Showing all 3 results

Filter»

Sangarida

Years ago, in faraway Galicia, in the north of Spain, Robustiano Fariña decided to start his winery. Bodegas y Viñedos Attis to name. It is located in Val do Salnés in the heart of the Rías Baixas. Now Robustiano's children have founded a second winery: Sangarida It is not in the Rías Baixas, but it is also in Galicia, namely in the Bierzo. Bierzo is one of the great terroirs rediscovered in the last 30 years, producing a special class of wines from autochthonous varieties such as Mencía, Godello and Doña Blanca, and from vineyards that are mostly ancient.

The idea came about because the Fariñas' mother came from El Bierzo and the family had contacts there. When the opportunity arose in 2019 to open a winery there, they seized it and chose a name that would fit Attis, and decided on Sangarida. The labels go with the morbid charm of the legend. The winery is run by Lía Fariña, with the active support of Jean-François Hébrard, who has been advising Bodegas Attis for a long time and has himself worked with the Quinta de la Quietud leads a winery that is also in the programme at Lebendige Weine.

El Bierzo and Sangarida

In recent decades, a whole series of wine-growing regions in Galicia have been plucked out of oblivion. This has a lot to do with the success of the Rías Baixas, where it was realised that the leading grape variety there, Albariño, could unleash an entire region and offer prospects. The same has gradually happened with Valdeorras, Ribeiro, Ribera Sacra and above all with Bierzo. The growing region there is a veritable treasure trove.

On the one hand, there is an excellent climate, which is determined by the Atlantic Ocean and the low mountain ranges surrounding the Bierzo. And then there are often ferruginous, calcareous and slaty soils. Often, ancient vines are rooted there, which were not infrequently planted 100 years ago.

Sangarida can also benefit from vineyards, some of which were planted in 1901 and 1910. With the upswing of this region, which is very closely linked to the special character of the red Mencía, but increasingly also to the white Godello, it is worthwhile to practise organic top viticulture there, which can be successful even if these vineyards only yield small quantities

attis sangarida team

Mencía, Godello & the Doña Blanca

The red Mencía yields two juicy dark red wines at Sangarida. The entry-level wine is dark-fruited, round and characterised by fresh yeast, is only aged briefly in stainless steel and is the Bierzo version of a bistro wine.

The Pico Tuerto on the other hand, is already what you can call a classic Mencía. It comes from said ancient vines and combines a dark fruit with fine spice and cool and stony components, impressing with its fine-grained tannin and a deep minerality.

The Mencía vines were grown at that time together with the white, originally Portuguese Doña Blanca planted. From this grape variety, Sangarida produces the Cuvée La Yegua with Godello, which are fermented together in equal parts.

La Yegua stands alongside the equally high-class, elegant, demanding and powerful single-vineyard Godello named La Tarea.

Winemaker Lía Fariña complements these two wines aged in wood with a young, exceedingly fresh and juicy GodelloThis wine, like the entry-level Mencía, was aged only briefly in stainless steel on the fine lees.
Text and wine expertise: Christoph Raffelt.

Zeigt alle 3 Ergebnisse

Filter»

Sangarida

Im fernen Galicien, im Norden Spaniens, entschied sich vor Jahren Robustiano Fariña dazu, sein Weingut Bodegas y Viñedos Attis zu nennen. Es liegt im Val do Salnés im Herzen der Rías Baixas. Nun haben Robustianos Kinder ein zweites Weingut gegründet: Sangarida Es liegt nicht in den Rías Baixas, wohl aber ebenfalls in Galicien, nämlich im Bierzo. Das Bierzo gehört zu den großen, in den letzten 30 Jahren wiederentdeckten Terroirs, die eine besondere Klasse an Weinen aus autochthonen Sorten wie Mencía, Godello und Doña Blanca liefern, und das aus Weinbergen, die meist uralt sind.

Die Idee entstand, weil die Mutter der Fariñas aus El Bierzo stammte und die Familie Kontakte dorthin hatte. Als sich 2019 die Chance bot, dort ein Weingut zu eröffnen, ergriffen sie diese und suchten sich einen Namen aus, der zu Attis passen sollte, und entschieden sich für Sangarida. Die Etiketten gehen auf den morbiden Charme der Legende ein. Das Weingut wird von Lía Fariña geführt, und das mit tatkräftiger Unterstützung von Jean-François Hébrard, der schon lange die Bodegas Attis berät und selber mit der Quinta de la Quietud ein Weingut führt, das sich ebenfalls bei Lebendige Weine im Programm befindet.

El Bierzo und Sangarida

In den letzten Jahrzehnten sind in Galicien eine ganze Reihe von Weinbaugebieten aus der Vergessenheit gerissen worden. Das hat einiges mit dem Erfolg der Rías Baixas zu tun, wo man gemerkt hat, dass die dortige Leitrebsorte Albariño eine ganze Region entfesseln und Perspektiven bieten konnte. Das Gleiche ist nach und nach mit Valdeorras, Ribeiro, Ribera Sacra und vor allem mit dem Bierzo geschehen. Das dortige Anbaugebiet ist eine wahre Fundgrube.

Zum einen gibt es ein exzellentes Klima, das vom Atlantik und von den das Bierzo umschließenden Mittelgebirgen bestimmt wird. Und dazu gibt es dann oft eisenhaltige, kalkige und schieferhaltige Böden. Dort wurzeln oft uralte Reben, die nicht selten vor 100 Jahren gepflanzt wurden.

Auch Sangarida kann von Weinbergen profitieren, die teils 1901 und 1910 gepflanzt wurden. Mit dem Aufschwung dieser Region, der sehr eng mit dem besonderen Charakter der roten Mencía, zunehmend aber auch mit dem weißen Godello verknüpft ist, lohnt es sich, dort ökologischen Spitzenweinbau zu betreiben, der auch dann erfolgreich sein kann, wenn diese Weinberge nur kleine Mengen liefern

team von attis sangarida

Mencía, Godello & die Doña Blanca

Die rote Mencía liefert bei Sangarida zwei saftige dunkelrote Weine. Der Einstiegswein ist dunkelfruchtig, rund und von frischer Hefe geprägt, wird nur kurz im Edelstahl ausgebaut und ist die Bierzo-Version eines Bistrot-Weins.

Der Pico Tuerto dagegen ist schon das, was man einen klassischen Mencía nennen kann. Er stammt von besagten uralten Reben und verbindet eine dunkle Frucht mit feiner Würze und kühlen und steinigen Komponenten, besticht durch sein feinkörniges Tannin und eine tiefe Mineralität.

Die Mencía-Reben wurden damals zusammen mit der weißen, ursprünglich aus Portugal stammenden Doña Blanca gepflanzt. Aus dieser Rebsorte entsteht bei Sangarida die Cuvée La Yegua mit Godello, die zu gleichen Teilen gemeinsam vergoren werden.

La Yegua steht neben dem ebenfalls hochklassigen, eleganten, fordernden und kraftvollen Einzellagen-Godello namens La Tarea.

Die Winzerin Lía Fariña ergänzt diese beiden im Holz ausgebauten Weine durch einen jungen, überaus frischen und saftigen Godello, der wie der Einstiegs-Mencía nur kurz im Edelstahl auf der Feinhefe ausgebaut wurde.
Text und Weinexpertise: Christoph Raffelt.