Zum Inhalt springen

Showing 1–12 of 16 results

Portal del Priorat

Portal del Priorat has been Alfredo Arribas' jewel since 2011. The architect from Barcelona, who studied and is still practising, turned to wine as a career changer. The labels and the winery building, which is very well integrated into the landscape, are correspondingly aesthetic. Much more spectacular, however, are his wines and the slopes on which they grow. At the time of its foundation, the priory still had some fallow vineyards at its disposal. With much love and painstaking work, the team has re-cultivated them and brought them back into production. The focus is mainly on Garnacha Negra and Cariñena. But Syrah and a little Cabernet Sauvignon are also used in two of his wines.
alfredo arribas showcasing soil types of priorat

The gateway to the priory

The microclimatic peculiarity of the Priorat is the combination of poor slate soils, little rainfall and mainly in winter, as well as a strongly pronounced day-night amplitude. With the lowest yields, wines of high aroma density and demanding texture are produced. With his wines Gotes del Priorat and Negre de Negres, Alfredo knows extremely well how to conjure up a lot of Priorat in the bottle for relatively little money. With Somni, he succeeds year after year in creating a grandiose cuvée of Cariñena and Syrah. Mediterranean spiciness, power and elegance at the same time characterise this wine.
He fills a Cariñena from vines over a hundred years old with the Tros de Clos. Full of concentrated aromas and with plenty of cooling minerality, this is a monument and absolute reference for this grape variety and region.


More about Portal del Priorat

For label drinkers

For the labels, the basis is identical from year to year, but there are small changes in the motif. Usually it is the protagonists who make a vintage recognisable. But the "brand" itself immediately catches your eye.

From the outside, the winery nestles gently into the hillside. The area was partially cut into the slate and thus brings good temperature regulation and little direct sunlight to the building.
Also exciting to watch is his Alfredo Arribas winery in neighbouring Montsant, as well as his experimental natural wine line Vins Nus from the north of Priorat.

negre de negres label

portal del priorat winery building portal del priorat winery building

Photos: Clos de Portal
Text: Marian Henß
© LivingWines.com

Zum Inhalt springen

Zeigt alle 18 Ergebnisse

Portal del Priorat

Portal del Priorat ist das Juwel von Alfredo Arribas seit 2011. Der studierte und noch praktizierende Architekt aus Barcelona hat sich als Quereinsteiger dem Wein zugewandt. Entsprechend ästhetisch sind die Etiketten und das sehr gut in die Landschaft integrierte Kellereigebäude. Viel spektakulärer sind allerdings seine Weine und die Hänge an denen diese wachsen. Das Priorat hat zu der Zeit der Gründung noch einige brach liegende Weinberge zur Verfügung gehabt. Mit viel Liebe und mühsamer Arbeit hat das Team diese rekultiviert und zurück in den Ertrag geführt. Vor allem Garnacha Negra und Cariñena sind im Fokus. Aber auch Syrah und ein wenig Cabernet Sauvignon finden Verwendung in zwei seiner Weine.
alfredo arribas showcasing soil types of priorat

Das Tor zum Priorat

Die mikroklimatische Besonderheit des Priorats ist die Kombination aus kargen Schieferböden, wenig Niederschlag und vornehmlich im Winter sowie eine stark ausgeprägten Tag-Nacht-Amplitude. Bei niedrigsten Erträgen kommen Weine von hoher Aromendichte und anspruchsvoller Textur hervor. Alfredo versteht es äußerst gut mit seinen Weinen Gotes del Priorat sowie Negre de Negres sehr viel Priorat für verhältnismäßig wenig Geld in die Flasche zu zaubern. Mit Somni gelingt ihm Jahr für Jahr eine grandiose Cuvée aus Cariñena und Syrah. Mediterrane Würze, Kraft und Eleganz zugleich zeichnen diesen Wein aus.
Einen Cariñena von über hundertjährigen Reben füllt er mit dem Tros de Clos. Voller Aromenkonzentration und mit reichlich kühlender Mineralität versehen, ist dies ein Monument und absolute Referenz für diese Rebsorte und Region.


Mehr über Portal del Priorat

Für Etikettentrinker

Bei den Etiketten ist die Basis von Jahr zu Jahr identisch, aber beim Motiv gibt es kleine Änderungen. Meist sind es die Protagonisten, die einen Jahrgang wiedererkennbar gestalten. Aber die „Marke“ an sich sticht einem sofort ins Auge.

Die Kellerei schmiegt sich von außen betrachtet sachte in den Hang. Die Fläche wurde teilweise in den Schiefer geschlagen und bringt dadurch eine gute Temperaturregulierung und wenig direkte Sonneneinstrahlung auf das Gebäude mit sich.
Spannend zu beobachten ist auch sein Weingut Alfredo Arribas im benachbaretn Montsant sowie seine experimentelle Naturwein-Linie Vins Nus aus dem Norden des Priorats.

negre de negres label

portal del priorat winery building portal del priorat winery building

Fotos: Clos de Portal
Text: Marian Henß
© LebendigeWeine.de