Showing all 24 results

Filter»

Heinrich

One can only take one's hat off to the courage of Heike and Gernot Heinrich. The step into biodynamics was a matter of course for them. But to turn a farm with an impressive one hundred hectares of vineyards around in such a stylistic way is hard to beat in terms of consistency and conviction that their idea is the right one. They subordinated their processes and work steps to their new understanding of wine and the budding ideas. The results can be found in the glass: Numerous wines - above all the Freyheit line - are reductive, puristic and partly characterised by macerations and maceration periods. But their wines are far from being experiments, they are sophisticated and well-balanced, they have a hand and a foot.

The red wines made from Zweigelt, Blaufränkisch and Saint Laurent shows this further development of the own style. The wines benefit from the delicate reduction, are Silky in appearance and racy on the palate. The drinking flow is clearly stimulated. There is a common thread throughout the range. Of course, classics like a Pannobile or Salt Mountain have remained true to their direction, but are now interpreted in a somewhat clearer and purer way.

amphora heinrich winery

Gernot Heinrich with his amphorae

Sustainability is a top priority at Heinrich

The entire collection has evolved from predominantly classically vinified wines to a Eldorado for natural wines and orange wines developed. Precision, freshness and drinkability became increasingly important to the two of them, so that their interests have clearly shifted in a different direction. This guiding principle is well thought out and firmly anchored. The Heinrichs' wines have always been characterised by their origins. The changes in the vineyard towards biodynamic cultivation and working in rhythm with nature have already set accents. The stylistic reorientation corresponds exactly to their Understanding wine in the here and now and with a view to the future.

Even in the modern cellar, the processes are subordinate to gravity, logical work steps and a gentle slow ageing. Large Clay amphorae are being used more and more frequently and are increasingly replacing the small wooden barrels. In the Fuder, but especially in the amphora, Gernot sees the ideal medium to elicit the character of origin from the wines from the numerous plots of the region. In summary, this is an overall picture with foresight.

Written by Marian Henß.

Zeigt alle 24 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Heinrich

Vor dem Mut von Heike und Gernot Heinrich kann man nur den Hut ziehen. Der Schritt in die Biodynamie war für sie selbstverständlich. Aber einen Betrieb mit stattlichen hundert Hektar Rebfläche stilistisch so umzukrempeln ist an Konsequenz und Überzeugung von der Richtigkeit der eigenen Idee kaum zu übertreffen. Ihre Abläufe und Arbeitsschritte haben sie ihrem neuen Verständnis von Wein und den aufkeimenden Ideen untergeordnet. Die Ergebnisse findet man im Glas: Zahlreiche Weine – allen voran die Freyheit-Linie – sind reduktiv, puristisch und teilweise von Maischegärungen und Maischestandzeiten geprägt. Doch ihre Weine sind bei weitem keine Experimente, sondern ausgeklügelt und austariert, sie haben Hand und Fuß.

Auch bei den Rotweinen aus Zweigelt, Blaufränkisch und Sankt Laurent zeigt sich diese Weiterentwicklung des eigenen Stils. Die Weine profitieren von der zarten Reduktion, sind seidig im Auftritt und rassig am Gaumen. Der Trinkfluss wird deutlich angeregt. Im gesamten Sortiment ist ein roter Faden zu erkennen. Selbstverständlich sind Klassiker wie ein Pannobile oder Salzberg ihrer Richtung treu geblieben, werden aber nun etwas klarer und reiner interpretiert.

amphore heinrich weingut

Gernot Heinrich bei seinen Amphoren

Nachhaltigkeit wird bei Heinrich großgeschrieben

Die gesamte Kollektion hat sich von überwiegend klassisch ausgebauten Weinen hin zu einem Eldorado für Naturweine und Orangeweine entwickelt. Den beiden wurde zunehmend Präzision, Frische und Trinkfluss wichtig, so dass sich die Interessen deutlich in eine andere Richtung verschoben haben. Dieser Leitgedanke ist durchdacht und fest verankert. Die Weine der Heinrichs waren seit jeher von ihrer Herkunft geprägt. Die Veränderungen im Weingarten hin zur biodynamischen Bewirtschaftung und dem Arbeiten im Rhythmus mit der Natur haben schon Akzente gesetzt. Die stilistische Neuausrichtung entspricht exakt ihrem Weinverständnis im Hier und Jetzt sowie mit Hinblick auf die Zukunft.

Auch im modern ausgelegten Keller sind die Prozesse der Schwerkraft, logischen Arbeitsschritten und einem schonend langsamen Ausbau untergeordnet. Große Tonamphoren kommen immer häufiger zum Einsatz und ersetzen die kleinen Holzfässer zunehmend. Im Fuder, aber vor allem der Amphore sieht Gernot das ideale Medium, um den Weinen aus den zahlreichen Parzellen der Region ihren Herkunftscharakter zu entlocken. Zusammengefasst ist dies ein Gesamtbild mit Weitsicht.

Geschrieben von Marian Henß.