Showing all 10 results

Filter»

Sextant - Julien Altaber

Julien Altaber comes from Auvergne, south of Burgundy. After working in Beaujolais and Mâconnais, he began working with and for Dominique and Catherine Derain at the Domaine of the same name in Saint Aubin in 2002. The two of them were his role models for natural viticulture and identified with the biodynamic methods. Ultimately, it is a way of life as a farmer if you want to internalise and live out this rhythm - privately as well as in viticulture. Julien has been able to absorb this knowledge like a sponge.

Early on, Julien had his own winery - Sextant - and initially worked with purchased grapes. The vinification always took place in the Derains' cellar. Slowly but steadily, his side project grew. Sites were bought, equipment was purchased and finally, in 2013, a cellar was taken over.

In the meantime, he is on the verge of Domaine Derain from Dominique. However, both wineries will continue to operate under their own names. Because the styles are cardinally different. Derain could rather be described as classical.

Sextant wine style

At Sextant, on the other hand, Julien exhausts the possibilities. Clear, precise wines from Aligoté, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Gamay.

He is also very fond of wines that are fermented on the skins, oxidised or left completely natural. The range is wide. The profiles are diverse.

His goal is not to compete with the big names of the region. He pursues completely different goals. Honest, authentic wines that show the grape variety and origin without being influenced by wood. And he masters this in white as well as in red. He can draw on vines from the most famous places in Burgundy, but his style is extremely independent, not interchangeable and full of character.

His wines provide a reasonable entry point, especially in times when prices in Burgundy seem to be exploding. Whether it's the classic Chardonnay from the small wooden barrel from Saint-Aubin or its Pet Nat made from Aligoté fermented on the skins for twelve months.

He intervenes as little as possible in the wine-making process. The healthy grapes come from top vineyards and this is the greatest blessing for him. Sulphur is not added to any of his wines. Julien strives to produce wholesome, straightforward wines that are great drinking pleasure.

Text and wine expertise: Marian Henß.

Zeigt alle 5 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Sextant - Julien Altaber

Julien Altaber kommt aus der Auvergne, südlich des Burgunds. Nach Stationen im Beaujolais und Mâconnais begannt er bereits 2002 mit und für Dominique und Catherine Derain in der gleichnamigen Domaine in Saint Aubin zu arbeiten. Die beiden haben ihm naturnahen Weinbau vorgelebt, mit den biodynamischen Methoden identifiziert. Letzten Endes ist es eine Lebenseinstellung als Landwirt, wenn man diesen Rhythmus – privat wie auch im Weinbau – verinnerlichen und ausleben möchte. Julien hat dieses Wissen wie ein Schwamm aufsaugen können.

Schon früh hat Julien sein eigenes Weingut – Sextant – gegründet und zunächst mit zugekauften Trauben gearbeitet. Der Ausbau erfolgte stets im Keller der Derains. Langsam aber stetig wuchs sein Nebenprojekt. Lagen wurden gekauft, Material angeschafft und schließlich in 2013 ein Keller übernommen.

Mittlerweile ist er drauf und dran die Domaine Derain von Dominique zu übernehmen. Beide Weingüter sollen aber unter ihren Namen weiterlaufen. Denn die Stile sind kardinal unterschiedlich. Derain könnte man eher als klassisch bezeichnen.

Weinstil von Sextant

Bei Sextant reizt Julien dagegen die Möglichkeiten aus. Klare, präzise Weine aus Aligoté, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir und Gamay.

Daneben maischevergorene, oxidativ ausgebaute oder komplett natürlich belassene Weine finden bei ihm großen Zuspruch. Die Bandbreite ist groß. Die Profile sind vielfältig.

Sein Ziel ist es nicht, mit den großen Namen der Region in Konkurrenz zu stehen. Er verfolgt ganz andere Ziele. Ehrliche, authentische Weine, die Rebsorte und Herkunft zeigen, ohne vom Holz geprägt zu sein. Und dies beherrscht er in weiß wie auch in rot. Er kann auf Reben aus den berühmtesten Ortschaften des Burgunds zurückgreifen, aber sein Stil ist äußerst eigenständig, nicht austauschbar und charaktervoll.

Seine Weine liefern auch gerade in Zeiten, in denen im Burgund die Preise zu explodieren scheinen, einen vertretbaren Einstieg. Ob nun der klassische Chardonnay aus dem kleinen Holzfass aus Saint-Aubin oder sein Pet Nat aus zwölf Monate lange auf der Maische vergorenem Aligoté.

Er greift in den Prozess des Wein-werdens so wenig wie möglich ein. Die gesunden Trauben kommen von top bewirtschafteten Lagen und dies ist für ihn der größte Segen. Schwefel wird keinem seiner Weine zugesetzt. Julien strebt es an, bekömmliche, geradlinige Weine zu erzeugen, die großes Trinkvergnügen bereiten.

Text und Weinexpertise: Marian Henß.