Showing all 5 results

Filter»

François de Nicolay

Claude and Francois de Nicolay run the Domaine Chandon de Briailles in the heart of Burgundy. A vineyard with the best sites on the Corton hill. Corton blanc, Corton Charlemagne, Corton Les Bressandes as well as Corton Clos du Roi. Magical places that arouse wonder and enthusiasm in all wine lovers. And above all, one of the very few places in Burgundy where white and red wines in the highest category - i.e. Grand Cru - can be found in close proximity. In addition to the Grand Crus, they also have access to other sites of the best origin in Pernand-Vergelesses, Aloxe-Corton and Savigny-les-Beaune. So a perfect playground for Chardonnay and Pinot Noir.

Small plots, great wines

The topography in these terroirs is small-scale and different. It is exactly this diversity that the two want to emphasize. Since 2005, they have been working according to biodynamic guidelines. As a result, they have achieved a considerable boost in terms of quality and diversity. The wine is matured in small wooden barrels, as is typical for the region. It is not about the taste of the wood, but rather about an accompaniment, stabilization of the wine and a sufficient oxygen supply for a long maturation potential.


More about François de Nicolay

So what's behind François de Nicolay?

For over twenty years, they have also been processing grapes that they purchase from friendly winegrowers. The demand for quality and near-natural cultivation can be taken for granted. In order to clearly separate the two assortments, Francois de Nicolay was founded for this purpose. In the truest sense of the word, one acts as a négociant éleveur.

Grape reception, processing, fermentation and ageing take place at the Chandon de Briailles winery.. The approach is identical.
The only difference is and remains that the vineyards do not belong to the two. The basis of trust with the grape farmers is given and secured for years. Besides the two big grape varieties of the region, one also has the access to Aligoté and Gamay from the southern Beaujolais. The wines shine with a clear profile of their grape varieties and with Burgundian character.

Honesty, origin, radiance and elegance. Another argument for these wines is the access to Burgundy with wines from a top winemaker at moderate prices. Especially for Burgundy beginners the perfect way to dedicate themselves to this matter.

Written by Marian Henß
© LivingWines.com

Zeigt alle 5 Ergebnisse

Filter»

François de Nicolay

Claude und Francois de Nicolay führen die Geschicke der Domaine Chandon de Briailles im Herzen des Burgunds. Ein Weingut mit bestem Lagenbesitz am Corton-Hügel. Corton blanc, Corton Charlemagne, Corton Les Bressandes sowie auch Corton Clos du Roi. Magische Orte, die bei allen Weinliebhabern Staunen und Begeisterung auslösen. Und vor allem einer der ganz wenigen Orte im Burgund an denen Weiß- und Rotwein in der höchsten Kategorie – also Grand Cru – in unmittelbarer Nähe anzutreffen sind. Neben den Grand Crus können sie auch auf weitere Lagen bester Herkunft in Pernand-Vergelesses, Aloxe-Corton und Savigny-les-Beaune zurückgreifen. Also eine perfekte Spielwiese für Chardonnay und Pinot Noir.

Kleine Parzellen, Große Weine

Die Topografie in diesen Terroirs ist kleinteilig und unterschiedlich. Genau diese Vielfalt möchten die beiden hervorheben. Seit 2005 arbeiten sie nach biodyna-mischen Richtlinien. Ein ordentlicher Schub in Sachen Qualität und Diversität hat sich schlussfolgend eingestellt. Der Ausbau erfolgt, wie es für die Region typisch ist, in kleinen Holzfässern. Dabei geht es nicht um den Geschmack des Holzes, sondern vielmehr um eine Begleitung, Stabilisierung des Weines und eine ausreichende Sauerstoffversorgung für eine langes Reifepotenzial.


Mehr über François de Nicolay

Was steckt nun hinter François de Nicolay?

Seit über zwanzig Jahren verarbeiten sie auch Trauben, die sie bei befreundeten Winzern erwerben. Der Anspruch an die Qualität und den naturnahen Anbau kann man voraussetzen. Um die beiden Sortimente klar voneinander zu trennen, hat man hierzu Francois de Nicolay gegründet. Im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes agiert man als Négociant éleveur.

Traubenannahme, Verarbeitung, Vergärung und Ausbau finden im Weingut Chandon de Briailles statt. Die Herangehensweise ist identisch.
Der einzige Unterschied ist und bleibt, dass die Weinberge eben nicht den beiden gehören. Die Vertrauensbasis mit den Traubenbauern ist gegeben und über Jahre gesichert. Neben den beiden großen Rebsorten der Region hat man so auch den Zugang zu Aligoté und Gamay aus dem südlichen Beaujolais. Die Weine brillieren durch ein klares Profil ihrer Rebsorten und mit burgundischem Charakter.

Ehrlichkeit, Herkunft, Strahlkraft und Eleganz. Ein weiteres Argument für diese Weine ist der Zugang zum Burgund mit Weinen eines Top-Winzers zu moderaten Kursen. Gerade für Burgund-Einsteiger der perfekte Weg, sich dieser Materie zu widmen.

Geschrieben von Marian Henß
© LebendigeWeine.de