Chassagne-Montrachet Vielles Vignes Rouge AC 2019

37,00 

Incl. VAT.
(49,33  / 1000 ml)

On the one hand, the wine appears dark and earthy, but without the often taut and robust tannin of a Pommard, on the other hand, the wine shows its silky and clear, fresh and juicy side. The fruit of redcurrants, cherries, pomegranates and red apples, however, is quickly captured by a sous-bois note typical of Chassagne-Montrachet, i.e. a combination of undergrowth and some mossy, slightly damp forest soil.

Chassagne-Montrachet Vielles Vignes Rouge AC 2019

37,00 

SKU: 9910224025 Kategorien: , , Weingut:
Tasting note from from 03.05.2021, Copyright Christoph Raffelt

Wine information

Few people know that about 40 % of the vineyards of Chassagne-Montrachet are planted with Pinot Noir. Pinot Noir is behind the white wines because they are so exceptional and red wine is "just very good". But this has a special advantage You get here red wine in excellent quality at a remarkably good price. And if you invest in the classic Le Vin de Bourgogne by Camille Rodier, who always tended to prefer the Côte de Nuits when it came to red wine, then it says that in his opinion the red Chassagne-Montrachets from the Clos St. Jean and from Morgeot can compete with many Crus of the Côte de Nuits. The Chassagne-Montrachet vieilles vignes comes from two plots near the village, planted in 1935 and 1969 respectively. The newer plot has predominantly brown loamy soils, the other is more sandy as well as permeable and is located on a ridge. Yields from these old vines are generally low, rarely reaching 45 hl per hectare. Fermentation of the largely destemmed grapes takes place with indigenous yeasts in a combination of neutral barrel and tank. Malolactic fermentation occurs naturally. The new wood content is around 20 %. Sulphur is only added in the last six months in the barrel, and several times with minimal doses, so that the wine never exceeds 35 mg/l in total.

Color

bright cherry-red

Nose

Thomas Moreys Chassagne-Montrachet Vieilles Vignes 2019 opens red berry and fruity. The fruit of red currants, cherries, pomegranates and red apples is quickly captured by a sous-bois note typical for Chassagne-Montrachet, i.e. a combination of undergrowth and a bit of mossy, slightly damp forest soil. This does not seem heavy, but invigorating and fresh.

Palate

On the palate the Chassagne-Montrachet vieilles vignes is exactly like having the center of Pommard and Beaune hit. On the one hand, the wine appears dark and earthy, but without the often taut and robust tannin of an PommardOn the other hand, the wine shows its silky and clear, fresh and juicy side. This is a completely unaffected and undisguised Pinot Noir, whose wood content shines through only very discreetly. The emphasis here is on the juicy fresh red as well as dark fruit, a pleasing bite and a mineral cool side that offers plenty of grip. This is not complicated, not overly complex, but very fine, very drinkable, and very Côte de Beaune.

Food recommendations by Christoph Raffelt

  • Sweetbreads with cherries and pancetta
  • Black cod in miso marinade with flamed radicchio and sesame seeds
  • Mushroom Chestnut Lasagna

Allergens

Contains sulfur

Type

Vintage

Variety

Content

Alcohol content

13,5% Vol.

Residual sweetness

■□□□□

Acid

5,3 g/l

Drinking temperature

16°

Manufacturer

DomainThomas Morey, 9 rue du Nord, 21190 Chassagne-Montrachet, France

Weingut

Chassagne-Montrachet Vielles Vignes Rouge AC 2019

37,00 

Inkl. MwSt.
(49,33  / 1000 ml)
zzgl. Versand

Einerseits wirkt der Wein dunkel und erdig, aber ohne das oft straffe und robuste Tannin eines Pommard, anderseits zeigt der Wein sich von seiner seidigen und klaren, frischen und saftigen Seite. Die Frucht von Roten Johannisbeeren, Kirschen, Granatäpfeln und roten Äpfeln wird aber schnell eingefangen von einer für Chassagne-Montrachet typischen Sous-Bois-Note, also einer Kombination von Unterholz und etwas mosigem, leicht feuchtem Waldboden.

