Selma de Nin Ancestral 2015

59,02 

Incl. VAT.
(78,69  / 1000 ml)

In addition, there are lots of salted lemons and something of tart apples, roasted sesame and still young quinces. The wine is then slowly pressed, fermented and then bottled half-fermented, where it continues to ferment with the natural yeasts.

Selma de Nin Ancestral 2015

59,02 

SKU: 9930002865 Kategorien: , , Weingut:
Tasting note from from 18.02.2021, Copyright Christoph Raffelt

Wine information

This is Esters us Carles' first version of a sparkling wine after Méthode Ancestrale from the Finca La Sinia and the mixed set named Selma. It is located in a vineyard called El Plà de Manlleu in Ester Nin's home in Alt Penedès, directly below the Castillo de Selma. In 2008, she and Carles Ortiz planted one hectare of the mixed set planted from 25 % each of Roussanne, Marsanne, Chenin blanc and Parellada Montonegra. The vines stand at 750 meters altitude on clay and limestone. After harvest, the whole clusters are crushed and the juice left on the skins for 24 hours. The wine is then pressed slowly, fermented, and then bottled half-fermented, where it continues to ferment with the natural yeasts. Bottle aging took place from 2015 until today.

Color

light straw yellow, slightly cloudy with lively perlage. If one turns the bottle before and shakes easily, the yeast bearing dissolves if one wants that.

Nose

Esters and Carles wine Selma de Nin is already a great specialty as a still wine. As a foamer, the wine is even more unconventional. The Ancestral smells a little like Coche-Dury and this reductive aroma of bangers and sulphur woods typical for it. In addition there are lots of salt lemons and something of tart apples, roasted sesame and still young quinces.

Mouth

Also on the palate, reductive note, tart apple notes and the salt lemons combine quite clearly and remind - if one likes to compare it - of reductive Loire Sauvignon. For the Selma de Nin Ancestral also has a great freshness, which is also a parallel. Here, besides the tart fruit, notes of fennel pollen and some anise, some blond tobacco as well as chalky notes show up. The mousseux seems lively and fine at the same time, which is no wonder given the long yeast aging. The Ancestral also shows power and length with a pleasant pressure on the palate. This is definitely an unusual sparkling wine discovery!

Food recommendations by Christoph Raffelt

  • Salad with goat cream cheese
  • Crustini with paté of smoked mackerel
  • Halibut with fennel pollen and rose hips

Allergens

Contains sulfur

winery
Type

Vintage

Variety

,

Content

Alcohol content

12% Vol.

Residual sweetness

■□□□□

Acid

6,5 g/l

Drinking temperature

12°

Parker points

94

Manufacturer

Familia Nin Ortiz, Polígon 6 Parcel-la 288, 43730 Falset-Tarragona / Spain

Selma de Nin Ancestral 2015

59,02 

Inkl. MwSt.
(78,69  / 1000 ml)
zzgl. Versand

Dazu kommen jede Menge Salzzitronen und etwas was von herben Äpfeln, geröstetem Sesam und noch jungen Quitten. Dann wird langsam abgepresst, der Wein angegoren und dann halb gegoren in Flaschen gefüllt, wo er mit den natürlichen Hefen weitergegoren ist.

Selma de Nin Ancestral 2015

59,02 

Artikelnummer: 9930002865 Kategorien: , Weingut:
Verkostungsnotiz von vom 18.02.2021, Copyright Christoph Raffelt

Informationen zum Wein

Dies ist Esters uns Carles’ erste Version eines Schaumweins nach Méthode Ancestrale aus der Finca La Sinia und dem Gemischten Satz namens Selma. Der steht in einem Weingarten namens El Plà de Manlleu in Ester Nins Heimat in Alt Penedès direkt unterhalb des Castillo de Selma. Sie und Carles Ortiz haben dort 2008 auf einem Hektar den Gemischten Satz aus je 25 % Roussanne, Marsanne, Chenin blanc und Parellada Montonegra gepflanzt. Die Reben stehen in 750 Metern Höhe auf Ton und Kalkstein. Nach der Ernte werden die ganzen Trauben angequetscht und der Saft 24 Stunden lang auf der Maische belassen. Dann wird langsam abgepresst, der Wein angegoren und dann halb gegoren in Flaschen gefüllt, wo er mit den natürlichen Hefen weitergegoren ist. Die Flaschenreife erfolgte von 2015 bis heute.

Farbe

helles Strohgelb, leicht trüb mit lebendiger Perlage. Wenn man die Flasche vorher dreht und leicht schüttelt, löst sich das Hefelager, wenn man das will.

Nase

Esters und Carles Wein Selma de Nin ist ja schon als Stillwein eine große Besonderheit. Als Schäumer ist der Wein noch unkonventioneller. Der Ancestral duftet ein wenig nach Coche-Dury und dieser dafür typischen reduktiven Aromatik von Knallplättchen und Schwefelhölzern. Dazu kommen jede Menge Salzzitronen und etwas was von herben Äpfeln, geröstetem Sesam und noch jungen Quitten.

Mund

Auch am Gaumen verbinden sich reduktive Note, herbe Apfelnoten und die Salzzitronen ganz deutlich und erinnern – wenn man es vergleichen mag – an reduktiven Loire-Sauvignon. Denn der Selma de Nin Ancestral verfügt zudem über eine große Frische, was ebenfalls eine Parallele ist. Hier zeigen sich neben der herben Frucht Noten von Fenchelpollen und etwas Anis, etwas blonder Tabak sowie kalkigen Noten. Das Mousseux wirkt lebendig und gleichzeitig fein, was bei dem langen Hefelager kein Wunder ist. Der Ancestral zeigt zudem Kraft und Länge bei einem angenehmen Druck am Gaumen. Das ist auf jeden Fall mal eine ungewöhnliche Schaumwein-Entdeckung!

Speiseempfehlungen von Christoph Raffelt

  • Salat mit Ziegenfrischkäse
  • Crustini mit Paté von geräucherten Makrelen
  • Heilbutt mit Fenchelpollen und Hagebutten

Allergene

enthält Schwefel

weingut
Typ

Jahrgang

Sorte

,

Inhalt

Alkoholgehalt

12% Vol.

Restsüße

■□□□□

Säure

6,5 g/l

Trinktemperatur

12°

Parker Punkte

94

Hersteller

Familia Nin Ortiz, Polígon 6 Parcel·la 288, 43730 Falset-Tarragona / Spain