Showing all 6 results

Filter»

Château de Coulaine

The Loire River connects France from the Massif Central to the Atlantic coast. As the river flows, soils, grape varieties and styles vary enormously. The picturesque Château de Coulaine is located in Chinonthe absolute stronghold of the cabernet franc. One should clearly distinguish the Cabernet Francs of this region from the usually stronger red wines of Bordeaux. The Cabernet Francs stand here for Finesse, silky mouthfeel, slender appearance and spiciness with high maturation potential.

chateau de coulaine logo

Chateau de Coulaine coat of arms

There are countless castles along the Loire. Château de Coulaine and the family have been making history here for 500 years. Etienne de Bonnaventure is a passionate winemaker and far from the noble appearance of his ancestors. He stands for the craft, the vineyards and the work in the cellar. However, his wines are by no means rustic, but a reflection of their region full of elegance and complexity.


More about Château de Coulaine

The Bonnaventure family is very careful with the vineyards, similar to previous generations. Sustainability and a near-natural viticulture are not an empty marketing shell, but deepest conviction. Many of the vineyards were planted according to family lore. for centuries only natural and never with chemicals treated. Copper and sulfur are allowed in organic viticulture, but Etienne is in the lowest range of what is allowed.

de coulaine snow vineyards panorama

De Coulaine Snow Vineyards Panorama

Tradition meets the nerve of the time

Chinon stands for Cabernet Franc and so does the Bonnaventure family. The grape variety is per se blessed with a lot of tannins. Etienne counteracts this in the development. The Chinon Bonnaventure Still has robust tannin, but this one does a great job of highlighting the fruit. This Picture book Cabernet Franc smells like Cassis, cherries as well as paprika, pepper, clove and liquorice. Wonderfully spicy. The stony notes due to the sandstone escalate on the palate into cool elegance with fine-grained tannin.

The Chinon La Diablesse grows on a north-facing site with 80-year-old vines. The concentration and power of these old vines finds a lightness and vitality in the wine. The wine radiates with energy and embodies the strengths of the grape variety in the region. Concentrated fruit meets abundant spice, silky mouthfeel and promises a very long aging.

The only white wine in the portfolio is the Touraine Les Pieds Rôtis. The grape variety pure chenin blanc promises a potpourri of ripe stone fruit with a touch of honey on the nose. Typically Chenin, it presents itself cool and mineral with moderate acidity.

Written by Marian Henß
© LivingWines.com

de coulaine panorama clos de la maison

View of the Château and the surrounding vineyards

Zeigt alle 4 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Château de Coulaine

Die Loire verbindet Frankreich vom Zentralmassiv bis hin zur atlantischen Küste. Mit dem Verlauf des Flusses variieren Böden, Rebsorten und Stile enorm. Das malerische Château de Coulaine liegt in Chinon, der absoluten Hochburg des Cabernet Franc. Man sollte die Cabernet Francs dieser Region klar von den meist kräftigeren Rotweinen des Bordeaux abgrenzen. Die Cabernet Francs stehen hier für Finesse, seidiges Mundgefühl, schlankes Auftreten und Würze bei hohem Reifepotenzial.

chateau de coulaine logo

Chateau de Coulaine Wappen

Schlösser gibt es unzählige entlang der Loire. Château de Coulaine und die Familie schreiben hier seit 500 Jahre Geschichte. Etienne de Bonnaventure ist Winzer aus Leidenschaft und weit entfernt von adligem Auftritt seiner Vorfahren. Er steht für das Handwerk, die Weinberge und die Arbeit im Keller. Seine Weine sind allerdings keinesfalls rustikal, sondern ein Abbild ihrer Region voller Eleganz und Komplexität.


Mehr über Château de Coulaine

Die Familie Bonnaventure geht ähnlich wie die vorherigen Generationen sehr sorgsam mit den Weinbergen um. Nachhaltigkeit und ein naturnaher Weinbau sind keine leere Marketinghülle, sondern tiefste Überzeugung. Viele der Weinberge wurden den familiären Überlieferungen nach seit Jahrhunderten nur natürlich und nie mit Chemikalien behandelt. Kupfer und Schwefel sind im biologischen Weinbau durchaus erlaubt, aber Etienne bewegt sich im untersten Bereich des Erlaubten.
de coulaine snow vineyards panorama

De Coulaine Snow Vineyards Panorama

Tradition trifft den Nerv der Zeit

Chinon steht für Cabernet Franc und so auch die Familie Bonnaventure. Die Rebsorte ist per se mit recht viel Gerbstoffen gesegnet. Etienne wirkt dem im Ausbau entgegen. Der Chinon Bonnaventure verfügt immer noch über ein robustes Tannin, aber dieser unterstreicht die Frucht hervorragend. Dieser Bilderbuch-Cabernet Franc riecht nach Cassis, Kirschen sowie Paprika, Pfeffer, Nelke und Lakritz. Herrlich würzig. Die steinigen Noten durch den Sandstein ufern am Gaumen in kühle Eleganz bei feinkörnigem Tannin aus.

Der Chinon La Diablesse wächst auf einer nach Norden exponierten Lage mit 80 Jahre alten Reben. Die Konzentration und Kraft dieser alten Reben findet in dem Wein eine Leichtigkeit und Vitalität. Der Wein strahlt vor Energie und verkörpert die Stärken der Rebsorte in der Region. Geballte Frucht trifft auf reichlich Gewürze, seidiges Mundgefühl und verspricht eine sehr lange Reife.

Der einzige Weißwein im Portfolio ist der Touraine Les Pieds Rôtis. Der rebsortenreine Chenin Blanc verspricht ein Potpourri aus reifem Steinobst mit einem Touch Honig in der Nase. Typisch Chenin präsentiert er sich kühl und mineralisch bei moderater Säure.

Geschrieben von Marian Henß
© LebendigeWeine.de

de coulaine panorama clos de la maison

Blick auf das Château und die umliegenden Weinberge