Winery

Engelsfelsen Badischer Landwein 2018 – Forgeurac

39,58 

Includes 19% MwSt.
Delivery Time: approx. 3-4 workdays
Engelsfelsen Badischer Landwein 2018 - Forgeurac

39,58 

SKU: 9912013044 Regionen: , Weingut:

Update 11.05.2021

Tasting note from dated 16.11.2020, Copyright Christoph Raffelt

Wine information

Engelsfelsen is probably the most spectacular site in Forgeurac's portfolio. It is located in the uppermost, not land-cleared part of the top Engelsfelsen site in Bühlertal. The site is extremely steep and is considered one of the steepest in Europe at 75 º. From there, the slope rises high into the Black Forest, from which cool air flows into the valley in the evening. Since the vineyard is south-facing, there are large temperature differences between day and night, which explains the intense fruit of the wines. One can only reach the scattered vineyards on adventurously narrow paths. The soils consist of very poor shallow granite gruel. Depending on the vintage, the grapes are partially destemmed or fermented as whole clusters, then briefly foot-crushed in small wooden vats and fermented on the skins for about three weeks in moderate pigeage. After that, pressing takes place on an old basket press. The wines are drawn off with a hose and by drop pressure. The wines are matured exclusively in used wooden barrels, predominantly Barriques and Pièces. No yeasts, no enzymes, no fining, no filtration and, depending on the vintage, a maximum of 30 mg of added sulphur, usually less.

Color

Garnet to purple

Nose

Deep and dark, slightly spicy and stony, this wine has a 2018 Angel Rock at the moment of opening. Quite quickly, one becomes aware of the dimension of depth, intensity and complexity in this wine. The Pinot noir Smells of hedge roses, violets and rose hips combined with still youthful yeasty notes, with foliage, earth, dry wood and rock, a little leather, tobacco and some just ripened blackberries.

Palate

On the palate the Angel Rock similarly dark, earthy and mysterious as in the fragrance. On the one hand clear and transparent in its structure, it currently seems to be the most closed wine of the Forgeurac Pinots. Underwood, earth, a little allspice and a lot of crushed rock form the aromatic spectrum here together with a few dark berries and nuts. The tannin shows itself to be fine-grained and present at the same time. A few raps provide grip and a cool note that is further supported by the rock notes. The acidity is downright brilliant and lively for 2018. What a diamond in the rough! For me, one of the great interpretive pinot noirs of the vintage. Just put it aside for a few years, please.

Food recommendations by Christoph Raffelt

  • Porcini and truffle ravioli
    (Vegetable & Vegetarian)
  • Pickled saddle of hare with napkin dumplings and peppery blueberry jus
    (Wild)
  • Trout in Burgundy
    (Fish)

Allergens

Contains sulfur

winery
Type

Vintage

Variety

Content

Alcohol content

13% Vol.

Residual sweetness

■□□□□

Drinking temperature

11°

Manufacturer

Winery Forgeurac, Leostr. 1, 68789 St. Leon-Rot / Germany

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Engelsfelsen Badischer Landwein 2018 – Forgeurac”

Weingut

Engelsfelsen Badischer Landwein 2018 Forgeurac

39,58 

Enthält 19% MwSt.
zzgl. Versand
Lieferzeit: ca. 3-4 Werktage
Engelsfelsen Badischer Landwein 2018 Forgeurac

39,58 

Artikelnummer: 9912013044 Region: Weingut:
Verkostungsnotiz von vom 16.11.2020, Copyright Christoph Raffelt

Informationen zum Wein

Der Engelsfelsen ist wohl die spektakulärste Lage im Portfolio von Forgeurac. Sie befindet sich im obersten, nicht flurbereinigten Teil der Toplage Engelsfelsen in Bühlertal. Die Lage ist extrem steil und gilt mit 75 º als eine der steilsten in Europa. Von dort aus geht es hoch in den Schwarzwald, aus dem abends kühle Luft ins Tal strömt. Da der Weinberg südexponiert liegt, gibt es große Temperaturunterschiede zwischen Tag und Nacht, was die intensive Frucht der Weine erklärt. Man erreicht die verstreuten Weinlagen nur auf abenteuerlich schmalen Wegen. Die Böden bestehen aus sehr kargem flachgründigen Granitgrus. Je nach Jahrgang werden die Trauben teilentrappt oder als ganze Trauben vergoren, dann in kleinen Holzbottichen kurz mit den Füssen eingemaischt und in moderater Pigeage rund drei Wochen auf der Maische vergoren. Danach wird auf einer alten Korbkelter gepresst. Abgezogen werden die Weine mit Schlauch und per Falldruck. Ausgebaut wird ausschließlich in gebrauchten Holzfässern, überwiegend Barriques und Pièces. Keine Hefen, keine Enzyme, keine Schönung, keine Filtration und je nach Jahrgang maximal 30 mg zugesetzter Schwefel, normalerweise weniger.

Farbe

Granat- bis Purpurrot

Nase

Tiefgründig und dunkel, leicht würzig und steinig wirkt der 2018er Engelsfelsen im Moment des Öffnens. Recht schnell wird einem die Dimension an Tiefe, Intensität und Vielschichtigkeit bei diesem Wein bewusst. Der Pinot noir duftet nach Heckenrosen, Veilchen und Hagebutten in Verbindung mit noch jugendlich hefigen Noten, mit Laub, Erde, trockenem Holz und Gestein, ein wenig Leder, Tabak und ein paar soeben reif gewordenen Brombeeren.

Gaumen

Am Gaumen präsentiert sich der Engelsfelsen ähnlich dunkel, erdig und geheimnisvoll wie im Duft. Einerseits klar und transparent in seiner Struktur, scheint er aktuell noch der am stärksten verschlossene Wein der Forgeurac-Pinots zu sein. Unterholz, Erde, etwas Piment und viel zerstoßenes Gestein bilden hier das Aromenspektrum zusammen mit ein paar dunklen Beeren und Nüssen. Das Tannin zeigt sich feinkörnig und gleichzeitig präsent. Ein paar Rappen sorgen für Grip und eine kühle Note, die von den Gesteinsnoten noch unterstützt wird. Die Säure ist für 2018 geradezu brillant und lebendig. Was für ein Rohdiamant! Für mich einer der großen deuten Spätburgunder des Jahrgangs. Einfach mal ein paar Jahre zur Seite legen, bitte.

Speiseempfehlungen von Christoph Raffelt

  • Steinpilz- und Trüffel-Ravioli
    (Gemüse & Vegetarisch)
  • Gebeizter Hasenrücken mit Serviettenknödeln und pfeffrigem Heidelbeer-Jus
    (Wild)
  • Forellen in Burgunder
    (Fisch)

Allergene

enthält Schwefel

Weingut

Forgeurac

weingut

Typ

Jahrgang

Sorte

Inhalt

Alkoholgehalt

13% Vol.

Restsüße

■□□□□

Trinktemperatur

11°

Hersteller

Weingut Forgeurac, Leostr. 1, 68789 St. Leon-Rot / Germany

Bewertungen

Es gibt noch keine Bewertungen.

Schreibe die erste Bewertung für „Engelsfelsen Badischer Landwein 2018 Forgeurac

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.