Gewürztraminer Sonnenglanz Grand Cru 2018 – Trapet Alsace

39,52 

Incl. VAT.
(52,69  / 1000 ml)
SKU: 9950304027 Kategorien: , , Weingut:
Allergens

Contains sulfur

Type

Vintage

Variety

Content

Alcohol content

13,5% Vol.

Residual sweetness

■■■□□

Drinking temperature

11°

Manufacturer

Domaine Trapet Alsace, 14 Rue des Prés, 68340 Riquewihr / France, Organic certificate: FR-BIO-01

Tasting note from from 07.06.2021, Copyright Sebastian Bordthäuser

The Trapet family has been growing grapes in Gevrey-Chambertin for six generations. Jean-Louis Trapet took over the reins of the estate from his father in 1992 and took it to new heights in terms of quality. In order to achieve the greatest possible expression of the origin, the yields were reduced and the cultivation was changed. Since 1997, Trapet has been cultivating vines on 14 hectares according to biodynamic guidelines and has also dispensed with fining and filtration in the cellar. The domaine owns vineyards in the best Grand and Premier Crus in Gevrey-Chambertin.

When Jean-Louis and Andrée, who was born in Alsace, got married, the vineyards and the branch in Riquewihr were part of the marriage. As Andrée is a winemaker's daughter who is as attached to the soil of her home country as her husband, there was no either-or, but only a both-and. Thus, the Domaine Trapet was created out of the Domaine of Jean-Pierre and Hélène Graye and since then offers the couple the rare opportunity to work with two different historic terroirs. The areas are also cultivated according to biodynamic guidelines.

North of the village of Beblenheim, towards Zellenberg, the Grand Cru Sonnenglanz is located on a southeastern exposure at 220-270 metres above sea level. The site is predominantly planted with Pinot Gris and Gewürztraminer and covers a total area of 32.80 hectares. The homogeneous soils consist of tertiary boundary conglomerate of the Rheingraben limestone and interbedded marls of Eo-oligocene age, which together form a heavy, well-structured and stony limestone soil.

Color

Light golden yellow with bright reflections, radiant and clear.

Nose

The 2018 Sonnenglanz Gewürztraminer Grand Cru from Domaine Trapet pulls out all the stops for the grape variety, but does so with pleasant understatement. White peach and lime blossom tentatively open the overture before orange zest and green mandarin enrich the orchestra. A handful of pink rose petals and a honey-dripping honeycomb follow, all grounded by the profound beat on wet limestone. The decanter lurks in the stage pit.

Mouth

Impressively taut with fine minerality and creamy melting, this high-performance spice nestles on the connoisseur's palate. With a creamy texture, it is flanked by citrus aromas on a saline mineral foundation. Nothing exuberant or overblown adorns it, but it impresses with precision and enormous discipline on the palate. Polished and clear, the sweetness is perfectly embedded in the compact structure of the wine, which, like all great spices, will thank you for the appropriate maturity.

Food recommendations from Sebastian Bordthäuser

  • Tomato, mango, mozzarella, basil
  • Pike dumplings with turnips and beurre blanc
  • Duck on pineapple sauerkraut and black pudding ravioli

close

Wine letter

Good wine stories

Backgrounds, offers, inspirations and tasting notes from vineyard and cellar. All in our wine letter.

No spam, just good wine!
Read here the Data protection information.

Gewürztraminer Sonnenglanz Grand Cru 2018

39,52 

Inkl. MwSt.
(52,69  / 1000 ml)
zzgl. Versand

Mit der Heirat von Jean-Louis und der gebürtigen Elsässerin Andrée kamen die Lagen und die Dependance in Riquewihr mit in die Ehe. Die homogenen Böden bestehen aus tertiärem Grenzkonglomerat des Rheingrabenkalkes und dazwischen liegenden Mergeln eo-oligozänen Alters, die in Summe einen schweren, gut strukturierten und steinigen Kalkboden bilden.

