Zum Inhalt springen

Showing all 5 results

Cornulan

maisulan the founders
Maisulan is the work of Eva Fernández and Luis Ruiz de Viñaspre. They describe themselves as "two crazy people who are in love with their land" and therefore work it in a very special way. Both Eva Fernández and Luis Ruiz de Viñaspre come from Rioja Alavesa. In Luis' case, you can even tell from the name, because Viñaspre is a neighbouring village to Elvillar, where they also own plots of land.

For them, the land protected by the Sierra Cantabria from all too fierce Atlantic winds is the land of their families who have lived there for generations, criss-crossed by many small ravines and characterised by olive trees that are often centuries old.

The vineyards are mostly on slopes and the vines are mostly still trained as bush vines.
The small, cropped and partly old vines provide the juice for two entry-level qualities and a range of parcel wines. The winemaking couple already turned to organic farming with biodynamic means many years ago.

Terroir wines from Rioja Alavesa

Rioja Alavesa, together with the even higher Rioja Alta and Rioja Oriental, which already has a distinct Mediterranean influence, forms a trio in Rioja. Of the approximately 61,000 hectares of vineyards, around 12,000 hectares are located in Rioja Alavesa. It is the smallest of the three sub-appellations and the only one that lies entirely in the Basque Country. While Rioja Oriental tends to produce Mediterranean wines and many Rosados, and the higher-lying Rioja Alta is known more for long-ripening, tannin-rich Rioja, Rioja Alavesa tends to cultivate a charming, fruity and spicy style. This style can be seen above all in the two entry-level qualities 6 Meses and 12 Meses from Maisulan, while the single-vineyard wines appear downright delicate, finesse-rich and precise.


More about Maisulan

When the two started looking into the work of the Japanese rice farmer Masanobu Fukuoka, they realised they wanted to go one step further. The work of the Japanese farmer, who was born in 1913 and died in 2008, is groundbreaking in terms of minimally invasive agriculture.
Masanobu Fukuoka
Masanobu Fukuoka - the inspirational figure of Eva and Luis

The son of a rice farmer, who trained as a microbiologist, has developed the agriculture of doing nothing, which he uses to describe the fact that soils improve and are more fertile if they are first brought into equilibrium and then largely left to their own devices.

It is therefore a form of agriculture that can be described as "do nothing unnecessary". Accordingly, Eva Fernández and Luis Ruiz de Viñaspre work their plots with restraint.

Cornulans single layers

The vineyards are located in Elvillar, Viñaspre and Moreda. They are mainly characterised by calcareous marl and clay and are partly very stony with quite high water permeability. The vineyards are mainly planted with Tempranillo and Graciano, which is also vinified as Txabola. Graciano is usually a serving variety, like in the 12 Meses, where you find about 10 % Graciano. The Txabola shows the very clear character of the variety with its purple fruit and the special spiciness. The very successful use of two-year-old barriques, which is characteristic of the Txabola as well as the single-varietal Tempranillo Los Magines, is always accompanied by a very clear acidity. The tannin does not turn into cotton wool or cream in these wines, but remains distinctive.

The Tempranillo from the Sobremoro vineyard stays longer in the wood, which also has a more pronounced effect here. Nevertheless, it is used in a very balanced way and harmonises with the fruit and the liveliness of the wine. The wines are very clear, not extracted or lush, charming and on the one hand sensual, on the other hand they have clear contours.

Text and wine expertise - Christoph Raffelt

Zum Inhalt springen

Zeigt alle 5 Ergebnisse

Maisulan

maisulan the founders
Maisulan ist das Werk von Eva Fernández und Luis Ruiz de Viñaspre. Sie selbst bezeichnen sich als „zwei Verrückte, die in ihr Land verliebt sind“ und es deshalb auf eine ganz besondere Art und Weise bearbeiten. Sowohl Eva Fernández als auch Luis Ruiz de Viñaspre stammen aus der Rioja Alavesa. Bei Luis kann man es sogar am Namen ablesen; denn Viñaspre ist ein Nachbarort von Elvillar, in dem die beiden ebenfalls Parzellen besitzen.

