Showing all 6 results

Filter»

HM Lang

The "HM" in HM Lang stands for the married couple Heideline and Markus. Not only two letters, but also only two grape varieties are used by the Langs in their Kremstal vineyards: Grüner Veltliner and Riesling. And also, to date, only two layers in which they work. Steiner Schreck and Braunsdorfer. With 2.5 hectares and low production, the Demeter-certified winery belongs more to the boutique category. But that would be completely missing the point.

Markus Lang is actually at home in Vienna and has taken a completely different career path. In his home on the Danube, he can now pursue his passion for wine and realise his dream. As an autodidact, he approaches the work in the vineyard and the vinification with his very own approach. There is no room for reservations and a false fixation on tradition. He has been working biodynamically in the steep vineyards since the beginning. The demeter certificate quickly followed.

The rock cellar of HM Lang

The rock cellar of HM Lang

The primary rock soils of the steep Danube terraces have always been considered the ideal home for the aforementioned grape varieties - Riesling and Grüner Veltliner. He was able to take over vines that were up to 80 years old and benefits from the low but sensory outstanding yields of these meagre soils. An old and deep rock cellar was also up for sale. Deep underground, Lang was able to move into an impressive and constantly cool natural cellar that gives the wine time and peace.

The Danube valley is also home to the famous Nikolaihof Winerywhich has been working with an old tree press for generations. Following this tradition, Markus Lang had a tree press built. At 100 tonnes, it is probably the most powerful tree press in the world. For several days, his wines are pressed on it in the open air, before they are then run into the rock cellar through downward pressure. In the large wooden barrel of the popular Cooper Stockinger the wines then mature for two full years with yeast contact. Without filtration, he fills his wines into the bottle and lets them rest there for a few months before they go on sale. Completely contrary to the usual market trends and the cry for young wines, here the "slow winemaking" lived.

His Grüner Veltliner is called "Third Act" and the Riesling "this is not a love song". It sounds like marketing, but the wines are made with so much thought and time that you want to sink your teeth into them. The wines are precise, extremely individual and radiate an inner calm. Absolute long-distance runners.

Text and wine expertise: Marian Henß.

Zeigt alle 7 Ergebnisse

Filter»

HM Lang

Das „HM“ in HM Lang steht für das Ehepaar Heideline und Markus. Nicht nur zwei Buchstaben, sondern auch lediglich zwei Rebsorten finden bei den Langs Verwendung in ihren Kremstaler Lagen: Grüner Veltliner und Riesling. Und auch bis dato lediglich zwei Lagen, in denen sie arbeiten. Steiner Schreck und Braunsdorfer. Mit 2,5 Hektar und der geringen Produktion gehört das demeter-zertifizierte Weingut eher in die Kategorie Boutique. Wobei das total am Thema vorbei wäre.

Markus Lang ist eigentlich in Wien Zuhause und hat einen ganz anderen Karriereweg eingeschlagen. In seiner Heimat an der Donau kann er nun seiner Leidenschaft zum Wein nachgehen und seinen Traum verwirklichen. Als Autodidakt geht er mit ganz eigenen eigenen Herangehensweisen an die Arbeit im Weinberg sowie die Vinifikation heran. Vorbehalte und falsche Traditionensfixiertheit finden keinen Platz. Seit Gründung arbeitet er in den steilen Weinbergen biologisch-dynamisch. Das demeter-Zertifikat folgte rasch.

Der Felsenkeller von HM Lang

Der Felsenkeller von HM Lang

Die Urgesteinsböden der steilen Donauterrassen gelten seit jeher als ideales Zuhause für die genannten Rebsorten – Riesling und Grüner Veltliner. Bis zu 80 Jahre alte Reben konnte er übernehmen und profitiert von den niedrigen, aber sensorisch herausragenden Erträgen dieser kargen Böden. Auch ein alter und tiefer Felsenkeller stand zum Verkauf. Tief unter der Erde konnte Lang so einen beeindruckenden und konstant kühlen Naturkeller beziehen, der dem Wein Zeit und Ruhe verschafft.

Im Donautal befindet sich auch das berühmte Weingut Nikolaihof, das seit Generationen mit einer alten Baumpresse arbeitet. Markus Lang hat – dieser Tradition folgend – eine Baumpresse errichten lassen. Mit 100 Tonnen ist dies wohl die kraftvollste Baumpresse der Welt. Über mehrere Tage werden seine Weine darauf unter freiem Himmel abgepresst, ehe sie dann durch Falldruck in den Felsenkeller laufen. Im großen Holzfass vom angesagten Küfer Stockinger reifen die Weine dann für zwei volle Jahre mit Hefekontakt. Ohne Filtration füllt er seine Weine auf die Flasche und lässt sie einige Monate auch dort noch ruhen, bevor sie in den Verkauf gehen. Völlig entgegen marktüblicher Trends und dem Schrei nach Jungweinen wird hier das „slow winemaking“ gelebt.

Sein Grüner Veltliner heißt „Dritter Akt“ und der Riesling „this is not a love song“. Das klingt nach Marketing, aber die Weine sind mit so viel Bedacht und Zeit hergestellt, dass man sich reinknien möchte. Die Weine sind präzise, äußerst eigenständig und strahlen eine innere Ruhe aus. Absolute Langstreckenläufer.

Text und Weinexpertise: Marian Henß.