Showing all 4 results

Filter"

Ibizkus (Totem Wines)

With just under 40 hectares, Ibizkus cultivates about half of Ibiza's vineyards. The two owners are experienced wine connoisseurs and originally come from the wine trade. With the foundation of the bodega on the island, they have fulfilled their dream. The many journeys from their previous chapter have taken them to numerous wine regions of the world and to the best wineries. These inspirations laid the foundation for their joint idea and future.

The Ballears

The Balearic Islands and Ibiza in particular are not exactly the first wine regions that would come to the mind of wine connoisseurs in connection with Spain. And especially in Ibiza, wine production is extremely low. Ibiza, however, very much stands for a Mediterranean lifestyle. The climate, vegetation and geology are very similar to the southern Spanish mainland. The Mediterranean Sea and the permanently prevailing winds have a moderating effect on the vineyards and thus also on the wine.


More about Ibizkus (Totem Wines)

It was clear to both of them that the vineyards are cultivated biodynamically. The vinification is very close to nature. International grape varieties are not very important. So you can find above all local grape varieties like Monastrell, Macabeu, Malvasia and a little Tempranillo, Cabernet Sauvignon and Syrah. Monastrell represents 95% of the area. So a clear focus on the autochthonous grape variety and on old, unrooted vinesthat you can still find there. Monastrell stands for a dark fruity but juicy and easily accessible red wine style. After Tempranillo it is the second most popular grape variety in Spain and has its epicentre around Alicante.

Ibiza - in wine and in name

In the early years the winery was still called Totem Wines. The red wine was called Totem and the Rosé Ibizkus. A rosé that perfectly reflects the spice and lightness of Mediterranean life. Strong in character, full of aromatic diversity and yet so wonderfully elegant. This rosé has established itself as a strong brand, so that one has put its name in the foreground. The derivation to the beloved homeland is easy to draw from the name.

In the cellar, one falls back on contemporary technology. The pure red wines from Monastrell are dark-fruited and fleshy, but show finesse and elegance. Some of the vineyards are over 70 years old and individual vines are significantly older. The combination of old vines and sandy-loamy soils has a stylistic effect on the wine in a lot of fruit and color with equally juicy structure and concise acidity.

Copyright Marian Henß and Living Wines

Zeigt alle 4 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Ibizkus (Totem Wines)

Ibizkus bestellt mit knapp 40 Hektar ungefähr die Hälfte der Rebfläche Ibizas. Die beiden Inhaber sind versierte Weinkenner und kommen ursprünglich aus dem Weinhandel. Mit der Gründung der Bodega auf der Insel haben sie sich ihren Traum erfüllt. Die vielen Reisen aus ihrem vorherigen Kapitel haben die beiden in zahlreiche Weinregionen dieser Welt und zu den besten Betrieben geführt. Diese Inspirationen legten den Grundstein für ihre gemeinsame Idee und Zukunft.

Die Ballearen

Die Balearen und insbesondere Ibiza sind nicht gerade die ersten Weinregionen, die Weinkennern im Zusammenhang mit Spanien einfallen würden. Und gerade auf Ibiza ist die Weinproduktion äußerst gering. Ibiza steht aber sehr wohl für ein mediterranes Lebensgefühl. Das Klima, die Vegetation und Geologie sind dem südspanischen Festland sehr ähnlich. Das Mittelmeer und die dauerhaft herrschenden Winde wirken als mäßigender Faktor auf die Weinberge und somit auch den Wein.


Mehr über Ibizkus (Totem Wines)

Klar war für die beiden, dass die Weinberge biodynamisch bewirtschaftet werden. Der Ausbau ist insgesamt sehr naturnah. Internationale Rebsorten haben keine große Bedeutung. So findet man vor allem heimische Rebsorten wie Monastrell, Macabeu, Malvasia sowie ein wenig Tempranillo, Cabernet Sauvignon und Syrah. Monastrell stellt 95% der Fläche. Also ein klarer Fokus auf die autochthone Rebsorte und auf alte, wurzelechte Reben, die man dort noch finden kann. Monastrell steht für einen dunkelfruchtigen, aber saftigen und leicht zugänglichen Rotweinstil. Nach Tempranillo ist es die zweit beliebteste Rebsorte in Spanien und hat ihr Epizentrum rund um Alicante.

Ibiza – im Wein und im Namen

In den Anfangsjahren hieß das Weingut noch Totem Wines. Der Rotwein hieß Totem und der Rosé Ibizkus. Ein Rosé, der die Würze und Leichtigkeit des mediterranen Lebens perfekt widerspiegelt. Charakterstark, voller Aromenvielfalt und dabei so herrlich elegant. Dieser Rosé hat sich als starke Marke etabliert, so dass man seinen Namen in den Vordergrund gestellt hat. Die Ableitung zur geliebten Heimat ist aus dem Namen leicht zu ziehen.

Im Keller greift man auf zeitgemäße Technologie zurück. Die rebsortenreinen Rotweine aus Monastrell sind dunkelfruchtig und fleischig, zeigen aber Finesse und Eleganz. Teilweise sind die Weinberge über 70 Jahre und einzelne Reben noch deutlich älter. Die Kombination aus alten Reben und sandig-lehmigen Böden wirkt sich stilistisch in viel Frucht und Farbe bei gleichermaßen saftiger Struktur und prägnanter Säure auf den Wein aus.

Copyright Marian Henß und Lebendige Weine