Showing all 24 results

Filter"

Dominique Derain

This winemaker is an exceptional phenomenon. Despite his great achievements for viticulture in Burgundy, he shows absolute understatement. Dominique Derain belongs to the first guard of biodynamic viticulture in Burgundy, besides Madame Bize-Leroy, who was active for the Domaine de la Romanée-Conti at that time. Many followed, but these two started the ball rolling.

The Domaine Derain has always been synonymous with a very filigree style of the Chardonnay. The wines rather live from ethereal notes. Herbal aromas, finesse and minerality always came before fruit, power and wood. The Saint-Aubin En Remilly 1er Cru expresses this idea to perfection.


More about Dominique Derain

His red wines from Pinot Noir are also remarkable. Vineyards are located in Gevrey-Chambertin, Pommard, Mercurey and the home village of Saint-Aubin. His Pinots experience a similarly gentle development and always present themselves rather tender, silky and tight. Very quiet, subtle red wines. Those who understand them will love them.

Winery in transition

Together with his wife Catherine, he acquired the first vineyard in Saint-Aubin over thirty years ago. The small village in the west of Puligny-Montrachet never experienced the splendor and glory of Meursault or Chassagne-Montrachet. But just in the times of the noticeable climate change, the somewhat cooler sites in the side valley are holding their ground and will continue to expand their position in the future.

Dominique's in the process of turning his business over Julien Altaberwho is also represented in our range with his exciting natural wines from Domaine Sextant. Julien will continue the Domaine Derain in its classic style. At Sextant, the wines experience a more progressive and experimental interpretation.

Written by Marian Henß
© LivingWines.com

Ergebnisse 1 – 24 von 25 werden angezeigt

Filter»

Dominique Derain

Dieser Winzer ist eine Ausnahmeerscheinung. Trotz seiner großen Errungenschaften für den Weinbau im Burgund legt er absolutes Understatement an den Tag. Dominique Derain gehört immerhin neben Madame Bize-Leroy, damals für die Domaine de la Romanée-Conti aktiv, zur ersten Garde des biodynamischen Weinbaus im Burgund. Viele folgten, aber diese beiden brachten den Stein ins Rollen.

Seit jeher steht die Domaine Derain für einen sehr filigranen Stil des Chardonnay. Die Weine leben eher von etherischen Noten. Kräuteraromen, Finesse und Mineralität standen immer vor Frucht, Kraft und Holz. Der Saint-Aubin En Remilly 1er Cru drückt verkörpert diesen Gedanken bis zur Perfektion.


Mehr über Dominique Derain

Auch seine Rotweine aus Pinot Noir sind beachtlich. In Gevrey-Chambertin, Pommard, Mercurey und im Heimatdorf Saint-Aubin stehen die Weinberge. Seine Pinots erfahren einen ähnlich schonenden Ausbau und präsentieren sich immer eher zart, seidig und straff. Sehr leise, subtile Rotweine. Wer sie versteht, wird sie lieben.

Weingut im Wandel

Gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Catherine hat er den ersten Weinberg in Saint-Aubin vor über dreißig Jahren erworben. Das kleine Dorf im Westen von Puligny-Montrachet erfuhr nie den Glanz und Ruhm von Meursault oder Chassagne-Montrachet. Aber gerade in den Zeiten des spürbaren Klimawandels behaupten sich die etwas kühleren Lagen im Seitental und werden ihre Stellung auch in Zukunft noch weiter ausbauen.

Dominique ist gerade im Prozess seinen Betrieb an Julien Altaber, der ebenfalls mit seinen spannenden Naturweinen der Domaine Sextant in unserem Sortiment vertreten ist, zu übertragen. Julien wird die Domaine Derain in ihrem klassischen Stil fortführen. Bei Sextant erfahren die Weine eine progressivere und experimentellere Interpretation.

Geschrieben von Marian Henß
© LebendigeWeine.de