Winery

Riesling Muschelkalk 2018 – Odinstal

36,55 

Includes 19% MwSt.
Delivery Time: approx. 3-4 workdays
Riesling Muschelkalk 2018 - Odinstal

36,55 

SKU: 9912020208 Regionen: , Weingut:

Update 11.05.2021

Tasting note from from 06.10.2020, Copyright Marian Henß

Info

The Odinstal vineyard is a small, five-hectare enclave high above Wachenheim an der Weinstraße. It is located directly on the Pechsteinkopf, a small basalt volcano that erupted here 30 million years ago during the formation of the Upper Rhine Graben. The rising basalt has lifted the rock layers above it and pushed them aside, so that basalt, shell limestone, Keuper and mottled sandstone do not lie on top of each other here, but directly next to each other in a very small space.
The vines for the Muschelkalk Riesling were planted in 1996 directly below the house and are slightly exposed to the east. The water and nutrient supply is good. The wines tend towards a salty character and discreet fruit.

Color

Greenish yellow, bright reflections

Nose

An intense first nose exudes Riesling typicity as well as the freshness of a cooler climate. Besides the usual pome fruit and citrus notes, a fine herbal nose of lemon balm, mint and some garden cress clearly dominates. Lemongrass and verbena round off this invigorating green overall picture. The scent of fresh cut flowers also spreads. The nose urges to the first sip.

Palate

On the palate, the 2018 Muschelkalk Riesling builds on the first sensory impressions. It is crystal clear and precise on the palate. The aforementioned herbal notes are accompanied by an increasingly dominant, yellow-green apple nuance. Overall, this comes across as very juicy and easy to drink. The acidity is very harmoniously integrated in the warm 2018 and can be classified as rather mild. The finish is reminiscent of chewing on apple peels without revealing too much bitterness. A little ginger also comes to the fore then. Riesling on limestone bases is unmistakable and tends to show bright, clear tones. This comes across as balanced, harmonious and, above all, classic. Extremely commendable at a delicate 11.5% by volume in a hot and dry vintage like 2018. Stylistically a trailblazer. Overall, it gives the feeling of being absolutely at rest. The high 26g of residual sugar are sensationally well hidden.

Food recommendations from Marian Henß

  • Gently cooked char, herb emulsion, spinach salad
    (Fish)
  • Tartar from tuna farm, fresh peas, pea cream, ginger
    (Fish)
  • Carrot and pear salad with Roquefort and walnuts
    (Cheese, Vegetables & Vegetarian)

Allergens

Contains sulfur

winery
Type

Vintage

Variety

Content

Alcohol content

11,5% Vol.

Residual sweetness

■■□□□

Acid

7,3 g/l

Drinking temperature

12°

Manufacturer

Odinstal Winery, Odinstalweg, 67157 Wachenheim / Germany, Organic Certificate: DE-ÖKO-022

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Riesling Muschelkalk 2018 – Odinstal”

Weingut

Riesling Muschelkalk 2018

36,55 

Enthält 19% MwSt.
zzgl. Versand
Lieferzeit: ca. 3-4 Werktage
Riesling Muschelkalk 2018

36,55 

Artikelnummer: 9912020208 Regionen: , Weingut:
Verkostungsnotiz von vom 06.10.2020, Copyright Marian Henß

Info

Das Weingut Odinstal ist eine kleine, fünf Hektar einnehmende Enklave hoch über Wachenheim an der Weinstraße. Es liegt unmittelbar am Pechsteinkopf, einem kleinen Basaltvulkan der beim Entstehen des Oberrheingrabens vor 30 Mio. Jahren hier ausgebrochen ist. Der aufsteigende Basalt, hat die über ihm liegenden Gesteinsschichten aufgewölbt und beiseitegeschoben, so dass Basalt, Muschelkalk, Keuper und Buntsandstein hier nicht übereinander, sondern auf kleinstem Raum direkt nebeneinander liegen.
Die Reben für den Muschelkalk Riesling wurden 1996 direkt unterhalb des Hauses gepflanzt und sind leicht nach Osten exponiert. Die Wasser- und Nährstoffversorgung ist gut. Die Weine tendieren zu salzigem Charakter und dezenter Frucht.

Farbe

Grüngelb, helle Reflexe

Nase

Eine intensive erste Nase versprüht Riesling-Typizität sowie die Frische eines kühleren Klimas. Neben den üblichen Kernobst- und Zitrusnoten dominiert klar eine feine Kräuter-nase Zitronenmelisse, Minze und etwas Gartenkresse. Zitronengras und Eisenkraut runden dieses belebend grüne Gesamtbild ab. Ebenso breitet sich der Duft von frischen Schnittblumen aus. Die Nase drängt zum ersten Schluck.

Gaumen

Am Gaumen knöpft der 2018 Muschelkalk Riesling an die ersten sensorischen Eindrücke an. Glasklar und präzise zeigt er sich am Gaumen. Die genannten Kräuternoten werden von einer immer dominanter werdenden, gelbgrünen Apfelnuance begleitet. Das wirkt insgesamt sehr saftig und trinkförderlich. Die Säure ist im warmen Jahr 2018 sehr harmonisch eingebunden und als eher mild einzustufen. Im Abgang erinnert er an das Kauen auf Apfelschalen, ohne dabei allzu viele Bitterstoffe zu offenbaren. Auch ein wenig Ingwer kommt dann zur Geltung. Riesling auf Kalkgrundlagen ist unverkennbar und weist eher helle, klare Töne auf. Dieser wirkt ausgewogen, harmonisch und vor allem klassisch. Äußerst lobenswert sind die zarten 11,5% Vol. in einem heißen und trockenen Jahrgang wie 2018. Stilistisch ein Vorreiter. Insgesamt vermittelt er das Gefühl, dass er absolut in sich ruht. Die hohen 26 g Restzucker sind sensationell gut versteckt.

Speiseempfehlungen von Marian Henß

  • Sanft gegarter Saibling, Kräuteremulsion, Spinatsalat
    (Fisch)
  • Tartar vom Thunfischbau, frische Erbsen, Erbsencreme, Ingwer
    (Fisch)
  • Karotten-Birnen-Salat mit Roquefort und Walnüssen
    (Käse, Gemüse & Vegetarisch)

Allergene

enthält Schwefel

weingut
Typ

Jahrgang

Sorte

Inhalt

Alkoholgehalt

11,5% Vol.

Restsüße

■■□□□

Säure

7,3 g/l

Trinktemperatur

12°

Hersteller

Weingut Odinstal, Odinstalweg, 67157 Wachenheim / Germany, Bio-Zertifikat: DE-ÖKO-022

Bewertungen

Es gibt noch keine Bewertungen.

Schreibe die erste Bewertung für „Riesling Muschelkalk 2018“