Für sie ist das Land, das von der Sierra Cantabria vor allzu heftigen atlantischen Winden geschützt ist, das Land ihrer seit Generationen dort lebenden Familien, das von vielen kleinen Schluchten durchzogen und von oft Jahrhunderte alten Olivenbäumen geprägt ist.

Die Weinberge befinden sich meist in Hanglage und die Weinreben sind zum größten Teil noch als Buschreben erzogen.
Die kleinen, geduckten und teils alten Reben liefern den Saft für zwei Einstiegsqualitäten und eine Reihe von Parzellen-Weinen. Das Winzerpaar hat schon vor vielen Jahren auf biologische Landwirtschaft mit biodynamischen Mitteln gesetzt.

Terroirweine aus der Rioja Alavesa

Die Rioja Alavesa bildet zusammen mit der noch höher gelegenen Rioja Alta und der schon deutlich mediterran beeinflussten Rioja Oriental ein Trio in der Rioja. Von den rund 61.000 Hektar Weinbergen liegen rund 12.000 Hektar in der Rioja Alavesa. Sie ist die kleinste der drei Subappellationen und die einzige, die komplett im Baskenland liegt. Während in der Rioja Oriental tendenziell schon mediterrane Weine und auch viele Rosados entstehen und die hoch gelegene Rioja Alta eher für lang reifende, gerbstoffreichere Rioja bekannt ist, pflegt die Rioja Alavesa eher einen charmanten, fruchtigen und würzigen Stil. Diesen Stil kann man vor allem in den beiden Einstiegsqualitäten 6 Meses und 12 Meses von Maisulan erkennen, während die Lagenweine geradezu feingliedrig, finessenreich und präzise wirken.


Mehr über Maisulan

Als die beiden angefangen haben, sich mit der Arbeit des japanischen Reisbauern Masanobu Fukuoka beschäftigen, wurde ihnen klar, dass sie noch einen weiteren Schritt gehen wollten. Die Arbeit des 1913 geborenen und 2008 verstorbenen Japaners ist wegweisend im Hinblick auf eine minimalinvasive Landwirtschaft.
Masanobu Fukuoka
Masanobu Fukuoka – die Inspirationsfigur von Eva und Luis

Der als Mikrobiologe ausgebildete Sohn eines Reisbauern hat die Landwirtschaft des Nichtstuns entwickelt, womit er umschreibt, dass die Böden besser werden und fruchtbarer sind, wenn man sie zunächst ins Gleichgewicht bringt, um sie dann weitgehend sich selbst zu überlassen.

Es ist also eine Landwirtschaft, die mit „tu nichts Unnötiges“ umschrieben werden kann. Entsprechend zurückhaltend werden auch die Parzellen von Eva Fernández und Luis Ruiz de Viñaspre bearbeitet.

Maisulans Einzellagen

Die Weinberge liegen in Elvillar, Viñaspre und Moreda. Sie sind im Wesentlichen von Kalkmergel und Lehm geprägt und teils sehr steinig mit recht hoher Wasserdurchlässigkeit. In den Lagen steht vor allem Tempranillo und Graciano, der als Txabola auch reinsortig ausgebaut wird. Graciano ist ja meist eine dienende Sorte, etwa so wie im 12 Meses, wo man rund 10 % Graciano findet. Der Txabola zeigt den sehr klaren Charakter der Sorte mit ihrer purpurnen Frucht und der besondere Würze. Dabei zeigt sich hier der sehr gelungene Umgang mit zweijährigen Barriques, die dem Txabola wie auch dem reinsortigen Einzellagen-Tempranillo Los Magines zu eigen ist und immer von einer sehr klaren Säure begleitet wird. Das Tannin wird bei diesen Weinen nicht etwa zu Watte oder Creme, sondern bleibt markant.

Der Tempranillo aus der Lage Sobremoro bleibt länger im Holz, das hier auch prägender wirkt. Trotzdem ist es sehr balanciert eingesetzt und harmoniert mit der Frucht und der Lebendigkeit des Weines. Die Weine sind sehr klar, nicht extrahiert oder üppig, dabei charmant und einerseits sinnlich, andererseits haben sie klare Konturen.

Text und Weinexpertisen – Christoph Raffelt