Showing all 12 results

Filter"

Felix Callejo

One of the guarantors of the quality offensive in the Ribera del Duero was Felix Callejo, who has tirelessly promoted the farm and his region for thirty years. At an almost tender age, the winery and the family took the young winemaker in charge. He always considered it an honour to represent his region, the winery and its grape variety.

The Ribera del Duero in the north of Spain is next to the Rioja Key to the success story of Spanish wines in recent decades. Now the Ribera del Duero region has a better image and becomes more easily the Category Premium assigned. This was achieved solely with the Grape variety Tempranillowhich here Tinta del Pais is called. Since time immemorial, this grape variety has been skilfully used on the plateau of northern Spain. A racy acidity, a fleshy body and good conditions for the maturation in oak barrels. Long-lasting, timeless wines have always been a unique selling point of these two parade regions.


More about Felix Callejo

The Tinta del Pais finds its perfect environment in the lean altitudes. Deep limestone in the soil is covered in parts only by a thin layer of clay. The wines do not need deep roots to be supplied with minerals. The serious differences in day and night temperatures in the vineyards between 800 and 950 metres above sea level are style-defining and a blessing. This is the only way for the Tinta del Pais to preserve its significant acidity, which stands up to the tannin and the power of the wines.

In the past and today

While Felix with his wife Pilar While in the 90ies, no trip went unused and they filled their suitcases with wine bottles for presentation, today, the conditions are completely different. Due to the pioneering spirit of the parents' generation and their tireless efforts to showcase their wines on many stages, a foundation has been laid in the cradle of the young generation. Four of their children run the winery today. All of them are trained oenologists or economists, so that the company is well positioned in terms of wine quality as well as economically.

Beside smallest quantities Merlot plays even today only their variety - the Tinta del Pais - the main role.

The Flores de Callejo offers uncomplicated drinking pleasure for everyday life. Juicy, fruity and concentrated without seeming cerebral. The Gran Cajello is a great example of its origin, grape variety and style. Ribera del Duero as it could hardly present itself better.

The white grape variety Albilo Mayor comes in small parts in the red wine Parajes de Callejo before. The Albilo complements the Tinta del Pais as a stabilizer and contributes a boost of minerality. The El Lebrero, a single-varietal Albilo, offers a varied aroma. Chalky, stony nuances meet structure and feel from the Mash stand time. A great food companion.

Written by Marian Henß
© Living Wines

Zeigt alle 13 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Felix Callejo

Einer der Garanten der Qualitätsoffensive im Ribera del Duero war Felix Callejo, der seit dreißig Jahren unermüdlich den betrieb und seine Region vorantreibt. In fast zartem Alter nahm das Weingut und die Familie den jungen Winzer in die Verantwortung. Er sah es stets als Ehre seine Region, das Weingut und ihre Rebsorte zu vertreten.

Der Ribera del Duero im Norden Spaniens ist neben der Rioja Schlüssel zur Erfolgsgeschichte spanischer Weine in den letzten Jahrzehnten. Nun verfügt die Region Ribera del Duero über ein besseres Image und wird leichter der Kategorie Premium zugeordnet. Dies gelang einzig und allein mit der Rebsorte Tempranillo, die hier Tinta del Pais genannt wird. Seit jeher verstand man in der Hochebene des nördlichen Spaniens diese Rebsorte gekonnt einzusetzen. Eine rassige Säure, ein fleischiger Körper und gute Voraussetzungen für den Ausbau im Eichenfass. Langlebige, zeitlose Weine sind seit jeher ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal dieser zwei Paraderegionen.


Mehr über Felix Callejo

Der Tinta del Pais findet seine perfekte Umgebung in den mageren Höhenlagen. Tiefgründiger Kalkstein im Boden wird zu Teilen nur von einer dünnen Lehmschicht bedeckt. Die Weine müssen nicht tief Wurzeln, um mit Mineralien versorgt zu werden. Die gravierenden Unterschiede der Tag- und Nachttemperaturen in den Lagen zwischen 800 und 950 Höhenmetern sind stilprägend und ein Segen. Nur so bewahrt der Tinta del Pais seine signifikante Säure, die dem Tannin und der Kraft der Weine Paroli bietet.

Früher und Heute

Während Felix mit seiner Frau Pilar in den 90er-Jahren keine Reise ungenutzt ließen und ihre Koffer mit Weinflaschen zur Präsentation füllten, herrschen heute ganz andere Bedingungen. Durch den Pioniergeist der Elterngeneration und ihre unermüdlichen Bemühungen ihre Weine auf vielen Bühnen zur Schau zu stellen, ist der jungen Generation eine Grundlage in die Wiege gelegt worden. Vier ihrer Kinder leiten den Betrieb heute. Allesamt ausgebildete Önologen oder Ökonomen, so dass der Betrieb sowohl in Sachen Weinqualität als auch wirtschaftlich gut aufgestellt ist.

Neben kleinsten Mengen Merlot spielt auch heute noch nur ihre Rebsorte – die Tinta del Pais – die Hauptrolle.

Der Flores de Callejo bietet unkomplizierte Trinkfreude für den Alltag. Saftig, fruchtig und konzentiert, ohne verkopft zu wirken. Der Gran Cajello ist ein großartiges Exempel seiner Herkunft, Rebsorte und Machart. Ribera del Duero wie er sich besser kaum präsentieren könnte.

Die weiße Rebsorte Albilo Mayor kommt in kleinen Teilen in dem Rotwein Parajes de Callejo vor. Der Albilo ergänzt den Tinta del Pais als Stabilisator und steuert einen Schub an Mineralität bei. Der El Lebrero, ein reinsortiger Albilo, bietet ein abwechslungsreiches Aroma. Kalkige, steinige Nuancen treffen auf Struktur und Haptik aus der Maischestandzeit. Ein toller Speisenbegleiter.

Geschrieben von Marian Henß
© Lebendige Weine