Cuvée „5 Sens“ Brut Nature 2014 – Olivier Horiot

79,17 

Includes 19% MwSt.
Delivery Time: approx. 3-4 workdays
Cuvée "5 Sens" Brut Nature 2014 - Olivier Horiot

79,17 

SKU: 9920330028 Regionen: , Weingut:

Update 11.05.2021

Tasting note from from 05.02.2021, Copyright Marian Henß

Info

The 5 Sens can be considered a little bit as the quintessence of Olivier Horiot. Five different terroirs from Les Riceys in the south of Champagne flow into this assemblage. Five grape varieties are used. Old vines of the rare Arbanne, Chardonnay, Pinot Meunier, Pinot Noir and Pinot Blanc. In five barrels, the wines undergo a slow fermentation and maturation with the yeast. In July 2015, the assemblage was then drawn to the bottle for the second fermentation. As Brut Nature, of course, without dosage. For Oliver Horiot, the five elements are water, air, earth, and fire, supplemented by esprit. The degorgement was on November 13, 2019.

Color

Bright lemon yellow, very fine perlage

Nose

The first nose shows a combination of yeast, maturity and depth. Marked by richness of facets, it makes you think in many directions. Oyster shell, wet chalk and flint as well as a little sea breeze give rise to great expectations of the purism and sparseness of this wine. Lemon zest and ginger are aromatically prominent. A bit of lees, salted caramel and brittle are evident but not overbearing. Green and yellow apples, caramelized quince and almonds trade blows with dried herbs like marjoram and oregano.

Palate

On the nose, it is very ambivalent and that makes it so incredibly exciting. The mousseux provides the 5 Sens with plenty of melt and fullness. But if you fight past it, it lives on pronounced barrenness and minerality. Class. The yeasty and nutty flavors from the bakery return in small doses. Apple, lemon and ginger keep breaking through this delightfully. This is beautifully linear, no frills and no compromises.
Olivier Horiot knows how to skillfully combine elegance and depth. 5 Sens is carefree easy to understand and at the same time surrounded by a special aura. Can Champagne please always taste like this?

Food recommendations from Marian Henß

  • Papaya salad with peanuts and fried prawns
    (Seafood)
  • Carpaccio of scallop, Passepierre seaweed cream, grapefruit fillets
    (Seafood)
  • Fillet of veal in a herb coating with glazed salsify roots
    (Meat)

Allergens

Contains sulfur

winery
Type

,

Vintage

Variety

,

Content

Alcohol content

12% Vol.

Residual sweetness

■□□□□

Drinking temperature

11°

Manufacturer

Champagne Olivier Horiot, 25 rue de Bise, 10340 Les Riceys / France, Organic certificate: FR-BIO-01

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Cuvée „5 Sens“ Brut Nature 2014 – Olivier Horiot”

Cuvée „5 Sens“ Brut Nature 2014

79,02 

Inkl. MwSt.
(105,36  / 1000 ml)
zzgl. Versand

Apfel, Zitrone und Ingwer durchbrechen das immer wieder herrlich. Klasse.

Cuvée „5 Sens“ Brut Nature 2014

79,02 

Artikelnummer: 9920330028 Kategorien: , Weingut:
Verkostungsnotiz von vom 05.02.2021, Copyright Marian Henß

Info

Der 5 Sens ist ein wenig als die Quintessenz von Olivier Horiot zu betrachten. Fünf verschiedene Terroirs aus Les Riceys im Süden der Champagne fließen in diese Assemblage. Fünf Rebsorten finden Verwendung. Alte Reben der seltenen Arbanne, Chardonnay, Pinot Meunier, Pinot Noir und Pinot Blanc. In fünf Fässern erfahren die Weine eine langsame Gärung und Reife mit der Hefe. Im Juli 2015 wurde die Assemblage dann auf die Flasche zur zweiten Gärung gezogen. Als Brut Nature selbstverständlich ohne Dosage. Die fünf Elemente beinhalten für Oliver Horiot Wasser, Luft, Erde und Feuer ergänzt um Esprit. Das Degorgement war am 13. November 2019.

Farbe

Leuchtendes Zitronengelb, sehr feine Perlage

Nase

Die erste Nase zeigt eine Kombination aus Hefe, Reife und Tiefgründigkeit. Von Facettenreichtum geprägt lässt er einen in viele Richtungen denken. Austernschale, nasse Kreide und Feuerstein sowie ein wenig Meeresbrise lassen große Erwartungen an den Purismus und die Kargheit dieses Weines aufleben. Zitronenabrieb und Ingwer stehen aromatisch im Vordergrund. Ein wenig Hefegebäck, Salzkaramell und Krokant sind deutlich, aber nicht aufdringlich. Grüne und gelbe Äpfel, karamellisierte Quitten und Mandeln liefern sich einen Schlagabtausch mit getrockneten Kräutern wie Majoran und Oregano.

Gaumen

Im Antrunk zeigt er sich sehr ambivalent und das macht es so unfassbar spannend. Das Mousseux versorgt den 5 Sens mit reichlich Schmelz und Fülle. Kämpft man sich aber daran vorbei, lebt er von ausgeprägter Kargheit und Mineralität. Klasse. Die hefigen und nussigen Aromen aus der Backstube kommen in kleinen Dosen wieder zur Geltung. Apfel, Zitrone und Ingwer durchbrechen das immer wieder herrlich. Das ist schön linear, ohne Schnörkel und ohne Kompromisse.

Olivier Horiot versteht es Eleganz und Tiefe gekonnt miteinander zu verbinden. 5 Sens ist unbekümmert leicht zu verstehen und gleichzeitig von einer besonderen Aura umgeben. Kann Champagne bitte immer so schmecken?

Speiseempfehlungen von Marian Henß

  • Papaya-Salat mit Erdnüssen und gebratenen Garnelen
  • Carpaccio von der Jakobsmuschel, Passepierre-Algen-Crème, Grapefruitfilets
  • Kalbsfilet im Kräutermantel mit glasigen Schwarzwurzelwurzeln

Allergene

enthält Schwefel

weingut
Typ

,

Jahrgang

Sorte

,

Inhalt

Alkoholgehalt

12% Vol.

Restsüße

■□□□□

Trinktemperatur

11°

Hersteller

Champagne Olivier Horiot, 25 rue de Bise, 10340 Les Riceys / France, Bio-Zertifikat: FR-BIO-01