Showing all 6 results

Filter»

Laderas de Montejurra

The Laderas de Montejurra winery is located in the beautiful village of Dicastillo in the Navarre. The geology is enormously similar to the Neighbouring region Rioja and benefits from the strong influence of the Atlantic. Nevertheless, one hears comparatively little about this growing area from the Spanish wine world.

Emilio Valerio He has been at the helm of the bodega since 1980. old vines recognized. With great difficulty, he was able to recultivate the old vines and bring them into yield again. In Navarra, numerous areas are still lying in oblivion today. As so often in Europe, it was the monks who established or shaped viticulture in a region. Over 1000 years ago, Benedictine monks were already cultivating vines and olives in the area.


More about Laderas de Montejurra

laderas de montejurra 1

Lime & Biodynamics

The winery was named after the massive limestone that is home to the vineyards. The vineyard covers 25 hectares. Spread over 15 plots around the Massif of the Montejurra are mainly Garnacha, Tempranillo as well as Cabernet Sauvignon cultivated. The sites extend up to 700 meters in altitude, which is an additional cooling factor.

Spain is the second highest country in Europe after Switzerland. So mountains, elevations and cold nights are not uncommon. In fact, the region around the warm Mediterranean Sea represents only a fraction of the country's area. Grenache is the dominant red grape variety in the Winery Laderas de Montejurra. In combination with the limestone result structured, powerful wines, but also wines that are equally characterised by their origin and minerality. Emilio Valerio's wine estate does not strive for fruit-concentrated, marmalade-like wines. Instead, the focus is on independence, character, and reference to origin. Very early, Valerio started to cultivate the vineyards according to the biodynamic guidelines to manage.

The winemaker

Jean Francois Hebrard has been responsible for the wines since 2014. Spain experts now immediately draw the parallel. From my assortment, he is also responsible for the wines of the Quinta de la Quietud in the Toro and the Bodegas Attis in Galicia. A true greatness in the north of Spain. The wines are produced in French barrique barrels aged. The size and age of the barrel depend on the style of wine. The wood is used very skillfully and never dominates the wine. Rather, it gives the wines a little more substance and stability. Above all, however, the aging in the barrel brings another dimension to the mouthfeel in terms of taste.

The Cuvée Emilio Valerio delivers for a fair price enormously much wine in the glass. A dense, balanced red wine for so really every occasion. Highly recommended is also his La Merced, a Malvasia from old vines. In the dry range, one of the best examples of this grape variety in the global context.

Copyright Marian Henß and Living Wines

Zeigt alle 5 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Laderas de Montejurra

Das Weingut Laderas de Montejurra liegt in dem schönen Ort Dicastillo in der Navarra. Die Geologie ähnelt enorm der Nachbarregion Rioja und profitiert von dem starken Einfluss des Atlantiks. Dennoch hört man von diesem Anbaugebiet vergleichsweise wenig aus der spanischen Weinwelt.

Emilio Valerio leitet die Geschicke der Bodega seit 1980. Schon damals hat er das Potenzial der Lagen und alten Rebanlagen erkannt. Mühsam konnte er die alten Reben rekultivieren und wieder in Ertrag bringen. Im Navarra liegen noch heute zahlreiche Flächen in Vergessenheit. Wie so oft in Europa waren es die Mönche, die den Weinbau in einer Region etablierten oder prägten. Vor über 1000 Jahren haben die Benediktiner-Mönche in der Gegend bereits Wein und Oliven angebaut.


Mehr über Laderas de Montejurra

laderas de montejurra 1

Kalk & Biodynamie

Das Weingut wurde nach dem massiven Kalkstein benannt, der die Weinberge beheimatet. 25 Hektar umfasst die Rebfläche des Weinguts. Verteilt auf 15 Parzellen rund um das Massiv des Montejurra werden vor allem Garnacha, Tempranillo sowie Cabernet Sauvignon angebaut. Die Lagen erstrecken sich auf bis zu 700 Höhenmetern, was zusätzlich ein kühlender Faktor ist.

Spanien ist nach der Schweiz das zweit höchste Land in Europa. Berge, Erhebungen und kalte Nächte sind also keine Seltenheit. Tatsächlich stellt die Region um das warme Mittelmeer nur einen Bruchteil der Fläche des Landes. Grenache ist die dominante, rote Rebsorte im Weingut Laderas de Montejurra. In Kombination mit dem Kalkgestein ergeben sich strukturierte, kraftvolle, aber gleichermaßen auch von der Herkunft und Mineralität geprägte Weine. Das Weingut von Emilio Valerio strebt nicht nach fruchtkonzentrierten, marmeladigen Weinen. Stattdessen stehen Eigenständigkeit, Charakter und Herkunftsbezug im Fokus. Schon früh hat Valerio begonnen, die Weinberge nach den biodynamischen Richtlinien zu bewirtschaften.

Der Weinmacher

Jean Francois Hebrard ist seit 2014 für die Weine verantwortlich. Spanienexperten ziehen nun sofort die Parallele. Aus meinem Sortiment zeichnet er ebenso für die Weine der Quinta de la Quietud im Toro und der Bodegas Attis in Galizien verantwortlich. Eine wahre Größe im Norden Spaniens. Die Weine werden in französischen Barrique-Fässern ausgebaut. Größe und Alter des Fasses sind abhängig vom jeweiligen Weinstil. Das Holz ist sehr gekonnt eingesetzt und dominiert niemals den Wein. Vielmehr erfahren die Weine dadurch ein wenig mehr Substanz und Stabilität. Vor allem aber bringt der Ausbau im Fass geschmacklich eine weitere Dimension für das Mundgefühl.

Die Cuvée Emilio Valerio liefert für einen fairen Preis enorm viel Wein im Glas. Ein dichter, ausgewogener Rotwein für so wirklich jeden Anlass. Äußerst zu empfehlen ist auch sein La Merced, ein Malvasia von alten Reben. Im trockenen Bereich eines der besten Exemplare dieser Rebsorte im globalen Kontext.

Copyright Marian Henß und Lebendige Weine