Showing all 4 results

Filter»

Claude Riffault

domaine claude riffault

Caude Riffault

They still exist, these remarkable discoveries in a wine region that one thinks has long been known through and through. But of course, these discoveries have a lot to do with changes. In our case, the style and also the quality in the Claude Riffault wine estate has changed in a remarkable way during the past few years. Stéphane and Bénédictine Riffault are responsible for this.

His wines have a style all of their own. They are on the one hand fruity, on the other hand in their structure crystal clear and pure. They are neither covered with reduction notes, as one likes to find it currently also at the Loire, nor are they characterized by wood, even though he vinifies all the site and parcel wines in wood. But it is always perennial Tonneaux which are the Basis for the desired texture offer


More about Claude Riffault

The stylistics

The goodness of the fruit is truly remarkable and is mostly reminiscent of old orchard fruit with historic apple and pear varieties. The grassy, the pyrazine and the gooseberry aroma he does not appreciate much. His wines seem rather fleshy, almost opulent and sensual, but are nevertheless mineral, also very clear and at the same time very open. What you can feel besides the precise and ripe acidity is the spiciness of the Sancerres, which reflects the rock of the vineyards as well as herbs and tart citrus notes. The wines can all be drunk young with great pleasure, but especially the Monoparcelles can be curious how they will develop over time.

The history of the winery

Stéphane's great-grandfather once founded the estate as a mixed farm in the tiny hamlet of Sury-en-Vaux, which no one would know if it were not also the home of winemaker Vincent Gaudry. Stéphane's grandfather Henri then switched completely to viticulture, and Stéphane's father Claude joined in in the 1980s. Stéphane studied in Beaune and then learned with Olivier Leflaive, while Stéphane's brother went to the Etienne Sauzet domain, fell in love with Emilie, the daughter of Gérard Boulot, the administrator, and stayed. Today, he is managing the famous domaine.
So, the connections to Burgundy are very close, the more so as Stéphane's wife Bénédictine is from there, too. But after his time in Burgundy, the vintner first went to Bordeaux again, where he stayed for some years at Château Angélus, in order to return home in 2001. When his father Claude retired, Stéphane was able to take over directing everything. This included the conversion to organic farming, which was completed in 2016 with an ECOCERT certification. This year, BIODYVIN certification is scheduled to take place. Stéphane has phased out some cuvees that his father had still initiated, in order to be able to respond more precisely to the terroir, which changes so frequently, with the monoparcelles.

Sancerre from all three terroirs

The Domaine now covers 15.5 hectares of vines, with 12.5 hectares of Sauvignon Blanc and three hectares of Pinot Noir. All the varieties of the three main soil types are found, viz. Terres blanches, caillottes and flint. Of course, the Riffaults also have the classic fresh Sancerre Blanc, which will arrive in May as a 2020. It will be accompanied by the 2019 La Noue Rouge Pinot Noir.

Then in June comes the 2020 Site wine Les Boucauds. This site covers almost half of the property and is characterized by the Terres blanches, a weathered Saint-Doulchard marl with high amounts of Exogyra Virgula oysters. In between, there are always thin layers of glauconite, i.e. ferruginous mica. These soils produce fruity wines that are quickly accessible. Therefore, the wines from this site are also filled earlier. Les Chasseignes comes from the Caillottes soils. The Caillottes forming layer lies below the Terres blanches. It is characterized by Calcaire à Astéries from fossil starfish as well as the Calcaire de Tonnerre, originally a very hard lime, which has weathered to a sponge-like porous lime. Both types of limestone combine here to produce robust and full-bodied wines.

The Les Denisottes comes from vines not far from the winery. The soils are Kimmeridge limestone with light limestone loam and a lot of shell limestone sedimentary rock. The Les Chailloux is characterised by flint, which is very rare in this area, as it is also found in Pouilly-Fumé. It is Kimmeridge soil with flint or quartz parts and a little iron sandstone.

Stéphane has produced two other single-vineyard wines for the benefit of Monoparcell 469 and from Monoparcells 538 abandoned. These plots each form the core of the former site wines and represent the terroir more precisely. And that's what Stéphane Riffault is all about: precision.

Text and wine expertise © Christoph Raffelt

Zeigt alle 5 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Claude Riffault

Es gibt sie noch, diese bemerkenswerten Entdeckungen in einer Weingegend, von der man denkt, sie sei längst durch und durch bekannt. Doch diese Entdeckungen haben natürlich viel mit Veränderungen zu tun. In unserem Fall hat sich der Stil und auch die Qualität im Weingut Claude Riffault in den letzten Jahren in bemerkenswerter Weise verändert. Verantwortlich dafür sind Stéphane und Bénédictine Riffault.

