Showing all 7 results

Filter»

Marguet

Benoît Marguet embodies one of the success stories of Champagne, which is on the move. The region is moving away from the mass production of the big houses towards small wineries that produce individual wines full of character. Benoît is a very spiritual person. The methods of biodynamics and working and living in harmony with nature are very close to him. No wonder his entry-level line is called Shaman. Both Blanc and in Rose, he already delivers mineral sparkling wines at this level, full of energy, structure and vitality. Benoît's style is clearly Brut Nature. All sparkling wines are consistently given zero grams of dosage. The pure expression of their origin is his mission. Completely unadulterated and straightforward. A Cramant Brut Nature is a wonderful example of how meagre, chalky and stony a Champagne made from Chardonnay can be. It's like a great sparkling white wine from Burgundy.

Ambonnay - the Grand Cru village

The winery is located in the famous Grand Cru village of Ambonnay. The renowned Maison Krug is also located here. While Benoît's parents still leased the harvest of their entire vineyards to Krug, he set a completely different focus. Some parcels are still leased to Krug under contract, and he looks after them carefully.

But his own range has expanded and tightened up considerably in recent years. The family has the best sites in Ambonnay, Bouzy and Trepail, which are planted with Pinot Noir.

Best locations for Marguet

They also have access to the best sites in the Chardonnay bastions of Avize, Cramant and Chouilly. Terroirs of the highest quality for these two grape varieties, which are so important for Marguet's Champagne. In good years, he cultivates these terroirs individually. With Les Crayères and Le Parc, he also offers two world-class single vineyard sites. Here he can fully develop his style and philosophy. Even in warm years, these sparkling wines deliver a linear character, pure minerality and literally radiate with energy. His prestige cuvée Sapience is only classified as Premier Cru. Don't worry, here the best sites from friendly winemakers are blended into a great wine. David Léclapart contributes Chardonnay, Vincent Laval and Benoît Lahaye contribute Pinot Meunier and some Pinot Noir comes from the Marguet family. A Champagne full of vitality, complexity and richness of facets.
Text and wine expertise: Marian Henß.

Zeigt alle 7 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Marguet

Benoît Marguet verkörpert eine der Erfolgsgeschichten der im Aufbruch befindlichen Champagne. Die Region entwickelt sich weg von der Massenproduktion der großen Häuser hin zu kleinen Weingütern, die individuelle Weine voller Charakter hervorbringen. Benoît ist ein sehr spiritueller Mensch. Die Methoden der Biodynamie sowie die Arbeit und das Leben im Einklang mit der Natur sind ihm sehr nah. Kein Wunder, dass seine Einstiegslinie Shaman heißt. Sowohl Blanc wie auch in Rose liefert er schon auf diesem Niveau mineralische Schaumweine, voller Energie, Struktur und Vitalität. Benoît´s Stil ist eindeutig Brut Nature. Alle Schaumweine werden konsequent mit Null Gramm Dosage versehen. Der reine Ausdruck ihrer Herkunft ist seine Mission. Völlig unverfälscht und geradlinig. Ein Cramant Brut Nature ist ein herrliches Beispiel wie karg, kreidig und steinig ein Champagne aus Chardonnay sein kann. Das ist wie ein großer Weißwein aus dem Burgund mit Kohlensäure.

Ambonnay – das Grand Cru-Dorf

Das Weingut sitzt im berühmten Grand Cru-Dorf Ambonnay. Auch die namhafte Maison Krug sitzt hier. Während die Eltern von Benoît noch die Ernte ihrer gesamten Weinberge an Krug verpachtet hatte, setzte er einen ganz anderen Fokus. Noch immer sind manche Parzellen an Krug vertraglich verpachtet, um die er sich sorgfältig kümmert.

Aber sein eigenes Sortiment hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren deutlich ausgeweitet und verschärft. Die Familie verfügt über beste Lagen in Ambonnay, Bouzy und Trepail, die mit Pinot Noir bestockt sind.

Beste Lagen für Marguet

Sie können außerdem in den Chardonnay-Bastionen Avize, Cramant und Chouilly auf beste Lagen zurückgreifen. Terroirs höchster Güteklasse also für diese beiden so wichtigen Rebsorten für die Champagne von Marguet. In guten Jahren baut er diese Terroirs einzeln aus. Mit Les Crayères und Le Parc bietet er zudem zwei Einzellagen von Weltklasse-Format an. Hier kann er seinen Stil und seine Philosophie vollkommen entfalten. Selbst in warmen Jahren liefern diese Schaumweine einen linearen Charakter, pure Mineralität und strahlen förmlich vor Energie. Seine Prestige-Cuvée Sapience ist nur als Premier Cru eingestuft. Keine Sorge, hier werden beste Lagen von befreundeten Winzern zu einem großen Wein assembliert. David Léclapart steuert Chardonnay bei, Vincent Laval und Benoît Lahaye beteiligen sich mit Pinot Meunier bei und von Familie Marguet stammt etwas Pinot Noir. Ein Champagne voller Vitalität, Vielschichtigkeit und Facettenreichtum.
Text und Weinexpertise: Marian Henß.