Showing all 5 results

Filter»

Thomas Bouley

Together with his father Jean-Marc, Thomas Bouley works side by side at the domaine in Volnay. He has been in the family business for just under 20 years and meticulously managed to get the leading wine critics to turn their attention to the domaine in the Côte de Beaune. Thomas was considered one of the region's most exciting Pinot Noir talents early on and more than lived up to this expectation.
The vineyards are mostly located in Volnay. Smaller parcels can be found in the neighbouring villages of Pommard and around Beaune, with Pinot Noir clearly receiving the most attention. In an impressive quality hierarchy, Thomas succeeds in representing the Volnay origin in the greatest diversity. The precise work of his team in the vines bears the greatest burden. The eight hectares of vines are spread over 29 different plots. Traditional methods in the vineyard meet modern technology. His goal is always to produce wines that are full of elegance, rich fruit and balanced in the glass when young. At the same time, they should also have maturity potential. It is up to us to decide in which phase we would like to enjoy the wines.

Sensitivity in Volnay

In the vineyard, Thomas and his team work organically.

Greening and allowing weeds to grow in winter to regulate the humidity are just as much a part of this as the renunciation of synthetic agents. Manual labour in countless hours and steps are the result, as well as a healthy reduction in yield. Thomas also works with cosmic rhythms and uses biodynamic viticulture methods for pruning, filling the vines and elsewhere.

The trade press often writes about his flair for using wood in winemaking. The ageing and maturation of the wines in oak lasts between 15 and 20 months, depending on the vintage. The proportion of new barrels varies accordingly, in line with the needs of the vintages. However, never more than 50% of new wood is used to match his style, which is characterised by fruit, elegance and energy. His two top wines, Volnay Les Caillerets and Pommard Les Rugiens, deserve special mention. But the Volnay in particular delivers phenomenal drinking pleasure at a reasonable price when young.
In addition to the variety of Pinot Noirs, a highly recommended Aligoté is also produced.

Please be sure to try it. But be careful - addiction potential!


More about Thomas Bouley

Read the big Wizerportrait by Thomas Bouley in our wine magazine.

thomas bouley in his vineyards
thomas bouleys classical wine celler
Vineyards of thomas bouley

Zum Inhalt springen

Zeigt alle 2 Ergebnisse

Thomas Bouley

Gemeinsam mit seinem Vater Jean-Marc arbeitet Thomas Bouley Seite an Seite in der Domaine in Volnay. Seit knapp 20 Jahren ist er im Familienbetrieb und erreichte es mit Akribie, dass die führenden Weinkritiker ihr Augenmerk auf die Domaine in der Côte de Beaune warfen. Thomas galt früh als eines der aufregendsten Pinot Noir-Talente der Region und wurde dieser Erwartungshaltung mehr als gerecht.
Die Weinberge liegen größtenteils in Volnay. Kleinere Parzellen sind in den benachbarten Orten Pommard und um Beaune zu finden.Dem Pinot Noir obliegt dabei deutlich die größte Aufmerksamkeit. In einer beeindruckenden Qualitätshierarchie gelingt es Thomas, die Herkunft Volnay in größter Vielfalt abzubilden. Das präzise Arbeiten seiner Mannschaft in den Reben trägt hierbei die größte Last. Auf 29 verschiedenen Parzellen verteilen sich die acht Hektar Rebfläche. Traditionelle Methoden im Weinberg treffen auf moderne Technik. Sein Ziel ist dabei stets Weine auszubauen, die jung voller Eleganz, satter Frucht und ausgewogen im Glas stehen. Gleichzeitig sollen sie auch über Reifepotenzial verfügen. Es obliegt uns zu entscheiden, in welcher Phase wir die Weine genießen möchten.

Feingefühl im Volnay

Im Weinberg arbeitet Thomas mit seiner Mannschaft ökologisch-organisch.

Begrünung und auch das Zulassen von Unkraut im Winter, um die Feuchtigkeit zu regulieren gehören ebenso dazu wie der Verzicht auf synthetische Mittel.Handarbeit in unzähligen Stunden und Arbeitsschritten sind die Folge sowie eine gesunde Ertragsreduzierung. Thomas arbeitet auch unter Einbezug kosmischer Rhythmen und bedient sich damit auch biodynamischer Weinbaumethoden für den Rebschnitt, das Füllen der Weine und an anderer Stelle.

Die Fachpresse schreibt oft über sein Fingerspitzengefühl zum Einsatz von Holz in der Weinbereitung. Der Ausbau und die Reife der Weine im Eichenholz dauert je nach Jahrgang zwischen 15 und 20 Monaten. Der Anteil an neuen Fässern schwankt entsprechend analog zu den Bedürfnissen der Jahrgänge. Jedoch finden niemals mehr als 50% neues Holz Verwendung, um seinem von Frucht, Eleganz und Energie geprägten Stil zu entsprechen. Hervorzuheben sind seine beiden Spitzenweine Volnay Les Caillerets und Pommard Les Rugiens. Aber gerade der Volnay liefert jung ein phänomenales Trinkvergnügen zu einem angemessenen Kurs.
Ergänzend zu der Vielzahl an Pinot Noirs wird noch ein sehr zu empfehlender Aligoté ausgebaut.

Bitte unbedingt probieren. Aber Vorsicht — Suchtpotenzial!


Mehr über Thomas Bouley

Lesen Sie das großes Wizerportrait von Thomas Bouley in unserem Weinmagazin.

thomas bouley in his vineyards
thomas bouleys classical wine celler
vineyards of thomas bouley