Showing all 4 results

Filter»

de Villeneuve

Domaine de Villeneuve can be broken down to two wines. A Côtes du Rhône called La Griffe delivers nonchalant drinking pleasure with aspiration. The main energy flows into a fabulously fairly priced Châteauneuf du Pape Rouge.

In the southern Rhône, powerful, spicy wines grow on dry, gravelly soils. Whether white or red, the wines of this origin are cuvées based on up to 13 different grape varieties. Complexity is achieved through diversity. At Domaine de Villeneuve we speak in this context only from red wines. The robust wines have a full body and high aging potential. Such wines gain authenticity and character over the maturity. They retain their density and intensity even at a high age.


More about de Villeneuve

The famous Neighbouring winery Château Beaucastel testifies to the great potential of the terroir of the sites. At Domaine de Villeneuve, the cuvée thrives on the basis of five grape varieties: Grenache, Cinsault, Mourvèdre, Syrah and Clairette. The 80-year-old Grenache vines form the backbone and clearly dominate the overall picture. With low yields, the old vines deliver Depth, expression and finesse.

Mixed set in the south of France

The designation of origin goes back to a village in the southern Rhône valley after the surrounding vineyards are named. The reference to the head of the Catholic Church reveals the value of the wines and the importance within the wine world. Pope John XXII had his own vineyard planted in 1350, although it was actually Burgundy that caught the fancy of the clergy. As a relic of that time, the appellation has a protected trademark. Since 1938, vintners have been allowed to use a special bottle embossed in the shape of the crossed keys, the Pope's insignia.

The grape variety Grenache is mostly leading. Although it tends towards high alcohol levels, it generates Clarity and precision with a silky mouthfeel. The higher the proportion of Syrah and Mourvèdre, the higher the potential for colour, tannin and concentration of the wines. An absolute peculiarity of Domaine de Villeneuve is the planting in a kind of mixed set. The five grape varieties are planted mixed in the vineyards. Through only one harvest, this is their approach to capture the terroir, the typicality of the vintage and its peculiarities. This approach is a tradition at the winery. In most wineries, on the other hand, the wines are created through classic cuvées of the numerous grape varieties.

The Côtes du Rhône La handles delivers not only a beautiful bottle design, but also very much wine in its price range. One could speak qualitatively of a small Châteauneuf du Pape. The vineyards are located just outside and north of the appellation. It is also made from the same grape varieties and from old vines.

domaine de villeneuve vineyard

Domaine de Villeneuve

Written by Marian Henß
© LivingWines.com

Zeigt alle 4 Ergebnisse

Filter»

de Villeneuve

Die Domaine de Villeneuve lässt sich auf zwei Weine herunterbrechen. Ein Côtes du Rhône namens La Griffe liefert nonchalantes Trinkvergnügen mit Anspruch. Die Hauptenergie fließt in einen sagenhaft fair bepreisten Châteauneuf du Pape Rouge.

An der südlichen Rhône wachsen auf trockenen, kieseligen Böden kraftvolle, würzige Weine. Ob weiß oder rot sind die Weine dieser Herkunft Cuvées auf Basis von bis zu 13 verschiedenen Rebsorten. Komplexität wird durch Vielfalt erreicht. Bei Domaine de Villeneuve sprechen wir in diesem Zusammenhang nur von Rotweinen. Die robusten Weine verfügen über einen gehaltvollen Körper und hohes Alterungspotenzial. Solche Weine gewinnen über die Reife an Authentizität und Charakter. Ihre Dichte und Intensität behalten sie auch im hohen Reifealter.


Mehr über de Villeneuve

Das berühmte Nachbarweingut Château Beaucastel zeugt vom großen Potenzial des Terroirs der Lagen. Bei der Domaine de Villeneuve gedeiht das Cuvée aus Basis von fünf Rebsorten: Grenache, Cinsault, Mourvèdre, Syrah und Clairette. Die 80-jährigen Grenache-Rebstöcke bilden das Rückgrat und dominieren deutlich das Gesamtbild. Bei geringen Erträgen liefern die alten Reben Tiefe, Ausdruck und Finesse.

Gemischter Satz im Süden Frankreichs

Die Herkunftsbezeichnung geht auf ein Dorf im südlichen Rhônetal zurück nachdem die umliegenden Weinberge benannt sind. Der Bezug zum Oberhaupt der katholischen Kirche verrät den Wert der Weine und die Bedeutung innerhalb der Weinwelt. Papst Johannes XXII ließ 1350 einen eigenen Weinberg anlegen, obwohl eigentlich das Burgund die Begeisterung der Geistlichen auslöste. Als Reliquie dieser Zeit hat die Appellation ein geschütztes Markenzeichen. Seit 1938 dürfen die Winzer eine besondere Flasche mit der Prägung in Form der gekreuzten Schlüssel, der Insignie des Papstes, verwenden.

Die Rebsorte Grenache ist meist federführend. Sie tendiert zwar zu hohen Alkoholwerten, generiert jedoch Klarheit und Präzision bei seidigem Mundgefühl. Je höher der Anteil an Syrah und Mourvèdre ist, desto höher liegt das Potenzial für Farbe, Tannin und Konzentration der Weine. Eine absolute Besonderheit der Domaine de Villeneuve ist die Bepflanzung in einer Art gemischter Satz. Die fünf Rebsorten stehen in den Weinbergen gemischt gepflanzt. Durch nur eine Lesevorgang ist dies ihr Ansatz, das Terroir, die Typizität des Jahrgangs und seiner Besonderheiten einzufangen. Diese Herangehensweise hat im Weingut Tradition. Bei den meisten Betrieben entstehen die Weine dagegen durch klassische Cuvées der zahlreichen Rebsorten.

Der Côtes du Rhône La Griffe liefert nicht nur ein schönes Flaschen-Design, sondern auch sehr viel Wein in seiner Preisklasse. Man könnte qualitativ von einem kleinen Châteauneuf du Pape sprechen. Die Lagen befinden sich knapp außerhalb und nördlich der Appellation. Er wird ebenfalls aus den gleichen Rebsorten und von alten Reben gewonnen.

domaine de villeneuve vineyard

Domaine de Villeneuve

Geschrieben von Marian Henß
© LebendigeWeine.de