Chassagne-Montrachet Vielles Vignes Rouge AC 2019

37,00 

Artikelnummer: 9910224025 Kategorien: , , Weingut:
Verkostungsnotiz von vom 03.05.2021, Copyright Christoph Raffelt

Informationen zum Wein

Den wenigsten dürfte bekannt sein, dass rund 40 % der Rebfläche von Chassagne-Montrachet mit Pinot Noir bestockt sind. Pinot Noir steht hinter den Weißweinen zurück, weil diese so exzeptionell sind und Rotwein „eben nur sehr gut“. Das hat aber einen besonderen Vorteil Man bekommt hier Rotwein in exzellenter Qualität zu einem bemerkenswert guten Preis. Und wenn man in den Klassiker Le Vin de Bourgogne von Camille Rodier schaut, der bei Rotwein tendenziell immer die Côte de Nuits bevorzugt hat, dann steht dort, dass seiner Ansicht nach die roten Chassagne-Montrachets aus dem Clos St. Jean und aus Morgeot mit vielen Crus der Côte de Nuits konkurrieren können. Der Chassagne-Montrachet Vieilles Vignes stammt aus zwei Parzellen in der Nähe des Dorfes, die 1935 bzw. 1969 gepflanzt wurden. Das neuere Grundstück verfügt überwiegend über braune lehmige Böden, das andere ist eher sandig sowie durchlässig und liegt auf einem Bergrücken. Der Ertrag von diesen alten Reben ist im Allgemeinen gering und erreicht selten 45 hl pro Hektar. Die Gärung der weitgehend entrappten Trauben erfolgt mit indigenen Hefen in einer Kombination aus neutralem Fass und Tank. Die malolaktische Gärung läuft auf natürliche Weise ab. Der Neuholzanteil beträgt rund 20 %. Geschwefelt wird erst im letzten halben Jahr im Fass, und zwar mehrfach mit minimalen Dosen, sodass der Wein insgesamt nie auf mehr als 35 mg/l kommt.

Farbe

leuchtendes Kirschrot

Nase

Thomas Moreys Chassagne-Montrachet Vieilles Vignes 2019 öffnet sich rotbeerig und fruchtig. Die Frucht von Roten Johannisbeeren, Kirschen, Granatäpfeln und roten Äpfeln wird aber schnell eingefangen von einer für Chassagne-Montrachet typischen Sous-Bois-Note, also einer Kombination von Unterholz und etwas mosigem, leicht feuchtem Waldboden. Das wirkt nicht etwa schwer, sondern belebend und frisch.

Gaumen

Am Gaumen zeigt der Chassagne-Montrachet Vieilles Vignes sich genau so, als hätte man die Mitte von Pommard und Beaune getroffen. Einerseits wirkt der Wein dunkel und erdig, aber ohne das oft straffe und robuste Tannin eines Pommard, anderseits zeigt der Wein sich von seiner seidigen und klaren, frischen und saftigen Seite. Das ist ein völlig ungekünstelter und unverstellter Pinot Noir, dessen Holzanteil nur ganz dezent durchscheint. Die Betonung liegt hier auf der saftig frischen roten wie dunklen Frucht, einem angenehmen Biss und einer mineralisch kühlen Seite, die viel Grip bietet. Das ist nicht kompliziert, nicht übermäßig komplex, aber sehr fein, sehr trinkfreudig und sehr Côte de Beaune.

Speiseempfehlungen von Christoph Raffelt

  • Kalbsbries mit Kirschen und Pancetta
  • Schwarzer Kabeljau in Miso-Marinade mit geflämmtem Radicchio und Sesam
  • Pilz-Kastanien-Lasagne

Allergene

enthält Schwefel

Typ

Jahrgang

Sorte

Inhalt

Alkoholgehalt

13,5% Vol.

Restsüße

■□□□□

Säure

5,3 g/l

Trinktemperatur

16°

Hersteller

DomainThomas Morey, 9 rue du Nord, 21190 Chassagne-Montrachet, France