Showing all 3 results

Filter»

Clos des Papes

Paul Avril was one of the founders of the Châteauneuf-du-Pape appellation. In 1896, he started to produce his wines under the name of Clos des Papes for sale.

His heir Régis Avril (1901-1987) supplied wines to two presidents of France, General de Gaulle and Georges Pompidou.

Paul Avril (1937-2009) began working at the Domaine in 1963, first with his father and later for many years with his son. Paul-Vincent Avril (born 1965) attended wine school in Burgundy as a young man. From there he also brought visions of finesse and elegance on his return to the estate.

Today the estate covers 32 ha. 3 ha of which are planted with white grape varieties. 24 different plots are spread over the village. One parcel is located near the Pope's castle and was surrounded by walls (clos). This is also where the name of the domain comes from.


More about Clos des Papes

Since 2011, the vineyards are certified as "agriculture biologique".

Only one cuvée of each white (10% of production) and red Châteauneufdu Pape produced. Since 1991, the grapes are completely destemmed and since 1987, the entire production is bottled at the Domaine.

The secret behind the high quality is the extremely low yield. In the 2007, 2008 and 2009 vintages, the yield was 25, 17 and 19 hl/ha, respectively. The yield is minimized by green harvesting and by repeated sorting of the grapes during the harvest.

Clos des Papes is not a place for experimentation.

The aim is always to produce a very high quality wine that meets the expectations of Paul Vincent Avril himself as well as those of his customers all over the world. For Avril, it is a sign of quality when the wine is recognizable across vintages. 80% of the production, which is around 100,000 bottles, is exported. For Avril it is no problem to sell his wines even in times when the market is suffering from a crisis.

The wines

Châteauneuf du Pape Rouge 65% Grenache, 20% Mourvedre, 10% Syrah and 5% others. Aged in barrels for 12-15 months.

Châteauneuf du Pape Blanc Grenache Blanc, Roussanne, Clairette, Bourboulenc and Picpoul. No wood involved.

© LivingWines.com

Zeigt alle 3 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Clos des Papes

Paul Avril war einer der Begründer der Appellation Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Im Jahr 1896 begann er, seine Weine unter dem Namen Clos des Papes zu verkaufen.

Sein Erbe Régis Avril (1901-1987) lieferte Weine an zwei Präsidenten Frankreichs, General de Gaulle und Georges Pompidou.

Paul Avril (1937-2009) begann 1963 auf der Domaine zu arbeiten, zunächst zusammen mit seinem Vater und später viele Jahre lang mit seinem Sohn. Paul-Vincent Avril (geboren 1965) besuchte als junger Mann die Weinschule im Burgund. Von dort brachte er auch Visionen über Finesse und Eleganz bei seiner Rückkehr ins Weingut.

Heute umfasst das Anwesen 32 ha. 3 ha davon sind mit weißen Rebsorten bepflanzt. 24 verschiedene Parzellen sind über den Ort verteilt. Eine Parzelle liegt in der Nähe des Papstschlosses und wurde von Mauern umgeben (clos). Von hier stammt auch der Name der Domäne.


Mehr über Clos des Papes

Seit 2011 sind die Weinberge als “agriculture biologique” zertifiziert.

Es wird nur je eine Cuvée aus weißem (10% der Produktion) und rotem Châteauneufdu Pape hergestellt. Seit 1991 wird komplett entrappt und seit 1987 wird die gesamte Produktion auf der Domaine abgefüllt.

Das Geheimnis hinter der hohen Qualität ist der überaus geringe Ertrag. In den Jahrgängen 2007, 2008 und 2009 lag der Ertrag bei 25, 17 und 19 hl/ha. Der Ertrag wird durch die grüne Lese und durch wiederholtes Sortieren der Trauben während der Ernte minimiert.

Clos des Papes ist kein Ort für Experimente.

Das Ziel ist stets, einen Wein von sehr hoher Qualität zu erzeugen, der sowohl den Erwartungen von Paul Vincent Avril selbst als auch denen seiner Kunden in aller Welt entspricht. Für Avril ist es ein Zeichen von Qualität, wenn der Wein über die Jahrgänge hinweg erkennbar ist. 80% der Produktion, die etwa 100.000 Flaschen umfasst, wird exportiert. Für Avril ist es kein Problem, seine Weine auch in Zeiten zu verkaufen, in denen der Markt unter einer Krise leidet.

Die Weine

Châteauneuf du Pape Rouge 65% Grenache, 20% Mourvedre, 10% Syrah und 5% andere. 12-15 Monate in Fässern gereift.

Châteauneuf du Pape Blanc Grenache Blanc, Roussanne, Clairette, Bourboulenc und Picpoul. Kein Holz beteiligt.

© LebendigeWeine.de