Winery

Riesling Ölberg GG 2019

29,01 

Incl. VAT.
(38,68  / 1000 ml)

As early as 2008, he began using organic, biodynamic and sustainable elements to manage his vineyards on the Rote Hang in such a way as to raise healthy and self-sufficient vines that look after themselves and do not rely on human help. Ölberg is the wine that is always most approachable when young, building a certain fruitiness and warmth in the glass.

Riesling Ölberg GG 2019

29,01 

SKU: 9912023042 Kategorien: , Weingut:
Tasting note from from 31.08.2020, Copyright Sebastian Bordthäuser

Kai Schätzel sees his way of cultivation as an answer to the questions that global warming poses to modern viticulture. As early as in 2008, he started to cultivate his vineyards on the Rote Hang using organic, biodynamic and sustainable elements in order to raise healthy and self-sufficient vines that take care of themselves and do not depend on human help. This includes slowing down the ripening process and using dry farming to bring the mountains into a new balance. The grapes for the wines are harvested according to the principle of the self-developed 'golden cut'. Around 90-100 days after blossoming, the grapes are harvested in several passes exactly when their colour changes from green to golden yellow. At the winery, they are kicked around before being left on the mash for around a week before pressing. In a good 80% of all cases, there is no pre-clarification before the must is gravity-fed into lump and half-barrels, where it begins to ferment spontaneously and remains on the full lees until bottling. The wines presented in Wiesbaden and described here were extra filled three days before the premiere, another batch is still on the full lees in the winery. The Ölberg is the wine that always shows itself most accessible in its youth and builds up a certain fruit and warmth in the glass.

Color

Pale straw yellow with green reflections and silver tapered rim.

Nose

A stony-ethereal melange of citrus and herbal notes that fans out their entire spectrum Orange oil blends with tart aromas of bergamot, Amalfi lemons, green mandarins and sliced apple. Wet chalk and pebbles add mineral accents and are complemented by essential Bach mint in the top note. Above this hovers the typical Schätzel's bump, which, however, quickly says goodbye after sufficient ripening and/or aeration and does not detract from the structural experience at all.

Mouth 

The ripe acidity acts as the driving parameter of the 2019 Ölberg Riesling Großes Gewächs from Kai Schätzel. Creamy, embedded in fine minerality, it shows itself upright, by no means chatty, rather in youthful restraint. But its grip on the palate reveals it to be structurally profound, and so it just needs a little time to reach its full potential. Uncompromising and straightforward with youthfully shy fruit, the Ölberg is an individual wine with its own claim and rules with a mineral cool finish.

Food recommendations from Sebastian Bordthäuser

  • Yellow beet carpaccio with verbena oil and Sancho pepper
  • Gurnard with confit orange and oregano
  • Poussin with Bagna Cauda sauce of garlic, anchovy and best olive oil

Allergens

Contains sulfur

winery
Type

Vintage

Variety

Content

Alcohol content

11,5% Vol.

Residual sweetness

■□□□□

Acid

4,0 g/l

Drinking temperature

12°

Manufacturer

Winery Schätzel, Obersdorfer Str. 34, 55283 Nierstein/Rheinhessen /Germany

Weingut

Riesling Ölberg GG 2019

29,44 

Enthält 19% MwSt.
zzgl. Versand
Lieferzeit: ca. 3-4 Werktage
Riesling Ölberg GG 2019

29,44 

Artikelnummer: 9912023042 Regionen: , Weingut:
Verkostungsnotiz von vom 31.08.2020, Copyright Sebastian Bordthäuser
Kai Schätzel sieht seine Art der Bewirtschaftung als Antwort auf die Fragen, die die Klimaerwärmung an den modernen Weinbau stellt. Bereits 2008 hat er begonnen, mit biologischen, biodynamischen und nachhaltigen Elementen seine Weinberge am Roten Hang so zu bewirtschaften, um gesunde und autarke Reben zu erziehen, die sich selbständig versorgen und nicht auf auf menschliche Hilfe angewiesen sind. Dazu gehört es, die Reife zu entschleunigen und die Berge mittels dry farming in eine neue Balance zu führen. Die Trauben für die Weine werden nach dem Prinzip des selbst entwickelten ‚golden cuts‘ gelesen. Rund 90-100 Tage nach der Blüte wird in mehreren Durchgängen genau dann geerntet, wenn ihre Farbe von grün zu goldgelb wechselt. Im Weingut werden sie mit Füssen getreten, bevor sie rund eine Woche auf der Maische liegen, bevor gepresst wird. In gut 80% aller Fälle wird nicht vorgeklärt bevor der Most mittels Gravitation in Stück- und Halbstückfässer kommt, wo er spontan zu gären beginnt und bis zur Füllung auf der Vollhefe verbleibt. Die in Wiesbaden präsentierten und hier beschriebenen Weine wurden drei Tage vor der Premiere extra gefüllt, eine weitere Charge liegt im Weingut noch auf der Vollhefe. Der Ölberg ist der Wein, der sich in der Jugend stets am zugänglichsten zeigt und eine gewisse Frucht und Wärme im Glas aufbaut.

Farbe

Helles Strohgelb mit grünen Reflexen und silbern auslaufendem Rand.

Nase

Eine steinig-ätherisch Melange aus Zitrus- und Kräuternoten, die deren gesamtes Spektrum auffächert Orangenöl mischt sich mit herben Aromen nach Bergamotte, Amalfi-Zitronen, grünen Mandarinen sowie angeschnittenem Apfel. Nasse Tafelkreide und Kieselsteine setzen mineralische Akzente und werden von ätherischer Bachminze in der Kopfnote ergänzt. Darüber schwebt der typisch Schätzel’sche Böckser, der sich nach ausreichender Reife und/oder Belüftung aber schnell verabschiedet und dem strukturellen Erlebnis keinerlei Abbruch tut.

Mund 

Die reife Säure fungiert als treibendes Parameter des 2019er Ölberg Riesling Großes Gewächs von Kai Schätzel. Cremig eingebettet in feine Mineralik zeigt er sich aufrecht, keinesfalls plauderhaft, eher in jugendlicher Zurückhaltung. Doch sein Grip am Gaumen enttarnt ihn als strukturell tiefgründig, und so braucht es bloss ein wenig Zeit, um zur vollen Größe aufzulaufen. Kompromisslos und gradlinig mit jugendlich schüchterner Frucht ist der Ölberg ein individueller Wein mit eigenem Anspruch und Regeln mit mineralisch kühlem Finish.

Speiseempfehlungen von Sebastian Bordthäuser

  • Gelbe Bete Carpaccio mit Verbene-Öl und Sancho-Pfeffer
    (Gemüse & Vegetarisch)
  • Knurrhahn mit confierter Orange und Oregano
    (Fisch)
  • Stubenküken mit Bagna Cauda-Sauce aus Knoblauch, Sardelle und bestem Olivenöl
    (Geflügel)

Allergene

enthält Schwefel

weingut
Typ

Jahrgang

Sorte

Inhalt

Alkoholgehalt

11,5% Vol.

Restsüße

■□□□□

Säure

5,0 g/l

Trinktemperatur

12°

Hersteller

Weingut Schätzel, Obersdorfer Str. 34, 55283 Nierstein/Rheinhessen /Germany

Bewertungen

Es gibt noch keine Bewertungen.

Schreibe die erste Bewertung für „Riesling Ölberg GG 2019“