Showing all 9 results

Filter»

Enric Soler (Cal Raspallet)

Enric Soler is considered the iron knight of Xarel-lo. A resborte that, considered solo, often appears below its potential. It is usually hidden in the cuvée of a cava or (as so often in the past) completely overdone with too much wood.

From his time as a successful sommelier, Enric has come to realise and exploit the potential of the Xarel-lo recognised. Today he no longer works as a sommelier, but he passes on his knowledge to the next generation as a teacher. In his Catalonian homeland, in the Penedès, he inherited a vineyard and a small farmhouse from his grandfather. Today, he uses this as his residence and for the vinification of his small winery.

The little gem by Enric Soler

With just under three hectares and 6000 bottles of annual production, small is perhaps even an understatement. At Cal Raspallet, the name of the winery, is probably the oldest Xarel-lo vineyard on earth. At almost 80 years old, there are impressive, ancient vines on poor, calcareous and sandy soils. The vineyard - Vinya dels Taus - translated from Catalan, means something like "vineyard of molehills". For it is indeed covered with them in some phases. This poses no danger to the old vines. The roots protrude deep into the soil, so that the vines can be perfectly supplied with nutrients. In the background, there is a phenomenal view of the rugged Montserrat mountains. The Mediterranean, as a warm, moderating climatic factor, is also within reach.

Enric is advised oenologically by no less a person than Ester Nin. The world-famous Clos Erasmus as well as her own vineyard Nin-Ortiz are causing quite a stir in the nearby Priorat. Together, the two of them have also used the last few years to experiment with ageing. Amphorae and concrete eggs have also found a place in his small cellar. Since 2005, he has been cultivating his vineyards according to the guidelines of biodynamics.

Wine styles from Cal Raspallet

With one exception in the Cuvée Istiu it is an all-vineyard winery. Some aromatic Malvasia finds its way into it. Its Improvisacio is partly aged in the concrete eggs and with mash contact. A batch from used oak barrels brings freshness to this otherwise very lively wine. Expansive and multi-layered in texture.

The Espenyalluchs dispenses with the concrete egg and focuses exclusively on a purist and mineral mouthfeel. The old vines with low yields provide the basis for his top wine Now Vinya dels Taus. This can definitely be called the benchmark of this grape variety. The Now After fermentation in neutral containers, half of the wine is stored for 8 months in new 300-litre barrels and the other half in used ones. Complexity and freshness at the same time.

As a rule, the ratings in the relevant guides such as Wine Advocate or Guia Penin are very high and stocks sell out quickly. The wine delivers an almost salty, cool minerality. It impresses with elegance and depth with great storage potential. A few bottles in the cellar to mature definitely won't hurt.

Text and wine expertise: Marian Henß.

Zeigt alle 10 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Enric Soler (Cal Raspallet)

Enric Soler gilt als der eiserne Ritter des Xarel·lo. Eine Resborte, die solo betrachtet häufig unter ihren Möglichkeiten auftritt. Meist ist sie in der Cuvée eines Cavas versteckt oder (wie so häufig in der Vergangenheit) mit zu viel Holz völlig überschminkt.

Aus seiner Zeit als erfolgreicher Sommelier hat Enric die Erkenntnis gewonnen und das Potenzial des Xarel·lo erkannt. Heute ist er zwar nicht mehr als Sommelier tätig, gibt jedoch sein Wissen als Lehrkraft an die nächste Generation weiter. In seiner katalonischen Heimat, im Penedès, erbte er von seinem Großvater einen Weinberg samt kleinem Bauernhaus. Dieses nutzt er heute als Wohnsitz und für den Weinausbau seines kleinen Weinguts.

Das kleine Schmuckstück von Enric Soler

Mit gerade mal knapp unter drei Hektar und 6000 Flaschen Jahresproduktion ist klein vielleicht sogar untertrieben. Auf Cal Raspallet, so der Weingutsname, befindet sich wohl die älteste Xarel·lo-Anlage dieser Erde. Mit bald 80 Jahren stehen dort eindrucksvolle, uralte Reben auf kargen, kalkhaltigen und sandigen Böden. Der Weinberg – Vinya dels Taus – heißt aus dem katalanischen übersetzt so viel wie „Weinberg der Maulwurfshügel“. Denn er ist in manchen Phasen tatsächlich übersäht damit. Den alten Reben birgt dies keine Gefahr. Die Wurzeln ragen tief in den Boden, so dass die Reben perfekt mit Nährstoffen versorgt werden können. Im Hintergrund hat man einen phänomenalen Blick auf das zerklüftete Gebirge des Montserrats. Das Mittelmeer als warmer, mäßigender Klimafaktor liegt auch in Reichweite.

Önologisch beraten wird Enric durch keine geringere als Ester Nin. Das weltberühmte Clos Erasmus sowie ihr eigenes Weingut Nin-Ortiz sorgen im nahe gelegenen Priorat für großes Aufsehen. Gemeinsam haben die beiden die letzten Jahre auch genutzt, um am Ausbau zu experimentieren. So fanden auch Amphoren und Betonei ihren Platz in seinem kleinen Keller. Seit 2005 bewirtschaftet er seine Weinberge nach den Richtlinien der Biodynamie.

Weinstile von Cal Raspallet

Bis auf eine Ausnahme im Cuvée Istiu ist es ein rebsortenreines Weingut. Darin findet etwas aromatischer Malvasia Einzug. Sein Improvisacio wird zum Teil in den Betoneiern und mit Maischekontakt ausgebaut. Eine Charge aus gebrauchten Eichenholzfässern bringt Frische in diesen sonst sehr lebhaften Wein. Ausladend und vielschichtig in seiner Textur.

Der Espenyalluchs verzichtet auf das Betonei und fokussiert sich ausschließlich auf ein puristisches und mineralisches Mundgefühl. Die alten Reben mit niedrigen Erträgen liefern die Basis für seinen Top-Wein Nun Vinya dels Taus. Man kann dies durchaus als die Benchmark dieser Rebsorte bezeichnen. Der Nun wird nach der Vergärung im neutralen Gebinde für 8 Monate zur Hälfte in neuen 300l-Fässern sowie zur anderen Hälfte in gebrauchten gelagert. Komplexität und Frische zugleich.

In der Regel sind die Bewertungen der einschlägigen Führer wie Wine Advocate oder Guia Penin sehr hoch und die Bestände rasch ausverkauft. Der Wein liefert eine fast salzige, kühle Mineralität. Er besticht durch Eleganz und Tiefgründigkeit bei großem Lagerpotenzial. Ein paar Flaschen im Keller zum Reifen schaden definitiv nicht.

Text und Weinexpertise: Marian Henß.