Showing all 22 results

Filter»

Schätzel

Kai Schätzel swims against the current. Even though his grape varieties and vineyards are very typical for the region, he is pursuing his very own idea behind the wines. Riesling and Silvaner on the Rote Hang does not sound unusual. However, Kai Schätzel is not averse to natural wines and obviously loves the reduction in the wines. Surrounded by big VDP wineries, he is really out of the ordinary. Kai goes no compromises and knows exactly how his wines should taste. They are by no means deliberate concept wines, but the honest result of his understanding of wine, Rheinhessen and its environment. True purists.

Already the Niersteiner Riesling and Silvaner show proper edge. Pure, clear and precise wineswhich actually hardly show any fruit. Spicy minerality pure. From the Sites Ölberg, Hipping and Pettenthal he then pushes the reduction to the extreme. The wines seem quite rough and wild when they are young. In the carafe or after a few years of bottle ageing, they unfold their beauty.

Luckily we still have a few 2016s and 2017s in the basement for you.

Schätzel and the cabinet revival

The classic Riesling Kabinett has been experiencing its second (third? fourth?) spring for some years now. High drinking fluency, with perfect Balance of sweetness and acidity also reaches target groups that are completely distant from wine and above all young. The wines convince with a German unique selling proposition: intense fruit with low alcohol, provided with a lot of freshness.

Kai Schätzel delivers this uncomplicated drinking pleasure with the KabiNett from. As with the dry wines, this style is also available in the local wines and as Großes Gewächs. From all three sites - Hipping, Ölberg and Pettenthal - you can feel and experience Riesling Kabinett. The character of the sites is clearly recognizable. The wines are characterized much independence, multifaceted drinking pleasure and great storage potential off.

Stephan Reinhardt from Robert Parker's The Wine Advocate rightly calls it a "one of the most exciting and interesting new discoveries in German wine culture"..

Written by Marian Hess, Copyright Living Wines.

Zeigt alle 17 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Schätzel

Kai Schätzel schwimmt gegen den Strom. Zwar sind seine Rebsorten und die Lagen sehr typisch für die Region, aber dennoch verfolgt er eine ganz eigene Idee hinter den Weinen. Riesling und Silvaner am Roten Hang klingt nun jetzt nicht ungewöhnlich. Doch Kai Schätzel ist dem Naturwein nicht abgeneigt und liebt offensichtlich die Reduktion in den Weinen. Umgeben von großen VDP-Betrieben tanzt er da wirklich aus der Reihe. Kai geht keine Kompromisse ein und weiß genau, wie seine Weine schmecken sollen. Es sind keineswegs gewollte Konzeptweine, sondern das ehrliche Ergebnis seines Verständnisses von Wein, Rheinhessen und seiner Umgebung. Wahre Puristen.

Bereits der Niersteiner Riesling und Silvaner zeigen ordentlich Kante. Reine, klare und präzise Weine, die eigentlich kaum Frucht zeigen. Würzige Mineralität pur. Aus den Lagen Ölberg, Hipping und Pettenthal treibt er dann die Reduktion auf die Spitzte. Die Weine wirken jung recht ruppig und wild. In der Karaffe oder nach ein paar Jahren Flaschenreife entfalten sie ihre Schönheit.

Zum Glück haben wir noch ein paar 2016er und 2017er im Keller für Sie.

Schätzel und das Kabinett-Revival

Der klassische Riesling Kabinett erfährt seit einigen Jahren seinen zweiten (dritten? vierten?) Frühling. Hoher Trinkfluss, bei perfekter Balance aus Süße und Säure erreicht auch völlig weinferne und vor allem junge Zielgruppen. Die Weine überzeugen durch ein deutsches Alleinstellungsmerkmal: Intensive Frucht bei niedrigem Alkohol, mit viel Frische versehen.

Kai Schätzel liefert dieses unkomplizierte Trinkvergnügen mit dem KabiNett ab. Wie bei den trockenen Weinen gibt es auch diesen Stil in den Ortsweinen und als Großes Gewächs. Aus allen drei Lagen – Hipping, Ölberg und Pettenthal – kann man Riesling Kabinett spüren und erleben. Der Charakter der Lagen ist deutlich zu erkennen. Die Weine zeichnet viel Eigenständigkeit, facettenreiche Trinkfreude und großes Lagerpotenzial aus.

Stephan Reinhardt von Robert Parker´s The Wine Advocate bezeichnet ihn zurecht als „eine der aufregendsten und interessantesten Neuentdeckungen in der deutschen Weinkultur“.

Geschrieben von Marian Henß, Copyright Lebendige Weine.