Showing all 4 results

Filter"

du Bouchot

Domaine du Bouchot Winemaker Antoine Gouffier

Domaine du Bouchot Winemaker Antoine Gouffier

Next to Sancerre, Pouilly-Fumé seems impressively conservative. Whereas the organic and biodynamic cultivation in Sancerre has been introduced as early as decades ago, the first domaine in Pouilly was certified as late as in 2009. It was the Domaine du Bouchot. With the 2019 vintage, vintner Antoine Gouffier took it over from family members - after a transition period.

It is impressive to which level Antoine Gouffier has raised the wines of the Domaine du Bouchot already with the first official vintage. Antoine knows the terroir of the 10-hectare domaine very well because it is the wine estate of a part of his family. For a long time, however, it was not quite clear if he would be able to enter the wine estate.


More about du Bouchot

Promising start

After his training, Antoine went to the USA to learn the ins and outs of the three-tier system at various wine importers. Then he went to Argentina to spend a year with Michel Rolland, but above all with his right hand man, the South African Thierry Haberer at the Clos de los Siete wine estate. This contact led him to South Africa to none other than Duncan Savage. It was in South Africa that he met Ilse Nel, his wife today, who originally trained as a cook but who now runs the domaine with him.

10 hectares, 5 wines

The plots of the Domaine du Bouchot are spread over 15 different sites around Pouilly. They are mainly found on the Caillottes and Terres Blanches. The Caillottes form a layer below the Terres Blanches. They are characterized by Calcaire à Astéries from fossil starfish as well as the Calcaire de Tonnerre, originally a very hard limestone, which has weathered to a sponge-like porous limestone.

The Terres Blanches are composed of a weathered Saint-Doulchard marl with high amounts of exogyra virgula oysters and thin layers of glauconite, i.e. ferruginous mica. On the Caillottes, rather full-bodied wines are produced, on the Terres Blanches rather fruity wines, which can be understood by the two terroir wines.
The MCMLV is also from the Terres Blanches, but from old vines, which bring even more depth and substance to the wine. Besides these three wines, Antoine is producing the only orange wine of the appellation so far, as well as a rare Chasselas from the AOC Pouilly-sur-Loire. Both wines are only available in homeopathic quantities, they might complete the program next year.

The three Pouilly-Fumé are each fermented and aged in stainless steel. Antoine ferments spontaneously without additives. Only during ripening and shortly before bottling he adds small amounts of sulfur. From the 2020 vintage on, the wines will bear the demeter certification.

Text and wine expertise: Christoph Raffelt

Zeigt alle 4 Ergebnisse

Filter»

du Bouchot

Domaine du Bouchot Winzer Antoine Gouffier

Domaine du Bouchot Winzer Antoine Gouffier

Neben Sancerre wirkt Pouilly-Fumé beindruckend konservativ. Während der biologische und biodynamische Anbau in Sancerre schon vor Jahrzehnten Einzug gehalten hat, wurde in Pouilly die erste Domaine erst 2009 zertifiziert. Es war die Domaine du Bouchot. Mit dem Jahrgang 2019 hat sie – nach einer Übergangsphase – der Winzer Antoine Gouffier von Familienmitgliedern übernommen.

Es ist beeindruckend, auf welches Niveau Antoine Gouffier die Weine der Domaine du Bouchot schon mit dem ersten offiziellen Jahrgang gehoben hat. Antoine kennt das Terroir der 10-Hektar-Domaine sehr gut, weil es das Weingut eines Teils seiner Familie ist. Längere Zeit aber war gar nicht so ganz klar, ob er auch in das Weingut würde einsteigen können.


Mehr über du Bouchot

Verheißungsvoller Start

Nach seiner Ausbildung ist Antoine in die USA gegangen, um bei verschiedenen Wein-Importeuren die Besonderheiten des Three-tier-Systems kennenzulernen. Danach ging es nach Argentinien, um ein Jahr mit Michel Rolland, vor allem aber seiner rechten Hand, dem Südafrikaner Thierry Haberer auf dem Weingut Clos de los Siete zu verbringen. Dieser Kontakt führte ihn nach Südafrika zu keinem Geringeren als Duncan Savage. In Südafrika lernte er dann auch seine heutige Frau Ilse Nel kennen, die ursprünglich den Beruf der Köchin erlernt hatte, jetzt aber mit ihm die Domaine leitet.

10 Hektar, 5 Weine

Die Parzellen der Domaine du Bouchot verteilen sich auf gut 15 verschiedene Lagen rund um Pouilly. Man findet sie vor allem auf den Caillottes und Terres Blanches. Die Caillottes bilden eine Schicht unterhalb der Terres blanches. Sie sind geprägt von Calcaire à Astéries aus fossilen Seesternen sowie dem Calcaire de Tonnerre, einem ursprünglich sehr harten Kalk, der zu einem schwammähnlichen porösen Kalk verwittert ist.

Die Terres Blanches setzen sich aus einem verwitterten Saint-Doulchard-Mergel mit hohen Mengen an Exogyra-Virgula-Austern und dünnen Lagen von Glaukonit, also eisenhaltigem Glimmer, zusammen. Auf den Caillottes entstehen eher körperreiche, auf den Terres Blanches eher fruchtigere Weine, was man bei den beiden Terroir-Weinen nachvollziehen kann.
Der MCMLV stammt ebenfalls von den Terres Blanches, aber von alten Reben, die noch mehr Tiefe und Substanz in den Wein bringen. Neben diesen drei Weinen entsteht der bisher einzige Orange-Wein der Appellation bei Antoine und ebenso ein rarer Chasselas aus der AOC Pouilly-sur-Loire. Beide Weine gibt es nur in homöopathischen Mengen, sie ergänzen vielleicht im nächsten Jahr das Programm.

Die drei Pouilly-Fumé werden jeweils im Edelstahl vergoren und ausgebaut. Antoine vergärt spontan ohne Zusätze. Erst während der Reife und kurz vor der Abfüllung setzt er kleine Schwefelzugaben ein. Ab dem Jahrgang 2020 werden die Weine die demeter-Zertifizierung tragen.

Text und Weinexpertisen: Christoph Raffelt