Showing all 10 results

Filter"

Luneau-Papin

The area around Nantes on the Loire, home of Luneau-Papin had sunk into a Sleeping Beauty slumber for a long time. It was not until the 1990s that the growing area, which is called Muscadet Sèvre et Maine a rise in quality. Only one grape variety is allowed in the appellation. A few farms recognized the potential of their soils and of this native grape variety, the bourgogne melon. According to the name, this is a grape variety originating from Burgundy. Only very few winegrowers still cultivate it in Burgundy today. Julien Altaber from our range would be an example.

Who knows the wines of Burgundy and understands that wine there is designed on the characteristics of individual sites and one tries to work out exactly the differences of the various plots in terms of soil, climate, sky orientation, can also understand what develops in Muscadet Sèvre et Maine just so differentiated.


More about Luneau-Papin

Pioneers in the region include Pierre Luneau and Monique Papin. The two have understood that the Melon de Bourgogne perfectly translates the terroir into our common language -. Wine - can transfer. First they worked organically and later also biodynamically. Pierre-Marie, the son of the two, is meanwhile running the business with his wife and represents the eighth generation. Both generations work almost 40 hectares, which are spread over 47 plots, hand in hand with their team.

Soils & Wines

The oldest vineyards were already planted in the 1940s. The high age of the vines, the diverse sites of different geology such as Granite, slate, quartz and gneiss as well as the intact ecosystem provide the basis for the variable terroir wines of Luneau-Papin. The Melon de Bourgogne is a clear grape variety with a strong character in its taste profile, without living from too much primary fruit. It stands for dry, mineral and crystal clear wines. It is often sur lie vinified. This means that the wine is in contact with the full lees in the tank for a particularly long time. This gives it structure and texture. The former forms the basis for a long maturity. The latter provides the mouthfeel, which turns out as a Melt and grip can be called. The Vera Cruz can map this perfectly sensory.

Maturity is a decisive factor. The wines open up young and are very accessible early on. However, they stretch this drinking window until the end. Only few white wines of the world can show such a maturity potential. The Exelsior from the old vintages is a great example of this.

Copyright Marian Henß and Living Wines

Zeigt alle 10 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Luneau-Papin

Die Gegend um Nantes an der Loire, Heimat von Luneau-Papin war lange Zeit im Dornröschenschlaf versunken. Erst in den 1990er Jahren erfuhr das Anbaugebiet, das man Muscadet Sèvre et Maine nennt, einen Qualitätsanstieg. In der Appellation ist nur eine einzige Rebsorte zugelassen. Einige wenige Betriebe erkannten das Potenzial ihrer Böden und dieser heimischen Rebsorte, dem Melon de Bourgogne. Dem Namen nach ist dies eine aus dem Burgund stammende Rebsorte. Nur sehr wenige Winzer kultivieren sie heute noch im Burgund. Julien Altaber aus unserem Sortiment wäre ein Beispiel.

Wer die Weine des Burgunds kennt und versteht, dass Wein dort auf die Charakteristika einzelner Lagen ausgelegt ist und man genau die Unterschiede der verschiedenen Parzellen in Bezug auf Boden, Klima, Himmelausrichtung herauszuarbeiten sucht, der kann auch nachvollziehen, was sich im Muscadet Sèvre et Maine gerade so differenziert entwickelt.


Mehr über Luneau-Papin

Zu den Pionieren der Region zählen Pierre Luneau und Monique Papin. Die beiden haben es verstanden, dass der Melon de Bourgogne das Terroir hervorragend in unsere gemeinsame Sprache – Wein – übertragen kann. Zunächst arbeiteten sie biologisch und später auch biodynamisch. Pierre-Marie, der Sohn der beiden führt den Betrieb mit seiner Frau mittlerweile und stellt die achte Generation. Beide Generationen bearbeiten knapp 40 Hektar, die sich über 47 Parzellen erstrecken, Hand in Hand mit ihrem Team.

Böden & Weine

Die ältesten Weinberge wurden bereits in den 1940er Jahren bepflanzt. Das hohe Rebalter, die vielfältigen Lagen unterschiedlichster Geologie wie Granit, Schiefer, Quarz und Gneiss sowie das intakte Ökosystem liefern die Basis für die variablen Terroir-Weine von Luneau-Papin. Der Melon de Bourgogne ist im Geschmacksprofil eine klare, charakterstarke Rebsorte, ohne von zu viel Primärfrucht zu leben. Sie steht für trockene, mineralische und glasklare Weine. Häufig wird sie sur lie ausgebaut. Das bedeutet, der Wein steht besonders lange in Kontakt mit der Vollhefe im Tank. Dies verschafft ihm Struktur und Textur. Ersteres bildet die Basis für eine lange Reife. Letzteres sorgt für das Mundgefühl, welches sich als Schmelz und Grip bezeichnen lässt. Der Vera Cruz kann dies perfekt sensorisch abbilden.

Reife ist ein entscheidender Faktor. Die Weine öffnen sich schon jung und sind früh sehr zugänglich. Dieses Trinkfenster strecken sie aber bis ins Ultimo. Nur wenige Weißweine der Welt können ein solches Reifepotenzial aufweisen. Der Exelsior aus den alten Jahrgängen ist ein großartiges Exempel hierzu.

Copyright Marian Henß und Lebendige Weine