Zum Inhalt springen

Showing all 2 results

Julie Dufour

Julie Dufour is the third generation of her family to farm just four hectares of Pinot Noir and Chardonnay in Landreville in southern Champagne. After her first professional move to Paris, she returned to her home country about 10 years ago to produce her own champagne. She is actively supported by her brother Charles, who is well known among champagne lovers, and her mother Françoise Martinot.

But this is not the end of the family story, because her father Robert Dufour, who died at an early age, already produced his own fillings instead of selling the grapes to the big houses, as was customary at the time. After his death, the winery was continued by his wife, who immediately converted the small business to organic farming, and thus must be called a pioneer in the Champagne region. Of course, the vineyards are still cultivated organically and have been certified according to the French Agriculture Biologique standard since 2013.


More about Julie Dufour

The Côte des Bar has always been predominantly planted with Pinot Noir, which grows well on the local soils with their high content of Kimmeridge limestone. There is hardly any chalk left as subsoil in this region and Chablis is already in the immediate vicinity. This is another reason why the sparkling wines of the Dufours always have such a beautiful acidity and are always lively and full of character. They are virtually prime examples of the category of increasingly successful vintner's champagnes, which, in contrast to the cuvées of the big houses, are very independent year after year.

Julie Dufour is a member of the renowned Assocation des Champagnes Biologiques. She fills just about 6,000 bottles of champagne a year: her first Cléobuline, for one, and the Binôme, a joint project with her brother Charles.

Cléobuline is made from 70% Pinot, 30% Chardonnay and has a dosage of 3g/l. It is aged partly in old wood and partly in steel. This is the more classic of the two cuvées. Slightly smoky-herbaceous attack, nicely dry with very elegant acidity. If you didn't know, you would assume zero dosage. Mineral and creamy with fine stone fruit and yeast or brioche, medium length.

Binôme also consists of 70% Pinot, 30% Chardonnay and is Brut Nature. The special feature here is the blend with a Chardonnay from a single vineyard of Julie, which was left on its skins for a year in large glass balloons, the so-called Dame Jeannes. This provides additional extract, grip and complexity. In the glass, really fine and nuanced, balanced and yet with tension between acidity and fruit, complex melting with good length.

Zeigt alle 2 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Julie Dufour

julie dufour in lyon foto instagram
Nur vier Hektar Pinot Noir und Chardonnay sind es, die Julie Dufour in Landreville in der südlichen Champagne in dritter Generation bewirtschaftet. Nachdem sie es beruflich ersteinmal nach Paris verschlagen hatte, kehrte sie vor rund 10 Jahren zurück in ihre Heimat, um eigenen Champagner zu erzeugen. Sie wird dabei tatkräftig unterstützt von ihrem unter Champagnerliebhabern ziemlich 
bekannten Bruder Charles und der Mutter Françoise Martinot.

Doch hier ist die Familiengeschichte noch nicht zu Ende erzählt, denn schon ihr früh verstorbene Vater Robert Dufour erzeugte eigene Füllungen, statt die Trauben, wie damals üblich, an die großen Häuser weiter zu verkaufen. Das Weingut wurde nach seinem Tod weitergeführt von der Ehefrau, die den kleinen Betrieb umgehend auf biologische Bewirtschaftung umstellte, und so als Pionierin in der Champagne bezeichnet werden muß. Selbstverständlich werden die Weinberge auch jetzt biologisch bewirtschaftet und sind seit 2013 nach dem französischen Agriculture Biologique-Standard zertifiziert.


Mehr über Julie Dufour

An der Côte des Bar wird schon immer überwiegend Pinot Noir gepflanzt, der auf den dortigen Böden mit ihrem hohem Kimmeridgekalkanteil gut wächst. Kreide als Untergrund kommt in dieser Region kaum noch vor und das Chablis liegt schon in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft. Auch das ist mit ein Grund, warum die Schaumweine der Dufours stets so einen schönen Säurezug haben und immer lebhaft und charakterstark sind. Sie sind geradezu Musterbeispiele für die Kategorie der immer erfolgreicher werdenden Winzerchampagner, die eben im Gegensatz zu den Cuvées der großen Häuser Jahr für Jahr sehr eigenständig sind.

Julie Dufour ist Mitglied in der renommierten Assocation des Champagnes Biologiques. Sie füllt gerade einmal ca. 6000 Flaschen Champagner pro Jahr: zum einem ihren Erstling Cléobuline, sowie dem Binôme, ein gemeinsames Projekt mit ihrem Bruder Charles.

Cléobuline besteht aus 70% Pinot, 30% Chardonnay und hat eine Dosage von 3g/l. Ausgebaut teilweise in altem Holz und zum andern Teil in Stahl. Dies ist die etwas klassischere der beiden Cuvées. Leicht rauchig-kräutriger Auftakt, schön trocken mit sehr eleganter Säure. Wenn man es nicht wüßte, würde man von Zero Dosage ausgehen. Mineralisch cremig mit feiner Steinfrucht und Hefe bzw. Brioche, mittlere Länge.

Binôme besteht ebenfalls aus 70% Pinot, 30% Chardonnay und ist Brut Nature. Das Besondere ist hier der Verschnitt mit einem Chardonnay aus einer Einzellage von Julie, der in großen Glasballons, den sogenannten Dame Jeannes, für ein Jahr auf seinen Schalen belassen wurde. Das sogt für zuätzlichen Extrakt, Grip und auch Komplexität. Im Glas dann wirklich fein und nuanciert, ausgeglichen und trotzdem mit Spannung zwischen Säure und Frucht, komplexer Schmelz mit guter Länge.