Winery

Riesling Vulkan 2019

39,52 

Incl. VAT.
(52,69  / 1000 ml)

A very balanced Riesling that is rich in extract, yet slender and filigree in the glass. Medium straw yellow - The 2019 Riesling Vulkan directly conveys a stony, cool and racy impression Stone fruit, such as apricot and peach in a crisp, not fully ripe stage.

Riesling Vulkan 2019

39,52 

SKU: 9912020211 Kategorien: , Weingut:
Tasting note from from 16.10.2020, Copyright Marian Henß

Info

The Odinstal vineyard is a small enclave occupying five hectares high above Wachenheim an der Weinstraße. Due to the Rhine rift valley, in the Palatinate, a wide variety of rock forms are generally found on the surface in a very small space. At Odinstal, this phenomenon is so concentrated that four primary rocks are found here in direct proximity to each other - basalt, shell limestone, Keuper and mottled sandstone. Andreas Schumann and his team want to exploit precisely this diversity and clearly highlight the differences.

The fairly new Riesling Vulkan bottling has only been available since the 2018 vintage. Here, the Odinstal team marries the three soil formations for Riesling - basalt, shell limestone, mottled sandstone - into a cuvée, which are in direct proximity. The limited bottling takes place without filtration.

Color

Medium straw yellow

Nose

The 2019 Riesling Vulkan directly conveys a stony, cool and racy impression stone fruit, such as apricot and peach in a crisp, not fully ripe stage. A slightly almondy note, but also a dark, spicy component. Wet stones give a mineral impression . With increasing temperature and oxygenation also a tart note of mint, wood sorrel and green tea spreads. Following on from this green aroma play, pear, lemongrass and lime continue. The first sip can hardly be expected.

Palate

The 2019 vintage generally stands out as a good vintage early on in Germany. This Riesling also fits into this picture. The dark, mineral note of wet stones clearly characterizes the mouthfeel and the sensory impression. Behind this, the stone fruit as well as the green aromas of the nose are effective. These are complemented by grapefruit, lemon zest and some parsley. The further herbal aromas of the nose are no longer found on the palate. Absolutely elegant, powerful and timeless, it makes an impact on the taster. A very balanced Riesling that is rich in extract, yet slender and delicate in the glass. This is generally a strong piece of Palatinate wine and Riesling in particular!

Food recommendations from Marian Henß

  • Veal tongue, sweet and sour vinaigrette, radish and lentil salad
  • Lentil soup, with dried tomatoes and feta cheese
  • Pickled whitefish, herb emulsion, marinated beetroot

Allergens

Contains sulfur

winery
Type

Vintage

Variety

Content

Alcohol content

12% Vol.

Residual sweetness

■□□□□

Acid

6,8 g/l

Drinking temperature

12°

Manufacturer

Odinstal Winery, Odinstalweg, 67157 Wachenheim / Germany, Organic Certificate: DE-ÖKO-022

Weingut

Riesling Vulkan 2019

40,10 

Enthält 19% MwSt.
zzgl. Versand
Lieferzeit: ca. 3-4 Werktage
Riesling Vulkan 2019

40,10 

Artikelnummer: 9912020211 Regionen: , Weingut:
Verkostungsnotiz von vom 16.10.2020, Copyright Marian Henß

Info

Das Weingut Odinstal ist eine kleine, fünf Hektar einnehmende Enklave hoch über Wachenheim an der Weinstraße. Durch den Rheingrabenbruch finden sich in der Pfalz im Allgemeinen verschiedenste Gesteinsformen auf engstem Raum an der Oberfläche. Auf Odinstal ist dieses Phänomen derart konzentriert, dass hier vier Urgesteine in direkter Nachbarschaft zueinander liegen Basalt, Muschelkalk, Keuper und Buntsandstein. Andreas Schumann und sein Team wollen genau diese Vielfalt nutzen und die Unterschiede klar herausarbeiten.
Die recht neue Abfüllung Riesling Vulkan gibt es erst seit dem Jahrgang 2018. Das Team von Odinstal vermählt hier die drei Bodenformationen für Riesling – Basalt, Muschelkalk, Buntsandstein – in eine Cuvée, die in direkter Nachbarschaft stehen. Die limitierte Abfüllung erfolgt ohne Filtration.

Farbe

Mittleres Strohgelb

Nase

Der 2019er Riesling Vulkan vermittelt direkt einen steinigen, kühlen und rassigen Eindruck Steinobst, wie Aprikose und Pfirsich in knackigem, nicht voll ausgereiftem Stadium. Eine leicht mandelige Note, aber auch eine dunkle, würzige Komponente. Nasse Steine erwecken einen mineralischen Eindruck . Mit zunehmender Temperatur und Sauerstoffzufuhr breitet sich auch eine herbale Note von Minze, Sauerklee und Grüntee aus. An dieses grüne Aromenspiel anknüpfend geht es mit Birne, Zitronengras und Limette weiter. Der erste Schluck kann kaum erwartet werden.

Gaumen

Der Jahrgang 2019 zeichnet sich in Deutschland im Allgemeinen schon früh als guter Jahrgang ab. In dieses Bild fügt sich auch dieser Riesling ein. Die dunkle, mineralische Note von nassen Steinen prägt das Mundgefühl und den sensorischen Eindruck eindeutig. Dahinter wirkt das Steinobst sowie die grünen Aromen der Nase. Diese werden durch Grapefruit, Zitronenzeste und etwas Petersilie ergänzt. Die weiteren Kräuteraromen der Nase finden sich im Gaumen nicht mehr. Absolut elegant, kraftvoll und zeitlos wirkt er auf den Verkoster ein. Ein sehr ausgewogener Riesling, der extraktreich, aber dennoch schlank und filigran im Glas steht. Das ist allgemein ein starkes Stück Pfälzer Wein und Riesling im Speziellen!

Speiseempfehlungen von Marian Henß

  • Kalbszunge, süß-saure Vinaigrette, Radieschen und Linsensalat
    (Fleisch)
  • Linsensuppe, mit getrockneten Tomaten und Schafskäse
    (Gemüse & Vegetarisch)
  • Gebeiztes Felchen, Kräuteremulsion, marinierte Rote Bete
    (Fisch)

Allergene

enthält Schwefel

weingut
Typ

Jahrgang

Sorte

Inhalt

Alkoholgehalt

12% Vol.

Restsüße

■□□□□

Säure

6,8 g/l

Trinktemperatur

12°

Hersteller

Weingut Odinstal, Odinstalweg, 67157 Wachenheim / Germany, Bio-Zertifikat: DE-ÖKO-022

Bewertungen

Es gibt noch keine Bewertungen.

Schreibe die erste Bewertung für „Riesling Vulkan 2019“