Showing 1–24 of 35 results

Filter»

Nikolaihof Wachau

This winery can look back on over 2000 years of history and is the oldest still active winery in Austria. The Nikolaihof in the Wachau is a very special place. The Saahs family has been running this cult winery for more than 100 years.

Biodynamic since 1971

As Founding member of the Austrian Demeter Association they cultivate their vineyards biodynamic for 50 years. Absolute pioneers in the wine world. The vineyards, which they obviously themselves prefer to call Vineyards radiate a crazy energy off.

The biodiversity, the balance and the scent of meadow herbs in these gardens are fabulous. Just like their vineyards, the family is literally at rest.

Above all Riesling and Grüner Veltliner determine the assortment here in the Wachau. But also Muscat and Neuburg provide the basis for great wines in the steep slopes along the Danube.

Christine Saah's Nikolaihof

Christine Saahs from Nikolaihof

Vineyard as ecosystem

Living in harmony and rhythm with nature naturally also determines the vineyard work. Nicholas Saahs spends time every day in the vineyards and with his vines. He maintains a close bond with the plant and nature. Instead of using herbicides, pesticides and synthetic sprays, the Saahs rely on the biodynamic teas based on nettle, valerian and horsetail and the scheduled Preparations of horn silica and horn manure. This intact ecosystem is noticeable in the wines.

An Federspiel of Riesling or Grüner Veltliner provides such a Excitement and diversity at prettier Finesse and lightness. The wines show this energy and substance with abnormally low alcohol levels. The vitality of these wines hardly decreases even when ripe. Saah's philosophy is to let nature take its course, intervene as little as possible and give the wines time to develop. In the cellar, the wines experience the same calm and serenity.

In the cellar of the Nikolaihof

The maturation in the old cellar from Roman times takes place in large wooden barrels. The wines are allowed to mature on the yeast for a long time. With the late fillings this also means a good 15 years' maturity. These wines are blessed with such energy, vibrate with excitement and complexity. This complexity and lightness runs like a thread through the entire range.

The Wines from the old tree press are like lore from times past. The inner structure of these wines is phenomenal. The Winery HM Lang has taken its cue from this press and interpreted it in its own way.

The 2008 Yellow Muscat is an ingenious example of this aromatic variety, which is to umami-heavy cuisine with soy, miso & co. unfolds its full potential.

Perfect score

The first dry Riesling in the world, to which the renowned wine guide Robert Parker the highest score of 100 points was of course from the Nikolaihof. Curiously, in the same year, the winery was severely criticized by an Austrian wine guide and rated very weak.

No one wanted to buy the wine in Austria. When the 1995 Riesling Vinothek reached this milestone of the highest grade after almost 20 years of maturity, the phone did not stand still anymore. Mrs. Saahs reacted cool and refused any sensational new customers this wine. But she gave everyone the opportunity to enjoy this wine by the glass in her own restaurant on the farm from then on. A great move.

Written by Marian Henß and Living Wines

Ergebnisse 1 – 24 von 32 werden angezeigt

Filter»

Nikolaihof Wachau

Dieses Weingut kann auf über 2000 Jahre Geschichte zurückblicken und ist der älteste noch aktive Betrieb Österreichs. Der Nikolaihof in der Wachau ist ein ganz besonderer Ort. Familie Saahs leitet dieses Kult-Weingut seit mehr als 100 Jahren.

Biodynamisch seit 1971

Als Gründungsmitglied des österreichischen Demeter-Verbandes kultivieren sie ihre Weinberge seit 50 Jahren biologisch-dynamisch. Absolute Vorreiter in der Weinwelt. Die Weinberge, die sie naheliegend selbst lieber als Weingärten bezeichnen, strahlen eine wahnsinnige Energie aus.

Die Biodiversität, die Ausgeglichenheit und der Duft nach Wiesenkräutern in diesen Gärten sind sagenhaft. Die Familie ruht genau wie ihre Weinberge förmlich in sich.

Vor allem Riesling und Grüner Veltliner bestimmen das Sortiment hier in der Wachau. Aber auch Muskateller und Neuburger liefern die Grundlage für großartige Weine in den Steillagen entlang der Donau.

Christine Saahs Nikolaihof

Christine Saahs vom Nikolaihof

Weinberg als Ökosystem

Das Leben in Einklang und im Rhythmus mit der Natur bestimmt selbstverständlich auch die Weinbergsarbeit. Nikolaus Saahs verbringt jeden Tag Zeit in den Weingärten und mit seinen Reben. Er pflegt eine enge Bindung zu der Pflanze und der Natur. Statt auf Herbizide, Pestizide und synthetische Spritzmittel, setzen die Saahs auf die biodynamischen Tees auf Basis von Brennnessel, Baldrian und Schachtelhalm sowie die angesetzten Präparate von Hornkiesel und Hornmist. Dieses intakte Ökosystem ist in den Weinen spürbar.

Ein Federspiel vom Riesling oder Grüner Veltliner liefert eine solche Spannung und Vielfalt bei schöner Finesse und Leichtigkeit. Die Weine zeigen diese Energie und Substanz bei auffällig niedrigen Alkoholwerten. Die Vitalität dieser Weine nimmt auch in der reife kaum ab. Saahs Philosophie ist, der Natur ihren Lauf zu lassen, so wenig wie möglich einzugreifen und den Weinen Zeit geben sich zu entwickeln. Im Keller erfahren die Weine die gleiche Ruhe und Gelassenheit.

Im Keller des Nikolaihofs

Der Ausbau in dem alten Keller aus Römerzeiten erfolgt in großen Holzfässern. Die Weine dürfen lange auf der Hefe reifen. Bei den Spätfüllungen heißt dies auch gerne mal 15 Jahre Reife. Diese Weine sind mit einer solchen Energie gesegnet, vibrieren vor Spannung und Komplexität. Diese Vielschichtigkeit und Leichtigkeit zieht sich wie ein roter Faden durch das ganze Sortiment.

Die Weine von der alten Baumpresse sind wie Überlieferungen aus vergangenen Zeiten. Die innere Struktur dieser Weine ist phänomenal. Das Weingut HM Lang hat sich an dieser Presse orientiert und auf ihre eigene Weise interpretiert.

Der 2008 Gelber Muskateller ist ein geniales Exempel dieser Aromarebsorte, die zu Umami-lastigen Küche mit Soja, Miso & Co. ihr volles Potenzial entfaltet.

Perfect score

Der erste trockene Riesling der Welt, dem der renommierte Weinführer Robert Parker die Höchstnote von 100 Punkten zusprach, war natürlich vom Nikolaihof. Kurioser Weise wurde das Weingut im gleichen Jahr von einem österreichischen Weinführer schwer kritisiert und sehr schwach bewertet.

Keiner wollte den Wein in Österreich kaufen. Als der 1995 Riesling Vinothek diesen Meilenstein der Höchstnote nach knapp 20 Jahren Reife erreichte, stand das Telefon nicht mehr still. Frau Saahs reagierte cool und verweigerte jeglichen Sensations-Neukunden diesen Wein. Aber sie gab jedem die Möglichkeit diesen Wein fortan im eigenen Restaurant auf dem Hof glasweise zu genießen. Ein großer Schachzug.

Geschrieben von Marian Henß und Lebendige Weine