Showing 1–24 of 29 results

Filter»

Peter Jakob Kühn

Quite rightly, the Kühn family describes the term Terroir as an interplay of geology, climate and people. Only with the help of human intervention and the cultivation of the vines can the wine express its origin. The soil type, the climate of a vintage and the exposure of the site are strong factors, but the winemaker must also allow for them.

Although Peter Jakob Kühn comes from a traditional Rheingau winery family, he has always been considered an innovator and lateral thinker. Early on, in the midst of a very conservative region, he recognised the potential of organic viticulture and the Biodynamics in the sense of the idea of origin. He developed processes in a holistic context - in the vineyard and cellar.

The vineyards have expressed their gratitude to him and to us in the form of great wines. The style of the winery is clear. The Rieslings are expressive without being loud. Dense in structure and aroma with perfect inner balance. The family shows the Rheingau from its best side. Riesling, as it could hardly present itself and its region better. The Kühns are masters of Riesling from dry to noble sweet, yet they maintain their sensory line. This is often difficult to achieve, especially with sweeter styles.

The philosophy of Peter Jakob Kühn

Since the arrival of the son Peter Bernhard, you can still feel the "little bit more". Father and son seem to complement each other perfectly. Peter Bernhard has more impressions of biodynamics in Alsace at Zind-Humbrecht and in Burgundy. Olivier Humbrecht is considered a gifted winemaker and has left his mark on the young Rheingau WInzer.

Especially in the entry-level segment, they set new standards with the Jacobus, Rhine slate and quartzite the bar is set very high. The first sites play up this finesse-rich, cool, mineral style even further. The Kühns' wines do not live from intense fruit, but rather from delicate, yellow-fruity notes with ethereal hints. The Great Growths are perfect contemporary witnesses of their situations. Whether Doosberg or St. Nicholas - Great Riesling moments can be experienced here.

In the residual and noble sweet Prädikat wines, depending on the vintage, the winery plays the entire repertoire from Kabinett, Spätlese, Auslese to Trockenbeerenauslese. The dry and noble sweet growths have something in common. They are lively, radiate their energy outwards and are all literally under tension. Nature increasingly rewards the Kühn family's efforts year after year.

Text and wine expertise: Marian Henß.

Ergebnisse 1 – 24 von 29 werden angezeigt

Filter»

Peter Jakob Kühn

Völlig zurecht beschreibt die Familie Kühn den Begriff Terroir als Zusammenspiel aus Geologie, Klima und Mensch. Nur mit Hilfe der menschlichen Eingriffe und der Kultivierung der Rebstöcke kann der Wein seine Herkunft ausdrücken. Der Bodentyp, das Klima eines Jahrgangs sowie die Exposition der Lage sind starke Faktoren, aber der Winzer muss diese auch zulassen.

Peter Jakob Kühn stammt zwar aus einer traditionellen Weingutsfamilie des Rheingaus, dennoch galt er immer als Innovator und Querdenker. Schon früh erkannte er inmitten einer sehr konservativen Region das Potenzial des ökologischen Weinbaus und der Biodynamie im Sinne des Herkunftsgedanken. Er entwickelte Abläufe in einem ganzheitlichen Kontext – im Weinberg und Keller.

Die Weinberge haben ihm und uns ihren Dank in Form großartiger Weine ausgesprochen. Der Stil des Weinguts ist eindeutig. Die Rieslinge sind expressiv ohne dabei laut zu wirken. Dicht in Struktur und Aroma bei perfekter innerer Balance. Den Rheingau zeigt die Familie von seiner besten Seite. Riesling, wie er sich und seine Region besser kaum präsentieren könnte. Die Kühns beherrschen Riesling von trocken bis edelsüß, bewahren jedoch ihre sensorische Linie dabei. Dies ist gerade bei süßeren Stilen oft schwierig umzusetzen.

Die Philosophie von Peter Jakob Kühn

Seit dem Einstieg des Sohnes Peter Bernhard spürt man noch das “Schippchen mehr”. Vater und Sohn scheinen sich perfekt zu ergänzen. Peter Bernhard hat weitere Eindrücke der Biodynamie im Alsace bei Zind-Humbrecht und im Burgund sammeln können. Olivier Humbrecht gilt als begnadeter Winzer und prägte den jungen Rheingauer WInzer.

Gerade im Einstiegsbereich setzen sie mit dem Jacobus, Rheinschiefer und Quarzit die Messlatte sehr hoch. Die ersten Lagen spielen diese finessenreiche, kühle, mineralische Art noch weiter aus. Die Weine der Kühns leben nicht von intensiver Frucht, sondern eher von zarten, gelbfruchtigen Noten mit etherischen Anklängen. Die Großen Gewächse sind perfekte Zeitzeugen ihrer Lagen. Ob Doosberg oder St. Nikolaus – Große Rieslingmomente werden hier erlebbar.

In den rest- und edelsüßen Prädikaten spielt das Weingüt abhängig vom Jahrgang die gesamte Klaviatur aus Kabinett, Spätlese, Auslese bis zur Trockenbeerenauslese. Die trockenen und edelsüßen Gewächse haben etwas gemeinsam. Sie sind lebendig, strahlen ihre Energie nach außen und stehen allesamt förmlich unter Spannung. Die Natur belohnt die Mühen der Familie Kühn Jahr um Jahr zunehmend.

Text und Weinexpertise: Marian Henß.