Zum Inhalt springen

Showing all 9 results

Moric

Roland Velich started the Moric project winery in 2001. Mission Blaufränkisch. In the past 20 years, he has probably more than achieved his goal. With his vision of an Austrian wine that is finesse-rich, elegant, cool and graceful and also shows its terroir accurately, he has taken both wine lovers and critics by storm. He himself puts it this way: «The basic idea behind Moric was simply to press wines that clearly show their origin»

But he has also succeeded in convincing numerous other winemakers in Burgenland with his wines to develop Blaufränkisch in the way it was still customary many years ago.

moric roland velich in the cellar
Roland Velich in the cellar

More about Moric


More about Moric

In Roland's opinion, Blaufränkisch in particular has similarities to the red wines of Burgundy, the Northern Rhône and Piedmont in terms of fruit and structure.

Mayr St Georgen
Michael Mayr St Georgen 1825

The Moric winery is located in St. Georgen near Eisenstadt to the west of Lake Neusiedl - generally considered the best growing area for Blaufränkisch in Austria. The vineyards are situated on steep slopes up to 400m high with 50 to 100 year old vines.

The Pannonian climate provides ventilation through wind and cool nights. With lower yields, extract-rich mineral grapes grow, which are harvested by hand. The wines are then subjected to spontaneous fermentation and further ageing takes place for about 20 months on the fine lees in large used wood.

This results in great wines that are far removed from the opulence with too much wood and fruit that prevailed in the past - towards a cool and lean style, finely fruity, dense and complex.

The allocation of his red wines from the top vineyards of Lutzmannsburg or Neckenmarkt has long since been severely limited and Roland Velich sells his wines as far away as India and Thailand. The Moric wines can be counted among the world's best without exaggeration. We are happy to have his wines in our assortment!

Zeigt alle 9 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Moric

moric roland velich im keller
Roland Velich im Keller
Roland Velich startete 2001 mit seinem Projektweingut Moric die Mission Blaufränkisch. In den vergangen 20 Jahren hat er sein Ziel wohl mehr als erreicht. Mit seiner Vision eines österreichischen Weins, der finessenreich, elegant, kühl und grazil ist und auch sein Terroir genau zeigt, hat er sowohl Weinliebhaber als auch Kritiker im Sturm erobert. Er selbst sagt es so: «Der Grundgedanke zu Moric war schlicht und einfach Weine zu keltern, die ihre Herkunft eindeutig erkennen lassen»

Vielmehr ist es es ihm aber auch gelungen, zahlreiche andere Winzer im Burgenland mit seinen Weinen davon zu überzeugen, den Blaufränkisch so auszubauen, wie es vor vielen Jahren noch üblich war.


Mehr über Moric

Speziell Blaufränkisch hat Rolands Meinung Ähnlichkeit mit den Rotweinen des Burgunds, der Nord-Rhône und des Piemonts hinsichtlich Frucht und Struktur.

Mayr St Georgen
Michael Mayr St Georgen 1825

Das Weingut Moric liegt in St. Georgen bei Eisenstadt westlich des Neusiedlersees – der generell als bestes Anbaugebiet für Blaufränkisch in Österreich gilt. Die Weingärten liegen in bis zu 400m hohen Steilhanglagen mit 50 bis 100 Jahre alten Reben.

Das pannonisches Klima sorgt hier für für Belüftung durch Wind und kühle Nächte. Bei niedrigerem Ertrag wachsen so extraktreiche mineralische Trauben heran, die per Hand gelesen werden. Anschließend untergehen die Weine Spontanvergärung und der weitere Ausbau der Weine erfolgt für ca. 20 Monate auf der Feinhefe in großem gebrauchten Holz.

So entstehen dann große Weine, die weit entfernt sind von der früher vorherrschenden Opulenz 
mit zuviel Holz und Frucht – hin zu einem kühlen und schlankem Stil, feinfruchtig, dicht und komplex.

Längst ist die Zuteilung seiner Rotweine aus den Spitzenlagen Lutzmannsburg oder Neckenmarkt stark begrenzt und Roland Velich vertreibt seine Weine bis nach Indien und Thailand. Die Moric-Weine können ohne Übertreibung mit zur Weltspitze gezählt werden. Wir freuen uns, seine Weine im Sortiment haben zu können!