Showing all 8 results

Filter»

Georg Meissner

Georg Meissner is a great figure in the field of biodynamic viticulture in German-speaking countries. No wonder, then, that he is the lecturer in this field at the Geisenheim University of Applied Sciences. At this world-famous institute for enology, he teaches the upcoming generation of winemakers the theoretical methods according to Steiner with a lot of practical reference.

The adviser

In addition to his involvement in Geisenheim, Georg Meissner is often active in an advisory capacity. Wineries commission the scientist to accompany the conversion of the farm and especially the vineyards towards biodynamics. A famous example is Tenuta Alois Lageder in South Tyrol. Definitely one of the larger wine projects in this field. There, Meissner is responsible for the areas of cellar, agriculture, research and further education. He also supports the respekt-BIODYN grouping with numerous wineries from our range through training and further education measures.

The great advantage for him and his further development is, among other things, the experimental vineyard in Geisenheim. Together with his students, he can test the cultivation methods here. Conventional, organic and biodynamic directly with each other. Of course, he can apply the knowledge gained to his clients as well as in his own vineyards.

The winery of Georg Meissner

He puts his heart and soul into his small vineyard in the south of France. In the southwest of Roussillon, to be precise. Shortly before the Spanish border, a lot has happened in the last twenty years and many renowned wineries such as Gauby, Matassa, de l'Horizon is located.

Georg Meissner had the chance to take over two old vineyards. If he had not dared to take this step, both vineyards would have been vines over a hundred years old have been cleared.

Georg Meissner

Dr Georg Meissner

His wine Vindemiatrix comes from these same vines, which are over 100 years old. The Carignan vines were planted in 1899. He was able to reactivate the age-old vines and, together with friends and helpers, restore life and energy to the vineyards. The site is located on a terrace protected by rocks, old stone walls and the adjacent forest. The weathered gneiss in the subsoil provides nutrients and minerals.

The second wine is made from ancient Grenache vines: Serrat de la Plane means something like stony plateau in cross-border Catalan. The Grenache is not as protected as the Carignan, so that it is permanently exposed to the cool wind there. This cools down the grapes in the hot climate and ensures freshness in the wine.

Text and wine expertise: Marian Henß.

Zeigt alle 8 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Georg Meissner

Georg Meissner ist eine Größe auf dem Gebiet des biologisch-dynamischen Weinbaus im deutschsprachigen Raum. Kein Wunder also, dass er der Lehrbeauftragte für dieses Fachgebiet an der Hochschule Geisenheim ist. An diesem weltberühmten Institut für Önologie unterrichtet er die heranwachsenden Winzergeneration in den theoretischen Methoden nach Steiner mit viel praktischem Bezug.

Der Berater

Neben seinem Engagement in Geisenheim ist Georg Meissner oft in beratender Funktion tätig. Weingüter beauftragen den Wissenschaftler, um die Umstellung des Betriebes und vor allem der Weinberge hin zur Biodynamie zu begleiten. Ein berühmtes Beispiel ist die Tenuta Alois Lageder im Südtirol. Definitiv eines der größeren Weinprojekte in dieser Thematik. Dort verantwortet Meissner die Bereiche Keller, Landwirtschaft, Forschung und Weiterbildung. Auch die Gruppierung respekt-BIODYN mit zahlreichen Weingütern aus unserem Sortiment wird von ihm durch Aus- und Fortbildungsmaßnahmen unterstützt.

Der große Vorteil für ihn und seine Weiterentwicklung ist unter anderem der Versuchsweinberg in Geisenheim. Gemeinsam mit seinen Studenten kann er hier die Anbaumethoden konventionell, biologisch-organisch und biologisch-dynamisch direkt miteinander vergleichen. Die gewonnen Erkenntnisse kann er natürlich bei seinen Klienten wie auch in den eigenen Weinbergen anwenden.

Das Weingut von Georg Meissner

Sein Herzblut investiert er vor allem in sein kleines Weingut in Südfrankreich. Im Südwesten des Roussillon um genau zu sein. Kurz vor der spanischen Grenze hat sich in den letzten zwanzig Jahren viel getan und sich viele namhafte Weingüter wie Gauby, Matassa, de l´Horizon angesiedelt.

Georg Meissner hatte die Chance zwei alte Weinberge zu übernehmen. Hätte er diesen Schritt nicht gewagt, wären beide Weinberge mit teilweise über hundertjährigen Reben gerodet worden.

Georg Meissner

Dr. Georg Meissner

Sein Wein Vindemiatrix stammt von eben diesen, über 100 Jahre alten Reben. Die Carignan-Stöcke wurden 1899 gepflanzt. Die uralten Reben konnte er reaktivieren und die Weinberge mit Freunden und Helfern wieder mit Leben und Energie versorgen. Die Lage befindet sich auf einer Terrasse, die von Felsen, alten Steinmauern und dem angrenzenden Wald geschützt wird. Der verwitterte Gneiss im Untergrund liefert Nähr- und Mineralstoffe.

Den zweiten Wein gewinnt er aus uralten Grenache-Reben: Serrat de la Plane bedeutet im grenzübergreifenden Katalanisch so viel wie steinige Hochebene. Der Grenache ist nicht so geschützt wie der Carignan, so dass er dem dort kühlen Wind permanent ausgesetzt ist. Das kühlt die Trauben im heißen Klima runter und sorgt für Frische im Wein.

Text und Weinexpertise: Marian Henß.