Showing all 10 results

Filter»

Mesquida Mora

Barbara Mesquida Mora clearly had other ideas than her father. He did not want to deal with the idea of converting to organic viticulture and becoming involved with biodynamics. Consequently, he transferred some plots to his daughter so that she could realise herself. Barbara accepted with thanks and got straight to work. She feels obliged to leave healthy and vital land to future generations. Biodiversity, even in the areas not planted with vines, is of great importance to her. Above all, she trusts in the native grape varieties, which are supplemented by a few international grape varieties. In Mallorca, Chardonnay, Syrah, Merlot and Cabernet can almost be called indigenous.

In the heart of Mallorca

The winery is located in the heart of the popular island. Barbara Mesquida Mora herself grew up among vines, barrels and with grapes. She describes her career as synchronicity, as destiny. In line with this interpretation of her surroundings and her associated nature, she also named her entry line after it. At Sincronia she bottles a white wine, rosé and red wine. All three wines from the Sincronia line are positively uncomplicated, exude a clear Mediterranean character and are charming crowdpleasers with a strong fruit profile.

Refuge for the future

Barbara is pursuing big goals. After successfully converting her twenty-hectare farm to biodynamics, she is already making plans for the next step. At her winery in Porreres, west of Manacor, she is planning a sustainable farm that will take care of animals, people and nature in equal measure and will function in a closed cycle. So it remains exciting to see what the power woman will achieve.

Top wines from Mesquida Mora

In the higher category of their range, the wines then show more origin and class, but sacrifice some of the fruit. The Mexican Blanc is made from the rare Prensal and Giró varieties. The obviously intense yellow fruitiness of this wine is joined by a herbal and aniseed note that goes very excitingly with Mediterranean cuisine.

By the way, Acrollam is the anagram of Mallorca. With the Trispol Barbara presents a full-bodied cuvée of Callet with Cabernet Sauvignon and Syrah. This is intensely aromatic, redolent of dark berries, spices and chocolate. This wine is broad but not oversized. Wonderful with grilled food.
Text and wine expertise: Marian Henß.

Zeigt alle 10 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Mesquida Mora

Barbara Mesquida Mora hatte eindeutig andere Vorstellungen als ihr Vater. Mit dem Gedanken auf ökologischen Weinbau umzustellen und sich mit der Biodynamie zu befassen, wollte er sich nicht befassen. Demzufolge übertrug er einige Parzellen an seine Tochter, damit sie sich verwirklichen konnte. Barbara nahm dankend an und legte direkt los. Sie sieht sich in der Verpflichtung auch den nachfolgenden Generationen gesundes und vitales Land zu überlassen. Biodiversität auch in den nicht mit Reben bepflanzten Flächen sind für sie von hoher Bedeutung. Vor allem vertraut sie auf die heimischen Rebsorten, die durch ein wenig internationale Rebsorten ergänzt werden. Wobei man auf Mallorca Chardonnay, Syrah, Merlot und Cabernet fast heimisch bezeichnen kann.

Im Herzen von Mallorca

Das Weingut liegt im Herzen der beliebten Insel. Barbara Mesquida Mora wuchs selbst zwischen Reben, Fässern und mit Trauben auf. Sie bezeichnet ihren Werdegang als Synchronität, als Bestimmung. Entsprechend dieser Interpretation ihrer Umgebung und ihrem damit verbundenen Wesen benannte sie auch ihre Einstiegslinie danach. Unter Sincronia füllt sie einen Weißwein, Rosé und Rotwein ab. Alle drei Weine aus der Sincronia-Linie sind positiv unkompliziert, versprühen einen klaren mediterranen Charakter und sind charmante Crowdpleaser mit starkem Fruchtprofil.

Refugium für die Zukunft

Barbara verfolgt große Ziele. Nach der erfolgreichen Umstellung ihres zwanzig Hektar umfassenden Betriebes auf die Biodynamie schmiedet sie bereits Pläne für den nächsten Schritt. In ihrem Weingut in Porreres, westlich von Manacor, plant sie einen nachhaltigen Betrieb, der sich um Tiere, Menschen und die Natur gleichermaßen bemüht und in einem geschlossenen Kreislauf funktionieren soll. Es bleibt also spannend was die Powerfrau noch erreichen wird.

Topweine von Mesquida Mora

In der höheren Kategorie ihres Sortiments zeigen die Weine dann mehr Herkunft und Klasse, verzichten dabei aber etwas auf die Frucht. Der Acrollam Blanc wird aus den seltenen Sorten Prensal und Giró gewonnen. Zur offensichtlich intensiven Gelbfruchtigkeit dieses Weines gesellt sich eine Kräuter- und Anisnote, die sehr spannend zur mediterranen Küche passt.

Übrigens ist Acrollam das Anagramm zu Mallorca. Mit dem Trispol präsentiert Barbara eine füllige Cuvée aus Callet mit Cabernet Sauvignon und Syrah. Das ist intensiv aromatisch duftend nach dunklen Beeren, Gewürzen und Schokolade. Dieser Wein ist breit aber nicht überdimensioniert. Herrlich zu Gegrilltem.
Text und Weinexpertise: Marian Henß.