Zum Inhalt springen

Showing all 15 results

Weingut Odinstal

Odinstal stands for crystal-clear wines and the highest sites in the Palatinate.
The winery benefits from the geological faults of the Rhine Graben. So it often happens that within a few hundred metres the soil varies enormously. Here at the Wachenheim winery, this phenomenon is taken to extremes on just five hectares. Andreas Schumann creates wines true to the terroir from basalt, shell limestone, Keuper and red sandstone.

Thomas Hensel and Andreas Schumann

Andreas Schumann is responsible for the small winery and lives the biodynamic, holistic idea like hardly anyone else. The farm manager works hand-in-hand with the winery owner Thomas Hensel. The winery has the clear advantage that it has no neighbours apart from woods and meadows. Biodynamics can take full effect here and is not impaired by the working methods in neighbouring vineyards.


Weingut Odinstal

Photo: Odinstal Winery

More about Odinstal


More about Winery Odinstal

Odinstal - the highest sites in the Palatinate

Schumann is committed to origin and authenticity. With the grape varieties Riesling, Silvaner, Pinot Blanc and Auxerrois, he plays with the different soil conditions in the winery.

Rarely does one experience a better comparison of different soils than when tasting his Rieslings from basalt, red sandstone and shell limestone. The comparison is worthwhile and offers exciting insights into personal preferences.

Both the Pinot Blanc and the Auxerrois come out very well in the different soil types. The wines need not fear comparison with the best growths of these varieties in the country.

The Odinstal vineyard is located high above Wachenheim, at an altitude of 350 metres, the highest sites in the Palatinate. The somewhat cooler environment thus ensures a slower ripening cycle for the vines. Andreas Schumann completed his training at the biodynamic Primus Winery Bürklin-Wolf in Wachenheim and also knows the conditions there very well.

At the top of Odinstal, you can watch your colleagues down in the valley begin the harvest and literally watch his vines slowly ripen. Andreas Schumann is also known as a curious, reflective winemaker. He likes to experiment with mash contact, amphora fermentation or significantly reducing the use of sulphur. Silvaner Nakt is a living example of this style, realised with a great deal of understanding and skill.

Impressions from the winery

Thomas and Ute Hensel with Andreas Schumann
Thomas and Ute Hensel†️ with Andreas Schumann

Biodynamics is understood as a holistic concept at Odinstal
Biodynamics is understood as a holistic concept at Odinstal

View of the winery and the monopollage

View of the winery and the monopollage

Selective hand harvest at Odinstal in Wachenheim
Selective hand harvest at Odinstal in Wachenheim

Ergebnisse 1 – 24 von 26 werden angezeigt

Filter»

Odinstal

Die gesamte Pfalz profitiert vom Rheingrabenbruch und seinen geologischen Verwerfungen. So kommt es häufig vor, dass innerhalb weniger hundert Meter der Untergrund von Basalt zu Buntsandstein zu Muschelkalk variiert. Im Weingut Odinstal ist dieses Phänomen auf nur fünf Hektar auf die Spitze getrieben. Die Urgesteine liegen so in direkter Nachbarschaft. Basalt, Muschelkalk, Keuper und Buntsandstein.

Thomas Hensel und Andreas Schumann

Andreas Schumann zeichnet für den kleinen Betrieb verantwortlich und lebt den biodynamischen, ganzheitlichen Gedanken wie kaum ein anderer. Der Betriebsleiter arbeitet Hand-in-Hand mit dem Weingutseigentümer Thomas Hensel. Das Weingut hat den klaren Vorteil, dass es außer Wald und Wiese keine Nachbarn hat. Die Biodynamie kann hier voll greifen und wird nicht durch die Arbeitsweise in angrenzenden Weinbergen beeinträchtigt.

Herkunft und Authentizität hat sich Schumann auf die Fahne geschrieben. Mit den Rebsorten Riesling, Silvaner, Weißburgunder und Auxerrois spielt er im Weingut mit den verschiedenen Bodenbeschaffenheiten. Selten erlebt man einen besseren Vergleich verschiedener Böden als bei einer Verkostung seiner Rieslinge aus Basalt, Buntsandstein und Muschelkalk. Der Vergleich lohnt sich und bietet spannende Erkenntnisse über die persönlichen Vorlieben.

Sowohl der Weißburgunder als auch der Auxerrois kommen in den verschiedenen Bodentypen sehr gut heraus. Die Weine müssen keinen Vergleich mit den besten Gewächsen dieser Sorten im Land scheuen.
Text und Weinexpertise: © Marian Henß.

Weingut Odinstal

Odinstal – die höchsten Lagen der Pfalz

Das Weingut Odinstal liegt hoch über Wachenheim und stellt auf 350 Höhenmetern die höchsten Lagen der Pfalz. Die etwas kühlere Umgebung sorgt damit für einen verlangsamten Reifezyklus der Reben. Andreas Schumann hat seine Ausbildung beim biodynamischen Primus Weingut Bürklin-Wolf in Wachenheim absolviert und kennt auch dort die Gegebenheiten bestens.

Oben auf Odinstal kann man den Lesebeginn der Kollegen unten im Tal bestens beobachten und seinen Rebstöcken beim langsamen Reifen sprichwörtlich zuschauen. Andreas Schumann gilt aber auch als neugieriger, reflektierter Winzer. So experimentiert er auch gerne mit Maischekontakt, Amphorenausbau oder reduziert den Schwefeleinsatz deutlich. Silvaner Nakt ist ein lebendiges Beispiel dieser Stilistik, mit viel Verstand und Können umgesetzt.

Mehr über Odinstal


Mehr über Odinstal

Impressionen aus dem Weingut

Thomas und Ute Hensel mit Andreas SchumannThomas und Ute Hensel†️ mit Andreas Schumann

Biodynamie wird auf Odinstal als ganzheitliches Konzept verstanden Biodynamie wird auf Odinstal als ganzheitliches Konzept verstanden

Blick auf das Weingut und die Monopollage Blick auf das Weingut und die Monopollage

Selektive Handlese bei Odinstal in Wachenheim Selektive Handlese bei Odinstal in Wachenheim