1977 erworben hat, thront auf dem höchsten und nördlichsten Teil der Appellation. Von dort aus überblickt man nicht nur das Amphitheater der Reben, sondern schaut bis zur Küstenlinie des Mittelmeers.

Der Boden von Château de Pibarnon ist einzigartig und unterscheidet sich von dem seiner Nachbarn weiter unten am Hang. Infolge einer geologischen Besonderheit enthalten die Böden von Pibarnon große Mengen an blauem Mergel und Kalkstein und erinnern damit an Böden des Jura. Hinzu kommt noch deutlich älteres fossiles Material.
Auf den Terrassen dominiert die Mourvèdre, die sowohl für die Rotweine als auch für die Rosés Verwendung findet. Bandol war eine der ersten Appellationen Frankreichs, in der Rosé als Vin de Garde ausgebaut wurde, also als Wein, der gleichberechtigt zum Rotwein im Keller reifen sollte.

Text und Weinexpertise: Christoph Raffelt