Riesling Rangen de Thann Clos-Saint-Urbain Grand Cru 2018 – Domaine Zind-Humbrecht

80,18 

Includes 19% MwSt.
Delivery Time: approx. 3-4 workdays
Riesling Rangen de Thann Clos-Saint-Urbain Grand Cru 2018 - Domaine Zind-Humbrecht

80,18 

SKU: 9950302199 Regionen: , Weingut:

Update 11.05.2021

Tasting note from from 16.10.2020, Copyright Marian Henß

Info about the vineyard

The Grand Cru du Rangen is located in the southern part of Alsace, but unlike the other sites in this region, it is a late terroir characterized by volcanic tuff and greywacke. The vineyard's altitude - it ranges from 350 to 475 metres - its proximity to peaks such as the Grand Ballon, and the intrusion of the Thannertal valley all lead to draughts at the beginning of the season, which are often very cold. Bud break is late, the slope is exposed to the wind, air circulation is also encouraged by the steep slope of the vineyard (90 % on average). Despite a high density of planting, which can be found even in the vines oldest at 55 years, the harvest usually remains low. The volcanic soil, mixed on the surface with only a little clay, demands deep rooting that draws mineral elements from it, but also and above all finds a secure water supply.

Color

intense golden yellow

Nose

The first nose immediately reveals that there is a big gap between the style of Alsace Rieslings and German Gewächse of the same grape variety. Not qualitatively, but stylistically. And this is fortunately - purely subjectively - a matter of taste.
The 2018 Clos Saint Urban from the Rangen vineyard in Thann is a Grand Cru. The nose gives an immediate indication of this status. It seems sublime, profound and marked by its origin. One looks for primary fruit in vain. The nose shows some stone fruit in the distance, dried herbs such as marjoram, a little biscuit and grapefruit. But above all it presents itself extremely stony, cold and absolutely elegant. This fragrance, restrained as it may be, captivates you for minutes. Seductive, mysterious and deep dark, it has an effect on you.

Palate

On the palate, the Clos Saint Urban seamlessly continues the sensory impressions. It spreads its stony, mineral and cool carpet almost majestically. It seems dark and again hardly reveals any fruit.
In the finish it pulls itself together tightly. Compact and energetic with a long finish to follow directly with the next sip. This is full of power, pressure and elegance all at the same time. The word majestic is very applicable here. Timeless and stylish. It never fills you up, but always encourages drinking. The pressure coming from the acidity is phenomenal.

Food recommendations from Marian Henß

  • Roasted turbot, beurre blanc, potato mousseline
    (Fish)
  • Fillet of veal with morel cream, glazed turnips
    (Meat)
  • Fried redfish, ginger sauce, steamed fennel

    Fried redfish, ginger sauce, steamed fennel

    (Fish)

Allergens

Contains sulfur

winery
Type

Vintage

Variety

Content

Alcohol content

13,5% Vol.

Residual sweetness

■□□□□

Acid

5,8 g/l

Drinking temperature

11°

Manufacturer

Domaine Zind Humbrecht, 4 Route de Colmar, 68230 Turckheim / France, Organic certificate: FR-BIO-01

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Riesling Rangen de Thann Clos-Saint-Urbain Grand Cru 2018 – Domaine Zind-Humbrecht”

Riesling Rangen de Thann Clos-Saint-Urbain Grand Cru 2018

80,18 

Enthält 19% MwSt.
zzgl. Versand
Lieferzeit: ca. 3-4 Werktage
Riesling Rangen de Thann Clos-Saint-Urbain Grand Cru 2018

80,18 

Artikelnummer: 9950302199 Regionen: , Weingut:
Verkostungsnotiz von vom 16.10.2020, Copyright Marian Henß

Info zum Weinberg

Der Grand Cru du Rangen liegt zwar im südlichen Teil des Elsass, ist aber im Gegensatz zu den anderen Lagen dieser Region ein spätes, von vulkanischem Tuff und Grauwacke geprägtes Terroir. Die Höhe des Weinbergs – sie liegt zwischen 350 und 475 Metern –, die Nähe zu Gipfeln wie dem Grand Ballon und das Eindringen des Thannertals führen am Beginn der Saison zu Zugluft, die oft sehr kalt ist. Der Knospenaustrieb erfolgt spät, der Hang ist dem Wind ausgesetzt, die Luftzirkulation wird auch durch den steilen Hang des Weinbergs (durchschnittlich 90 %) gefördert. Trotz einer hohen Pflanzdichte, die selbst bei den mit 55 Jahren ältesten Reben zu finden ist, bleibt die Ernte meist gering. Der vulkanische, an der Oberfläche mit nur wenig Ton gemischte Boden fordert eine tiefe Bewurzelung, die mineralische Elemente aus ihm zieht, aber auch und vor allem eine sichere Wasserversorgung findet.

Farbe

intensives Goldgelb

Nase

Die erste Nase offenbart sogleich, dass zwischen dem Stil Elsässer Rieslinge und deutscher Gewächse der gleichen Rebsorte ein großer Graben klafft. Nicht qualitativ, sondern stilistisch. Und dies ist zum Glück – rein subjektiv betrachtet – Geschmacks-sache.
Der 2018er Clos Saint Urban aus der Lage Rangen in Thann ist ein Grand Cru. Diesen Status lässt diese Nase direkt erahnen. Er wirkt erhaben, tiefgründig und geprägt von seiner Herkunft. Primärfrucht sucht man vergebens. Die Nase zeigt etwas Steinobst in weiter Ferne, getrocknete Kräuter, wie Majoran, ein wenig Biskuit und Grapefruit. Er präsentiert sich aber vor allem äußerst steinig, kalt und absolut elegant. Dieser Duft, so zurückhaltend er auch sein mag, fesselt einen über Minuten. Verführerisch, mysteriös und tiefdunkel wirkt er auf einen ein.

Gaumen

Am Gaumen knüpft der Clos Saint Urban nahtlos an die sensorischen Eindrücke an. Nahezu majestätisch breitet er seinen steinigen, mineralischen und kühlen Teppich aus. Dunkel mutet er an und gibt auch hier wieder kaum Frucht preis.
Im Abgang zieht er sich eng zusammen. Kompakt und energisch mit langem Nachhall, um direkt mit dem nächsten Schluck nachlegen zu können. Das ist voller Kraft, Druck und Eleganz zur gleichen Zeit. Das Wort majestätisch ist hier sehr zutreffend. Zeitlos und stilsicher. Er macht nie satt, sondern fördert stets den Trinkfluss. Der von der Säure ausgehende Druck ist phänomenal.

Speiseempfehlungen von Marian Henß

  • Gebratener Steinbutt, Beurre Blanc, Kartoffelmousseline
    (Fisch)
  • Kalbsfilet mit Morchelrahm, glasierte Steckrüben
    (Fleisch)
  • Gebratener Rotbarsch, Ingwersauce, gedünsteter Fenchel

    Gebratener Rotbarsch, Ingwersauce, gedünsteter Fenchel

    (Fisch)

Allergene

enthält Schwefel

weingut
Typ

Jahrgang

Sorte

Inhalt

Alkoholgehalt

13,5% Vol.

Restsüße

■□□□□

Säure

6,6 g/l

Trinktemperatur

11°

Hersteller

Domaine Zind Humbrecht, 4 Route de Colmar, 68230 Turckheim / France, Bio-Zertifikat: FR-BIO-01

Bewertungen

Es gibt noch keine Bewertungen.

Schreibe die erste Bewertung für „Riesling Rangen de Thann Clos-Saint-Urbain Grand Cru 2018“