Showing all 7 results

Filter»

Montenidoli

Montenidoli, that is a biotope. 24 hectares of wine surrounded by 200 hectares of forest. High up on a hill overlooking San Gimignano, vis-a-vis the Chianti Classico. A pure, untouched piece of land between Florence and Siena. Clean air. Any man-made poison is far away.

As Elisabetta Fagiuoli and Sergio When we arrived here in 1965, the land was deserted. The forest had invaded the fields, the olive trees grew wild, the vines were covered by bushes. The Etruscan were the first to plant vines here. Followed by the Romans and later the Knights Templar.

The two founders of the Montenidoli winery are committed to the soil. They began to breed rabbits, whose manure is particularly beneficial. They spread earthworms in the fields to soften the soil naturally. They carefully pruned the plants only in winter, when the vegetation was dormant.


More about Montenidoli

The cut branches and twigs were ground and fermented to return them to the soil in the form of compost. All according to the rules of nature and the weather, in the rhythm of the days and seasons.

All this at that time without electricity and running water. But with nine childrenthat Elisabetta and Sergio had in their care. For themselves and the children they found on Montenidoli Peace of mind. Peace of mind that flows from the wines today.

The terroir of Montenidoli

During the Quaternary period, this area was covered by calm waters of the Ligurian Sea. Perfect conditions for mussels and oysters to thrive. Today their fossilized, calcareous shells form the basis of the Montenidoli terroir. Ideal soil for the mineral, almost salty wines of the variety. Vernaccia di San Gimignano.

In the upper part of the hill, at about 400m above sea level, grow vines of the variety Sangiovese on red, highly ferruginous soils.

The Wines from Montenidoli rest in themselves. The white wines heavy, fresh, floating. Tuscan red wines in a white robe.

Zeigt alle 9 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Montenidoli

Montenidoli, das ist ein Biotop. 24 Hektar Wein umgeben von 200 Hektar Wald. Hoch oben auf einem Hügel mit Blick auf San Gimignano, vis-a-vis des Chianti Classico. Ein reines, unberührtes Stück Land zwischen Florenz und Siena. Saubere Luft. Jegliches vom Menschen geschaffene Gift ist weit weit weg.

Als Elisabetta Fagiuoli und Sergio 1965 hier ankamen, war das Land verlassen. Der Wald war in die Felder eingedrungen, die Olivenbäume wuchsen wild, die Rebstöcke waren von Büschen bedeckt. Die Etrusker waren die ersten, die hier Wein pflanzten. Gefolgt von den Römern und später den Tempelrittern.

Die beiden Gründer des Weinguts Montenidoli haben sich dem Boden verschrieben. Sie begannen Kaninchen zu züchten, deren Mist besonders vorteilhaft ist. Sie brachten Regenwürmer auf den Feldern aus, um die Erde auf natürliche Weise zu erweichen. Sie haben die Pflanzen behutsam nur im Winter beschnitten, wenn die Vegetation ruhte.


Mehr über Montenidoli

Die abgeschnitten Äste und Zweige wurden gemahlen und fermentiert, um sie in Form von Kompost dem Boden zurück zu führen. Alles nach den Regeln der Natur und des Wetters, im Rythmus der Tage und Jahreszeiten.

Das alles damals noch ohne Strom und fließend Wasser. Dafür mit neun Kindern, die Elisabetta und Sergio in ihrer Obhut hatten. Für sich und die Kinder fanden Sie auf Montenidoli Seelenruhe. Seelenruhe, die heute den Weinen entströmt.

Das Terroir von Montenidoli

Während des Quartär war diese Gegend von ruhigen Wasser des ligurischen Meeres bedeckt. Perfekte Bedingungen für das Gedeihen von Muscheln und Austern. Ihre versteinerten, kalkhaltigen Schalen bilden heute die Basis des Montenidoli-Terroirs. Idealer Boden für die mineralischen, fast salzigen Weine der Sorte Vernaccia di San Gimignano.

Im oberen Teil des Hügels, auf ca. 400m Höhe über dem Meeresspiegel, wachsen Reben der Sorte Sangiovese auf roten, stark eisenhaltigen Böden.

Die Weine von Montenidoli ruhen in sich. Die Weißweine schwer, frisch, schwebend. Toskanische Rotweine im weißen Gewand.