Showing all 10 results

Filter»

Château de Béru

Chateau de Beru Athenais

Athenaïs de Béru

Outside the classic vineyards of Chablis, Château de Béru is located in the east of the region. After the phylloxera crisis at the end of the 19th century, the de Béru family initially abandoned viticulture. It was not until the end of the 1980s that the vineyards were replanted and recultivated. The love of wine motivated Èric and his wife Laurence to this feat. Since 2004, the Daughter Athénais and has given the winery an increasing reputation and a significant increase in quality.

Towards biodynamics

This increase in quality can also be explained by the methods used. Athénais first relied on organic and later on Demeter-certified methods. Cultivation according to biodynamic guidelines converted. The family retroactively takes this step for granted. Athénais and her team appreciate the privilege to work with Chardonnay in a world-class terroir like Chablis. Her incentive is to translate this terroir into a language called wine and to transport the origin to us via the wine in bottles.


More about Château de Béru

It helps to work the vineyards as gently as possible and to promote and keep intact the biodiversity with all its beneficial insects. Instead of tractors, horses are used in the vineyards. The soils are loosened instead of being compacted. The basis is always Chardonnay, one of the noblest grape varieties on earth.

The layers

Only three of the well-known Premier Cru vineyards are cultivated. For this there are the Monopoly site Clos Béru directly at the chateau. Clos Béru is 300 meters above sea level and stands on the typical Kimmeridge limestone, which makes the Chablis area so unique and clearly distinguishes it from the rest of Burgundy. The site covers 5 hectares and is enclosed by an old wall dating back to the 13th century. It forms the heart of the Domaine, but is complemented by surrounding sites of great quality.

In addition to the classic ageing in small wooden barrels, there is an increasing focus on natural ageing. Thus, also mash-fermented or unsulphured wines their way into the assortment. The result are wines that are characterized by lime, mineral-cool but also powerful with a unique selling proposition. And it is precisely these experiences and insights that give the wines their own signature and - even more so - their own character. Uniqueness in the microcosm of Burgundy.

Zeigt alle 10 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Château de Béru

Chateau de Beru Athenais

Athénaïs de Béru

Außerhalb der klassischen Weinberge des Chablis liegt das Château de Béru im Osten der Region. Nach der Reblauskrise Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts hat die Familie de Béru den Weinbau zunächst aufgegeben. Erst zu Ende der 1980er Jahre wurden die Weinberge neu bestockt und rekultiviert. Die Liebe zum Wein hat Èric und seine Frau Laurence zu diesem Kraftakt motiviert. Seit 2004 ist auch die Tochter Athénais eingestiegen und verleiht dem Weingut seit ihrem Wirken zunehmend Reputation und einen deutlichen Qualitätsanstieg.

Hin zur Biodynamie

Dieser Qualitätsanstieg lässt sich auch in den Methoden begründen. Athénais hat zunächst auf biologischen und später auf mittlerweile demeter-zertifizierten Anbau nach biodynamischen Richtlinien umgestellt. Diesen Schritt sieht die Familie rückwirkend als selbstverständlich an. Das Privileg in einem Weltklasse-Terroir wie dem Chablis mit Chardonnay arbeiten zu dürfen, weiß Athénais mit ihrem Team zu schätzen. Ihr Ansporn ist es genau dieses Terroir in eine Sprache namens Wein zu übersetzen und die Herkunft über den Wein in Flaschen zu uns zu transportieren.


Mehr über Château de Béru

Dabei hilft es, die Weinberge so schonend wie möglich zu bearbeiten sowie die Biodiversität mit all ihren Nützlingen zu fördern und intakt zu halten. Statt Traktoren arbeitet man mit Pferden im Weinberg. Die Böden werden aufgelockert statt sie zu verdichten. Die Basis bildet immer Chardonnay als einer der nobelsten Rebsorten dieser Erde.

Die Lagen

Lediglich drei der bekannten Premier Cru-Lagen werden bewirtschaftet. Dafür gibt es die Monopol-Lage Clos Béru direkt am Schloss. Clos Béru liegt 300 Metern über Meereshöhe und steht auf dem typischen Kimmeridge-Kalk, der das Chablis-Gebiet so einzigartig macht und deutlich vom Rest des Burgunds abhebt. Die Lage umfasst 5 Hektar und wird von einer alten Mauer aus dem 13. Jahrhundert umschlossen. Sie bildet das Herzstück der Domaine, wird aber von umliegenden Lagen von großer Güte ergänzt.

Neben dem klassischen Ausbau im kleinen Holzfass hat man sich vermehrt dem naturnahen Ausbau verschrieben. So fanden auch Maische-vergorene oder ungeschwefelte Weine ihren Weg ins Sortiment. Das Ergebnis sind vom Kalk geprägte, mineralisch-kühle aber auch druckvolle Weine mit Alleinstellungsmerkmal. Und genau diese Erfahrungen und Erkenntnisse verleihen den Weinen eine eigene Handschrift und – mehr sogar – Einzigartigkeit im Mikrokosmos des Burgunds.