Eigenständige Stilistik

Seine Weine haben eine ganz eigene Stilistik. Sie sind einerseits fruchtig, andererseits in ihrer Struktur glasklar und pur. Sie sind weder überdeckt mit Reduktionsnoten, wie man das gerne aktuell auch an der Loire findet, noch sind sie von Holz geprägt, obwohl er die Lagen- und Parzellenweine alle im Holz ausbaut. Aber es sind immer mehrjährige Tonneaux, die hier die Basis für die gewünschte Textur bieten. Die Güte der Frucht ist wirklich bemerkenswert und erinnert vor allem an die Frucht von alten Obstgärten mit historischen Apfel- und Birnensorten. Das Grasige, das Pyrazin und die Stachelbeer-Aromatik schätzt er nicht sonderlich. Seine Weine wirken eher fleischig, fast opulent und sinnlich, sind aber trotzdem mineralisch, auch sehr klar und dabei sehr offen. Was man neben der so präzisen und dabei reifen Säure spürt, ist die Würze der Sancerres, die das Gestein der Lagen ebenso abbildet wie Kräuter und herbe Zitrusnoten. Man kann die Weine alle schon jung mit großem Genuss trinken, darf aber gerade bei den Monoparcelles gespannt sein, wie sie sich mit der Zeit entwickeln werden.


Mehr über Claude Riffault

Die Geschichte des Weinguts

Stéphanes Urgroßvater hat einst das Gut als Mischbetrieb in dem winzigen Weiler Sury-en-Vaux gegründet, den niemand kennen würde, wäre er nicht auch der Sitz des Winzers Vincent Gaudry. Stéphanes Großvater Henri stellte dann komplett auf Weinbau um, Stéphanes Vater Claude stieg in den 1980er Jahren mit ein. Stéphane hat in Beaune studiert und dann bei Olivier Leflaive gelernt, während Stéphanes Bruder zur Domaine Etienne Sauzet ging, sich dort in Emilie, die Tochter des Verwalters Gérard Boulot verliebte und blieb. Heute leitet er die bekannte Domaine.
Die Verbindungen ins Burgund sind also sehr eng, zumal auch Stéphanes Frau Bénédictine von dort stammt. Doch nach seiner Zeit im Burgund ging der Winzer erst noch einmal nach Bordeaux, wo er einige Jahre auf Château Angélus blieb, um 2001 nach Hause zurückzukehren. Als sein Vater Claude in den Ruhestand ging, konnte Stéphane die Regie in allen Bereichen übernehmen. Dazu gehörte die Umstellung auf biologische Bewirtschaftung, die 2016 mit einer ECOCERT-Zertifizierung abgeschlossen wurde. In diesem Jahr soll die BIODYVIN-Zertifizierung erfolgen. Stéphane hat einige Cuvées, die sein Vater noch initiiert hatte, auslaufen lassen, um mit den Monoparcelles noch präziser auf das sich so häufig ändernde Terroir eingehen zu können.

Sancerre von allen drei Terroirs

Die Domaine umfasst heute 15,5 Hektar Rebfläche mit 12,5 Hektar Sauvignon Blanc und drei Hektar Pinot Noir. Es finden sich alle Varianten der drei wichtigsten Bodentypen, und zwar Terres blanches, Caillottes und Silex. Natürlich gibt es bei den Riffaults auch den klassischen frischen Sancerre Blanc, der im Mai als 2020er eintreffen wird. Er wird begleitet vom 2019er Lagen-Pinot-Noir La Noue Rouge.

Im Juni kommt dann der 2020er Lagenwein Les Boucauds. Diese Lage umfasst nahezu die Hälfte des Besitzes und ist geprägt von den Terres blanches, einem verwitterten Saint-Doulchard-Mergel mit hohen Mengen an Exogyra-Virgula-Austern. Dazwischen findet man immer wieder dünne Lagen von Glaukonit, also eisenhaltigem Glimmer. Auf diesen Böden entstehen fruchtige Weine, die schnell zugänglich sind. Daher werden die Weine aus dieser Lage auch früher gefüllt. Der Les Chasseignes stammt von den Caillottes-Böden. Die Caillottes bildende Schicht liegt unterhalb der Terres blanches. Sie ist geprägt von Calcaire à Astéries aus fossilen Seesternen sowie dem Calcaire de Tonnerre, einem ursprünglich sehr harten Kalk, der zu einem schwammähnlichen porösen Kalk verwittert ist. Beide Kalkarten verbinden sich hier und ergeben robuste und körperreiche Weine.

Der Les Denisottes stammt von Reben unweit des Weinguts. Die Böden bestehen aus Kimmeridge-Kalk mit hellem Kalklehm und einer Menge von Muschelkalk-Sedimentgestein. Der Les Chailloux ist vom in dieser Gegend sehr seltenen Silex geprägt, wie man ihn auch in Pouilly-Fumé findet. Es ist Kimmeridge-Boden mit Feuerstein- bzw. Quarzanteilen und ein wenig Eisensandstein.

Zwei weitere Lagenweine hat Stéphane zugunsten von Monoparcelle 469 und von Monoparcells 538 aufgegeben. Diese Parzellen bilden jeweils den Kern der früheren Lagenweine und bilden das Terroir präziser ab. Und genau darum geht es Stéphane Riffault: um Präzision.

Text und Weinexpertise © Christoph Raffelt