Gewürztraminer Sonnenglanz Grand Cru 2018

39,52 

Artikelnummer: 9950304027 Kategorien: , Weingut:
Verkostungsnotiz von vom 07.06.2021, Copyright Sebastian Bordthäuser

Seit sechs Generationen betreibt die Familie Trapet in Gevrey-Chambertin Weinbau. Jean-Louis Trapet übernahm 1992 die Geschicke des Weingutes von seinem Vater und führte es Qualitativ zu neuen Höhen. Um den größtmöglichen Ausdruck der Herkunft zu erreichen wurden die Erträge reduziert und die Bewirtschaftung umgestellt. Auf gut 14 Hektar betreibt Trapet seit 1997 Weinbau nach biodynamischen Richtlinien, und auch im Keller werden auf Schönung und Filtration verzichtet. Die Domaine besitzt Lagen in den besten Grand und Premier Crus in Gevrey-Chambertin.

Mit der Heirat von Jean-Louis und der gebürtigen Elsässerin Andrée kamen die Lagen und die Dependance in Riquewihr mit in die Ehe. Da Andrée als heimatverbundene Winzertochter ebenso an den Böden ihrer Heimat hängt wie ihr Gatte, gab es kein Entweder-oder, sondern nur ein sowohl als auch. So entstand aus der Domaine von Jean-Pierre and Hélène Graye die Domaine Trapet und bietet dem Paar seither die rare Möglichkeit, mit zweierlei historischen Terroirs zu arbeiten. Die Flächen werden ebenfalls nach biodynamischen Richtlinien bewirtschaftet.

Nördlich am Ortsausgang von Beblenheim Richtung Zellenberg liegt die Grand Cru Sonnenglanz in südöstlicher Ausrichtung auf 220-270 Metern Meereshöhe. Die Lage ist überwiegend mit Grauburgunder und Gewürztraminer bestockt und umfasst eine Gesamtgröße von 32,80 Hektar. Die homogenen Böden bestehen aus tertiärem Grenzkonglomerat des Rheingrabenkalkes und dazwischen liegenden Mergeln eo-oligozänen Alters, die in Summe einen schweren, gut strukturierten und steinigen Kalkboden bilden.

Farbe

Helles Goldgelb mit leuchtenden Reflexen, strahlend und klar.

Nase

Der 2018 Sonnenglanz Gewürztraminer Grand Cru der Domaine Trapet zieht alle Register der Rebsorte, tut dies jedoch mit angenehmem Understatement. Weißer Pfirsich und Lindenblüten eröffnen zaghaft die Ouvertüre bevor Orangenzesten und grüne Mandarinen das Orchester bereichern. Es folgen eine Handvoll rosa Rosenblätter und eine honigtriefende Bienenwabe, das alles geerdet durch den profunden Beat auf nassem Kalkstein. Im Bühnengraben lauert die Karaffe.

Mund

Beeindruckend straff mit feiner Mineralik und cremigem Schmelz bettet sich dieses Hochleistungs-Gewürz in des Connaisseurs Gaumen. Mit sahniger Textur wird er flankiert von zitrischen Aromen auf mineralisch salinem Fundament. Nichts Überbordendes oder Ausladendes schmückt ihn, sondern er besticht durch Präzision und enorme Disziplin am Gaumen. Geschliffen und klar ist die Süße bestens gebettet in die kompakte Struktur des Weines, der einem wie alles große Gewürz entsprechende Reife danken werden.

Speiseempfehlungen von Sebastian Bordthäuser

  • Tomate, Mango, Mozzarella, Basilikum
  • Hechtklösschen mit Mairübchen und Beurre blanc
  • Ente auf Ananas-Sauerkraut und Blutwurst-Ravioli

Allergene

enthält Schwefel

Typ

Jahrgang

Sorte

Inhalt

Alkoholgehalt

13,5% Vol.

Restsüße

■■■□□

Trinktemperatur

11°

Hersteller

Domaine Trapet Alsace, 14 Rue des Prés, 68340 Riquewihr / France, Bio-Zertifikat: FR-BIO-01