Zum Inhalt springen

Showing all 16 results

Muthenthaler

Martin Muthenthaler's vineyards are geographically located in the Wachau and at the same time far away from its epicentre. Muthenthaler is the genius loci of the Spitzer Graben. He is the proverbial hermit who lives at the end of this small valley. His grapes are not helped by the sun reflected from the Danube. Here the climate is cool even in summer while the vines are rooted in almost pure rock.

The slate soil is the key here: it retains heat, allows the roots to penetrate deeply and provides excellent drainage.

Header Martin Muthenthaler

The impressive slopes of the Bruck are the perfect soil for great Rieslings and Grüner Veltliners. The well-integrated acidity lends tension and clarity to the deep, rich wines. The wines are smoky, calm and unforced.

We are far from "textbook wines". Martin approached viticulture out of a need to look after his parents' three hectares. And he did so with a free and open mind. Even the organic approach was a result of his intuition.

What you will find in Martin Muthenthaler's wines is the freedom to give expression to place. Directly and without regard for stereotypes.

Step by step, stone by stone.

The landscape of the Spitzer Graben would not be the same without its iconic terraces.
They are a clear example of how much terroir is also the result of human intervention. They are traces of the past on which winemakers of new generations like Martin Muthenthaler can now gain a firm foothold. Preserving this historical treasure of viticulture is also one of the goals of contemporary, innovative winemaking.

Zum Inhalt springen

Zeigt alle 16 Ergebnisse

Muthenthaler

Die Weingärten von Martin Muthenthaler liegen geografisch in der Wachau und gleichzeitig weit weg von ihrem Epizentrum. Muthenthaler ist der Genius Loci des Spitzer Grabens. Er ist der sprichwörtliche Einsiedler, der am Ende dieses kleinen Tals lebt. Seinen Trauben hilft die von der Donau reflektierte Sonne nicht. Hier ist das Klima auch im Sommer kühl während die Reben in fast reinem Fels wurzeln.

Der Schieferboden ist hier der Schlüssel: er speichert die Wärme, lässt die Wurzeln tief eindringen und sorgt für eine hervorragende Drainage.

Header Martin Muthenthaler

Die beeindruckenden Hänge der Bruck sind der perfekte Boden für große Rieslinge und Grüne Veltliner. Die gut eingebundene Säure verleiht den tiefen, reichen Weinen Spannung und Klarheit. Die Weine sind rauchig, ruhend und ungezwungen.

Wir sind weit entfernt von “Lehrbuchweinen”. Martin näherte sich dem Weinbau aus der Notwendigkeit heraus, sich um die drei Hektar seiner Eltern zu kümmern. Und das mit einem freien und offenen Geist. Selbst der biologische Ansatz war eine Folge seiner Intuition.

Was Sie in Martin Muthenthalers Weinen finden werden, ist die Freiheit, dem Ort einen Ausdruck zu verleihen. Direkt und ohne Rücksicht auf Stereotypen.

Schritt für Schritt, Stein für Stein.

Die Landschaft des Spitzer Grabens wäre nicht dieselbe ohne ihre ikonischen Terrassen.
Sie sind ein deutliches Beispiel dafür, wie sehr Terroir auch das Ergebnis menschlicher Eingriffe ist. Sie sind Spuren der Vergangenheit, auf denen Winzer neuer Generationen wie Martin Muthenthaler nun fest Fuß fassen können. Diesen historischen Schatz des Weinbaus zu bewahren, ist auch eines der Ziele eines zeitgemäßen, innovativen Winzertums.